We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RJS HOLS SLAP WEH”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We arrived late after a long drive from the airport. check-in was quick and easy no help to your room though. this hotel was lovely we weren't sure as the pictures we saw prior were computer designs so we though we weren't going to get that. we were pleasantly surprised with the state of the art room decor and leather sofas, hidden microwave, cooker though no pots. Our fellow group member who were staying in its sister hotel Jupiter were very disappointed. The breakfast was greatest (don't eat pork) and while we stayed after asking the first day we received fully fried eggs. Be mindful we had to wait for the iron between rooms, and the bed sheets apparently was changed every 3 days which i didn't like. Would definitely recommend this hotel and come again it was well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legslelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 577 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

Nice modern hotel in a central location overlooking a wide, long beach.
My husband and I stayed here for a week in September. We had booked a deal with a sea view and we were allocated a room on the first floor. Other reviews have said that these rooms suffer from outside road / bar noise but we didn't find this to be a problem in late September.
The room was clean, spacious, well maintained and comfortable (very good beds!). The kitchenette has a double hob, microwave, sink and mini bar fridge - but only provides minimal crockery / cutlery so don't expect self catering provisions.
The pool is located at the rear of the hotel and is quite small and shaded, but we prefered to walk along the beach so not an issue for us.
Breakfasts were very good - decent quality and choice.
Hotel also uses its restaurant as a tapas bar in the evening - we saw no-one use this during our stay. The menu lacked variety and was pretty unexciting and given that there are loads of other eating choices within a 5 minutes walk it needs to try harder to attract residents to stay and eat in the hotel.
The Praia da Rocha resort on first sight appears to be a little dated and run down in some areas, but explore around and you will find some decent bars and restaurants ... aswell as the English & Irish pubs should these appeal. Drink prices were very cheap £2.50 for a pint of lager and a glass of decent white wine in some places - with a view of the beach / sea - enjoy!

Room Tip: Go for a full sea view on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suitcase_Packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

what a great hotel , very modern , exceptionally 4 star standard , room excellent everything you need and more , hotel on the corner at the start of the strip for all bars restaurants also few steps across the road to the beach ( location spot on ).. we went half board we had breakfast in the hotel and evening meals in hotel jupiter just across the road very nice restaurent. you will love this place have a good holiday.

Room Tip: ask for high floors sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I have just returned from a weeks visit from this hotel and was generally impressed with the location, the staff and everything the hotel had to offer. we used the hotel as a basis for exploring the beach, (tip: you can rent beach towels from reception for a a 20euro deposit and they are pretty nice!) and the nightlife and restaurants in the area which are all 5-10 minutes walk. (depending how far up the strip you go) The hotel was quiet so trips out for entertainment are a must. The rooms were modern, clean and spacious enough for three of us girls who dont travel lightly to share! The self-catering facilities were reasonable although we didn't use them as the close by restaurants were close enough and cheap enough with a number of restaurants offering three courses for 8.90 euros. The only thing that I was slightly let down about was that occasionally there seemed to be a bad smell throughout the hotel, possibly a drainage problem. There also was no dressing table or plugs near a mirror so trying to straighten my hair was awkward! However both these things are common in european hotels and did not ruin my holiday and I would not hesitate to book it again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simmyb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Myself and my husband with two other couples went to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and all stayed at this hotel from 8-14 september. Everything about the hotel was excellent couldn't ask anything more but must say the Pool is bit small. But the vielw outside from the hotel is very nice. Everything was very convenient. Lots of restaurants and shops. Hotel Jupiter has live music every evening. The beach was just across the hotel. The staffs were very friendly and always ready to help. I would definitely recommend this hotel who loves sun and beach and wants to have fun.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triptip44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 km away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,095 reviews
0.7 km away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,310 reviews
0.7 km away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#15 of 76 in Portimao
932 reviews
0.1 km away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
660 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: €49 - €279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Rocha 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing