We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo Tenuta San Calogero
Nearby Hotels
US$173
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

B&Brucoli(Brucoli)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
17
6
2
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
6
2
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was there with my husband end of july. The place is incredible, the garden is a mix of scents, the swimming pool is so perfect that you hardly see it. We had dinner one night and the atmosphere was so romantic.
This is a place I will surely go back to make peace with the all world.

Room Tip: when few people in the "Tenuta" the one down the pool
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I went to San Calogero with my girlfriend and loved it so much we are now planning to rent the place for our wedding. This is an absolutely stunning old Italian/Sicilian farm, carefully restored five star standard hotel and with apartments and a beautiful villa for rental as well. They have horses and a saltwater pool. This place is family owned and has that incredible charm which only comes when the same family has owned and run the place for generations.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a tranquil and relaxing holiday with ready access to fantastic sightseeing in Catania and Siracusa and the rest of Eastern Sicily. You can even see Etna from the garden!

I would also recommend trying the restaurants in nearby Brucoli which are amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

If I had not experienced this first hand, I would have trouble believing that any hotel / agriturismo could be managed so badly in 2011. The apartment itself was average: large and rustic but not well maintained or charming. The location was below average, since any allure of being close to stables was outweighed by the smell. But the most unforgivable part of our stay was the aggressive rudeness of the manager. Here is our experience.

We made reservations for a week and a half, arriving on a Sunday afternoon in March. We found the unmarked gate with a little difficulty but everything was closed and there was no answer to the bell. We called the number from the reservation, got forwarded to several people, and eventually ended up speaking with “Anna,” the manager. She assured us someone was on their way to let us in. 30 minutes later, we called Anna again. She was surprised to hear from us again, and stated that although she was not at the agriturismo herself, someone would be there shortly to open the gate. Another 30 minutes passed, and finally I figured out how to open the gate manually so we could get in.

The first house we reached was beautiful. Manicured gardens, reflecting pools, an aviary with several parrots, and a magnificent swimming pool and fully stocked bar. It was far nicer than any agriturismo we had ever visited before, and we were excited. Unfortunately, it was also deserted. After several more calls to Anna and awkwardly knocking on every door we could find, we eventually found a man who turned out to be the owner of the entire estate. Clearly annoyed at being disturbed, he was courteous enough to explain to us that this was actually his private residence, and that the agriturismo was further down the road. He made a few phone calls, and when he realized that none of his employees were going to assist us, he took us to our rooms himself.

Our rooms were not near the beautiful gardens, they were near a working stable. San Calogero’s website makes the stables sound like pedigree training facilities. They aren’t: they are typical horse stables and the agriturismo apartments are typical staff quarters. The website also states that there is a nearby pool. I doubt that is true, since we searched for two days with increasing curiosity and never found anything other than the owner’s private pool. Finally, a new autostrada on the other side of the stables creates plenty of traffic noise to disrupt the peaceful setting described online. One part of San Calogero’s website that is accurate is that it is a working farm. Chickens, stray cats, and miniature ponies graze near and around the rooms.

The apartment was large, with a kitchen/living room, a bedroom, and a bathroom. Unfortunately, the apartment was also dirty. The rooms had clearly not been occupied for months. Plaster dust was everywhere, and in spots paint and plaster had fallen off the walls onto the floor. Dirty dishes were stacked in the sink. The toilet and shower were stained. The owner informed us that the cleaners hadn’t come yet, but that they would arrive by 6pm (we first arrived at the gate around 1pm). He gave us Anna’s phone number (again) and left. The cleaners did show up eventually, and they were professional and helpful. We also learned that they had been given no warning that we were arriving, and they had just been called in that afternoon to clean. The cleaners told us that if we needed anything, we should ask the stableboy who did not speak English.

Two more days passed, and we never saw a single person representing the agriturismo. The only person we ever met was the stableboy, and he politely ignored us. No one came to check us in or copy our passports. No one came to explain the area or to discuss any amenities. No one came to reassure us that they were planning to fix the leaks, the door handles falling off, the broken locks, or even to acknowledge our business. We tried calling Anna several times, but she stopped answering her phone. We were on our own.

By the second night, we were fed up and found a much better agriturismo nearby (called Orange Park). We had wired a three-night deposit before arriving, but we emailed Anna to tell her we were leaving, she could keep the extra night’s payment, and that we would leave the keys with the stable boy. We loaded up the car. Suddenly, Anna appears for the first time.

This is the most bizarre part of our stay. Anna was indignant and actually tried to prevent us from leaving. She got angry when we pointed out how dirty the apartment was, and she blamed that on us for not telling her the exact time of day we were arriving. She also claimed that they assumed we wanted to be left alone, and that was why they had not come to welcome us. Best of all, she demanded that we pay for the entire 10-night stay (in cash) because, in her words, “that is how a reservation works everywhere in the world.” We pointed out that we weren’t asking for the deposit back, but we weren’t paying another cent. She became even more belligerent. Finally, I called our Italian military liaison and requested the Carabinieri come help us leave.

Meanwhile, Anna was calling her own office to try to prove to us that they had all the necessary documents to put a legal claim on us. Ironically, she could not get ahold of anyone and had to ask the stable boy to go to the office and get someone to answer the phone. When she realized that they had not copied our passports, had no credit card or bank information on file, and that I had already requested help from the Carabinieri, she graciously allowed us to leave. That was the end of it.

In summary, I do not recommend that anyone stay at San Calogero. We have stayed in many agriturismi in Italy and this is the ONLY bad experience we have had. No one should expect luxury from an agriturismo, but we have always had comfortable rooms with extremely friendly, helpful family hosts. This was a bizarre exception. What is even crazier is that Anna thought it would be good business to attempt to berate us into giving up another few days’ rate. Thanks to tripadvisor, I hope you do not make the mistake of staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wilrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews