We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
402
114
65
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
114
65
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla cantinagordon ramseywine cellartuscan countrysidepool areathe hotel managerstar hotelconverted monasteryour honeymoonsalt poolspa experiencespa facilitieseach morninglarge bathroomspent daysjunior suitesmall group
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

This is a good hotel and the location is stunning.

Having stayed at the Villa Cora in Florence prior to coming here, we were marginally disappointed. It’s hard to put my finger on why.

The pool are feels a little tired - broken tables etc.

The service is good - the restaurant location in the courtyard is stunning and the food is very good. The hotel management just seemed unable to organise extra coat hangers or things you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

We really liked the restaurant service. Great staff!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MiloHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We had the most fantastic time at the Palio which was organised by Castel Monestaro.
Don’t get me wrong, it was a very expensive 3 days - c£3500 for 2 people - but it was very special and will certainly live in our memory forever, especially as it was on our honeymoon.
We had an upgrade as it was our honeymoon, as well as a complimentary bottle of bubbles (not offered elsewhere).
The food was fantastic - we ate at Contrada which was excellent. We’ve eaten at some fantastic places since being on honeymoon but can’t quite remember what we were served at Contrada which may indicate the food, but I remember thinking it was great at the time!
Would recommend, but highlight it is expensive!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GabriellaFenella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We spent two nights at this hotel and I have to admit... it was amazing! The rooms were great and the location is fantastic for someone who is in seek of relax. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Nothing seemed as too much of a trouble which was great. We really enjoyed our lunches and dinners, at the upstairs restaurant tortelli pasta is to die for! We'll come back when in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvdgbrl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

This place is a enigma, like Italian cars.

The converted monastery is like a Ferrari or Maserati. The location is stunningly beautiful. Carefully executed use of the available space, like the courtyard were breakfast is served if the sun shines. Or the pool complex is delightful with space for all and lovely views. The pool bar is also a nice oasis in the sunshine. I’d also recommend the spa. We tried it and it was great.

The Contrada restaurant was excellent. The other restaurant (La Cantina) was more like a Lancia. Good, but a little bit more erratic when it comes to consistent delivery.

The concierge and reception staff like an Alfa Romeo. Promising more than is delivered and yes I rented an Alfa off Avis.

An example; during our four day stay Wi-fi worked spasmodically, but whether it worked seems oddly inconsequential to the hotel staff. Requests for restaurant confirmation had to be chased. I gave up asking for things like ice and just went to the bar, it was quicker and less frustrating. Aren’t all of these petty irritations? Yes but when you’ve paid €4K for 4 nights, you’d think things like this would work. Or maybe this part of Italy operates on a different mentality.

Did we enjoy our stay; YES. Were the staff friendly and helpful, yes. Is this hilltop retreat a lovely escape from the hustle and bustle of the big cities, yes. Would I come again, yes. But with little effort I guess non Italians would understand and like his place as much as locals.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

If you’re looking for some time away from the hustle and bustle of life, THIS is the place to stay. Just a walk around the property of this hotel boasts serenity and history. Upon arrival the staff (our favorite Valentina) was super friendly. Valentina gave us a tour around the entire property and explained where everything was along with times everything was open. She was great at speaking English and was very helpful whenever we had a question. The room we stayed in was absolutely gorgeous and was kept super clean. Breakfast was very tasty and was included with our stay. We enjoyed the pool very much as well as walking the grounds of the hotel. The BEST kept secret though is the spa. We purchased a couples massage (AMAZING) and got to use the spa for as long as we wanted. Once you’re in there though you cannot leave unless you pay to get back in. It was the most fun spa we have ever been to though so it was worth the spa treatment to get in. It has a salt pool, sauna, steam room, pool, along with refreshments and more that we didn’t experience. That was the highlight of this stay. Everything was great the only downside was we didn’t rent a car so if we wanted to do anything off of the resort we were told that a driver had to come from Sienna to take us to our activity and it would cost about $150. Not including the price of what we were doing. Also, we enjoyed the typical Tuscan restaurant, but that was the only option we had to dine at other than room service which the fee for making and delivering the food to the room was 35 euro not including what food you ordered. There’s a restaurant there that is a collaboration with Gordon Ramsey that we would have LOVED to dine at because we are very familiar with him from the United States, but it was closed every night we were there. Besides this we enjoyed our stay very much!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Ally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews