We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
148
98
35
44
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
98
35
44
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board every night eco resort horseback riding course dinner train station great food spent nights soup in advance new friends wine tasting umbria and tuscany paved road recommend this place continental breakfast main course
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2017

I spent one week with my friend in La Casella in November 2017. We are both ladies in the age of 60+ from Finland. We took the flight from Helsinki to Rome and then train (about 2 hours) to Fabre. We had informed the arrival time to La Casella, so Katia was waiting for us in the station. We needed the lift to Fabre three other times during the week and they were always easily access by the friendly staff members. We spent half a day in Fabre on Monday buying some bread, cheese and fruits, and one day in Orvieto (worth visiting). All the other days we had long walks in the wonderful nature enjoying the peace and beauty of Umbria. We had every day both breakfast and dinner, and we really enjoyed both. It was so interesting to share the experiences of the day in the evenings eating delicious food. We really appreciated the local, organic, fresh food, which was so excellent cooked. We both study Italian as a hobby and it was really good practice to try to talk with the most friendly staff members.
Our apartment was located 300m from the reception. It was dark in the evenings but we got a torch form the reception, so there were no problems. The apartment was warm and cosy. The internet worked only in the reception and the mobile phones (at least ours) did not work at all. For us this was not a difficulty because we knew this beforehand. My opinion is, that it was really relaxing to stay outside the network connections for 7 days.
I want to recommend La Casella to everyone who loves Italian nature, food, people, culture and beauty.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank frimanmervi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

The road was rough getting there but once there it was beautiful. The staff went above and beyond. The front desk girl was so helpful when we needed directions or advice or anything in general she was the person to go to. We had one of the evening meals and the food and atmosphere were unbelievable. Our room was really an apartment. The view from our front door breath taking. Other than the road everything was perfect

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank dthompson3505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

2 hours outside of Rome and Florence made this a great location for our family of 7 and one 11 month old. We were able to make day trips with ease and travel for overnight trips to Florence and Rome. Maricela was extremely helpful. The staff was pleasant a gracious. Other than Maricela, only a few more staff spoke english so at times there were some challenges, but they were very accommodating in getting us assistance.
The absolute best thing about La Casella were the dinners. Amazing 5 course meals were served with accompanying wines. If you do nothing else at least make sure you spend one evening (starting at 8:00 p.m.) have dinner at the resort. The dinner and continental breakfast are separately billed. We traveled during the low season so there were not many other guest from what we could tell. All were friendly and willing to share stories though.

The rooms are overly fancy, and are generally furnished like small apartments. Eco Resort is a good description. Other than sleeping there there we had no reason to stick around so it wasn't and issue for us.

I researched the location and read the reviews about the road to the resort. Bottom line, about 15 minutes between the highway and resort. The road is a dirt/sometimes paved road (very little) and it is a little bumpy. You don't need a four wheeler at all. The scenery though is beautiful along the road and around the resort. I was amazed when night time fell just how dark it was.

As a getaway, I recommend La Casella. If you plan on taking day trips and you want easy access to the Tuscany and Umbria region, I recommend La Casella.

A couple of things - there are several restaurants and bakeries in Fabro that you should check out. Fabro is the small town you pass through on the way to La Casella. If you are traveling this time of year, it gets dark starting around 4-4:30 p.m.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

La Casella is a big eco resort in the very picturesque place, calm and quite. You feel yourself in a fairy tale, leaving in medieval house. There is a reception and couple of villas nearby (5-10 minutes to walk). Very good location - just between Firenze and Rome, 15 min by car to the nearest railway station. Super nice and cordial personnel is willing to help with your day plan and provide all necessary guides and maps to discover the most exciting corners of Umbria and Tuscany. We had full board: continental breakfast and 5-courses evening menu. Every day it was different: appetizer, soup, pasta, main course and dessert. And, of course, local wine. Eating around big family table is really cool tradition. Every day you have another seat. Thus, we met wonderful people from Alabama, Florida, Toronto, Perth and Bogota. How reach geography! We felt in love with the place, with all the cuties of la Casella: cats, dogs and horses. Thank you for lovely memories!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Anna_Golovko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Pros:
- Within 2 hours to Rome and Florence; 4 hours away to Venice and Pompeii by car.
- Spacious accommodation.
- Very nice staff especially, Victorio and Maricella.
- Half board dinner is plentiful with five courses, water and wine included.
- Chef is accommodating to food sensitivities, allergies or preferences.
- Coffee and tea available with breakfast when requested at no additional cost.
- If you're looking for seclusion, this is your place.

Cons:
- It's in the middle of nowhere. GPS having difficulty in finding it, follow their instruction & direction as previously stated.
- Rough, winding, narrow unpaved road, 6km from the nearest paved/exit road.
- Approximately 30 minutes away from nearest town for grocery, restaurant, and banking/atm in Fabro
- No air condition or fan in their accommodations (Eco-friendly as they say), you have to request it and it may or may not be available on time
- We were wet with sweat upon waking up from night time and nap time especially the kids even with the fan on, which they had provided one for us a day after we requested it - and the kids were using it. Even with the windows open it was still hot and you can smell the cigarette smoke coming from the other guests downstairs.
- No WiFi in rooms, only available in the reception area but it was still poor and slow WiFi connection there.
- Rooms were long distances from reception area (even the ones they said were walking distances)
- The place was swarming with bugs and insects especially in the breakfast buffet table area
- No smoking designated areas. Staff and guests were smoking everywhere, during breakfast, at the dinner table, and even in their bedrooms so that non-smoking guests and children were exposed to second-hand smoke. Not good for children and non-smokers. Non-smoking areas and bedrooms were not designated at all.
- RCI weekly package "All Inclusive" with Florence or Rome Day Tour was expensive and misleading. It did not include entrances to sites in Orvieto nor in Rome for the Vatican and the Coliseum as implied. Though, it did include entrances for the wine tasting and cheese factory tasting. Please beware and clarify every detail when booking their packages to avoid hassles. Verify even the transportation to use because they had asked to use our rental which was not doable and we had to waste a day for them to get one. We asked for a small refund for what had transpired, in which they were willing to give back after a few conversation and email but until now we did not get it because they did not want to pay for the processing fee so we have to go through a dispute process with our credit card company as La Casella had advised.
- Mandatory half board was way overpriced and was available only for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was continental at best - same everyday.
- No other drinks included with dinner except for wine and water. So, if you a prefer a non-alcoholic drink like soda, juices, tea, or coffee, etc. you can get it for an additional cost.
- One small bottle of shampoo and conditioner provided for our 2weeks stay. One housekeeping cleaning and one towel change for the two weeks stay with request.
- No Kids menu or portions- so that food was wasted most of the time because they didn't like it (too grown up dishes for them to eat) or it's too much.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank Aida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews