We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaciful bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Tenuta San Calogero
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Lovely setting with a beautiful pool. Breakfast was a bit disappointing but the room layout and space in and out were outstanding.
Need to change their website directions as sends you to wrong gate.
Excellent for families where the self catering facilities are excellent- allows you to go out exploring during the day and have a typical Sicilian lunch while then enjoying a nice meal at home.

Room Tip: all rooms good
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecosquirrel2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Tenuta San Calogero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was there with my husband end of july. The place is incredible, the garden is a mix of scents, the swimming pool is so perfect that you hardly see it. We had dinner one night and the atmosphere was so romantic.
This is a place I will surely go back to make peace with the all world.

Room Tip: when few people in the "Tenuta" the one down the pool
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I went to San Calogero with my girlfriend and loved it so much we are now planning to rent the place for our wedding. This is an absolutely stunning old Italian/Sicilian farm, carefully restored five star standard hotel and with apartments and a beautiful villa for rental as well. They have horses and a saltwater pool. This place is family owned and has that incredible charm which only comes when the same family has owned and run the place for generations.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a tranquil and relaxing holiday with ready access to fantastic sightseeing in Catania and Siracusa and the rest of Eastern Sicily. You can even see Etna from the garden!

I would also recommend trying the restaurants in nearby Brucoli which are amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

If I had not experienced this first hand, I would have trouble believing that any hotel / agriturismo could be managed so badly in 2011. The apartment itself was average: large and rustic but not well maintained or charming. The location was below average, since any allure of being close to stables was outweighed by the smell. But the most unforgivable part of our stay was the aggressive rudeness of the manager. Here is our experience.

We made reservations for a week and a half, arriving on a Sunday afternoon in March. We found the unmarked gate with a little difficulty but everything was closed and there was no answer to the bell. We called the number from the reservation, got forwarded to several people, and eventually ended up speaking with “Anna,” the manager. She assured us someone was on their way to let us in. 30 minutes later, we called Anna again. She was surprised to hear from us again, and stated that although she was not at the agriturismo herself, someone would be there shortly to open the gate. Another 30 minutes passed, and finally I figured out how to open the gate manually so we could get in.

The first house we reached was beautiful. Manicured gardens, reflecting pools, an aviary with several parrots, and a magnificent swimming pool and fully stocked bar. It was far nicer than any agriturismo we had ever visited before, and we were excited. Unfortunately, it was also deserted. After several more calls to Anna and awkwardly knocking on every door we could find, we eventually found a man who turned out to be the owner of the entire estate. Clearly annoyed at being disturbed, he was courteous enough to explain to us that this was actually his private residence, and that the agriturismo was further down the road. He made a few phone calls, and when he realized that none of his employees were going to assist us, he took us to our rooms himself.

Our rooms were not near the beautiful gardens, they were near a working stable. San Calogero’s website makes the stables sound like pedigree training facilities. They aren’t: they are typical horse stables and the agriturismo apartments are typical staff quarters. The website also states that there is a nearby pool. I doubt that is true, since we searched for two days with increasing curiosity and never found anything other than the owner’s private pool. Finally, a new autostrada on the other side of the stables creates plenty of traffic noise to disrupt the peaceful setting described online. One part of San Calogero’s website that is accurate is that it is a working farm. Chickens, stray cats, and miniature ponies graze near and around the rooms.

The apartment was large, with a kitchen/living room, a bedroom, and a bathroom. Unfortunately, the apartment was also dirty. The rooms had clearly not been occupied for months. Plaster dust was everywhere, and in spots paint and plaster had fallen off the walls onto the floor. Dirty dishes were stacked in the sink. The toilet and shower were stained. The owner informed us that the cleaners hadn’t come yet, but that they would arrive by 6pm (we first arrived at the gate around 1pm). He gave us Anna’s phone number (again) and left. The cleaners did show up eventually, and they were professional and helpful. We also learned that they had been given no warning that we were arriving, and they had just been called in that afternoon to clean. The cleaners told us that if we needed anything, we should ask the stableboy who did not speak English.

Two more days passed, and we never saw a single person representing the agriturismo. The only person we ever met was the stableboy, and he politely ignored us. No one came to check us in or copy our passports. No one came to explain the area or to discuss any amenities. No one came to reassure us that they were planning to fix the leaks, the door handles falling off, the broken locks, or even to acknowledge our business. We tried calling Anna several times, but she stopped answering her phone. We were on our own.

By the second night, we were fed up and found a much better agriturismo nearby (called Orange Park). We had wired a three-night deposit before arriving, but we emailed Anna to tell her we were leaving, she could keep the extra night’s payment, and that we would leave the keys with the stable boy. We loaded up the car. Suddenly, Anna appears for the first time.

This is the most bizarre part of our stay. Anna was indignant and actually tried to prevent us from leaving. She got angry when we pointed out how dirty the apartment was, and she blamed that on us for not telling her the exact time of day we were arriving. She also claimed that they assumed we wanted to be left alone, and that was why they had not come to welcome us. Best of all, she demanded that we pay for the entire 10-night stay (in cash) because, in her words, “that is how a reservation works everywhere in the world.” We pointed out that we weren’t asking for the deposit back, but we weren’t paying another cent. She became even more belligerent. Finally, I called our Italian military liaison and requested the Carabinieri come help us leave.

Meanwhile, Anna was calling her own office to try to prove to us that they had all the necessary documents to put a legal claim on us. Ironically, she could not get ahold of anyone and had to ask the stable boy to go to the office and get someone to answer the phone. When she realized that they had not copied our passports, had no credit card or bank information on file, and that I had already requested help from the Carabinieri, she graciously allowed us to leave. That was the end of it.

In summary, I do not recommend that anyone stay at San Calogero. We have stayed in many agriturismi in Italy and this is the ONLY bad experience we have had. No one should expect luxury from an agriturismo, but we have always had comfortable rooms with extremely friendly, helpful family hosts. This was a bizarre exception. What is even crazier is that Anna thought it would be good business to attempt to berate us into giving up another few days’ rate. Thanks to tripadvisor, I hope you do not make the mistake of staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wilrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Silvana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brucoli
6.7 km away
Brucoli Village
Brucoli Village
#2 of 3 in Brucoli
724 reviews
8.9 km away
Hotel Residence Capo Campolato
9.7 km away
Hotel Venus Sea Garden
Hotel Venus Sea Garden
#3 of 3 in Brucoli
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Il Giardino del Sole
Il Giardino del Sole
#1 of 2 in Carlentini
242 reviews
20.3 km away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
10.6 km away
Hotel La Cavalera
Hotel La Cavalera
#4 of 6 in Augusta
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Tenuta San Calogero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Tenuta San Calogero

Address: Contrada San Calogero SNC, 96011 Brucoli, Augusta, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Augusta > Brucoli
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Brucoli
Price Range: €69 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former feudal estate of San Calogero is in the centre of the white stone valley excavated through the centuries by the San Calogero River. The lush fields, rich in natural springs, were at one time the only place fertile enough to nurture and cultivate citrus trees. The estate remained a hunting reserve until the seventies and still houses one of the oldest stud farms in Sicily. Exactly half way between Catania and Siracusa, it is located 100 meters above sea level, along the white hillsides of the Ibleo plateau and only 8 km from the splendid sea of Brucoli.The farming estate is located on 100 hectares and has an infinite variety of panoramas.A woodland of Mediterranean essences, fields rich in natural springs, plateaus abounding in olive trees, citrus groves and verdant pastures. But above all, a place to communicate with nature: discover nature trails, enjoy archeological walks to discover the grottoes and tombs of the X and XI century B.C.; taste the extra virgin olive oil, citrus fruits jams and orange blossom honey that are still the principal products of the farm.In the centre of an area rich in prestigious natural sites (Etna, Oasi di Vendicari...), archeological (Siracusa, Pantalica...) and architectural wonders (Ragusa Ibla, Noto, Modica...), the Tenuta San Calogero enjoys a strategic position that allows you to visit almost all of eastern Sicily in one day. Between May and June don’t miss the annual appointment with the classical performances in the Greek Theatre of Siracusa. Also increasingly popular, along with the better known Taormina Film Festival in June, is the International Frontier Film Festival (July) in Marzamemi, an ancient fishing village that has now become one of the newest not-to-be missed spots in the area with the largest and southernmost open-air hall in Europe, positioned inside the tonnara, a tuna-net maze dating back to the period of Arab domination and still perfectly preserved.Surrounded by meadows and citrus groves, the 3 apartments, all built in the rural Sicilian style, are near the riding stables. The residential quarters are as follows: ROSEMARY (2 persons): room with double bed, TV and dining area, bath with shower, completely equipped kitchen, heating and air conditioning, common laundry facilities.SAGE (4 persons): room with double bed, living room with large sofa bed, TV and dining area, bathroom with shower, completely equipped American kitchen, heating and air conditioning, common laundry facilities.LAUREL (4 persons): room with double bed, living room with large sofa bed, TV and dining area, 2 bathrooms with shower, completely equipped kitchen, heating and air conditioning, common laundry facilities.THE VILLAThe villa consists of 3 bedrooms, of which one is a double room and 2 that can be converted to double occupancy. There are 2 bathrooms, one with bath tub and one with shower. Large living room, TV, DVD and dining area. Completely equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. Attached to the house is an annex with a double occupancy bedroom (2 single beds or one double) with full bath and other two double rooms that are separate but in the same structure and have each one a bathroom, one with tub and one with shower. The Villa is adjacent to a exclusive beautiful pool immersed in a fertile field of Mediterranean plants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Tenuta San Calogero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing