We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
388
119
14
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
119
14
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town the hotel staff beautiful hotel turkish bath inside the city walls great views from the rooftop recommend staying here amazing breakfast pies off season breakfast is served lovely room hire car the wi fi friendly hotel seafood cathedral
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Our suite was gorgeous. The hand painted al fresco sceiling utterly inspiring. The roof top jacousy is a hit. Service impeccable. And the Turkish bath perfect. A true gem of a hotel, utterly recommendable. And the cook will create anything you want - he made me an incredible amount of Ricci di Mare pasta and wonderful raw seafood. And the location is unbeatable.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aleksey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

PROS
1. Amazing breakfast on rooftop, local pies, freshly baked goods every single day, delicious juices
2. Rooftop has lounge chairs, daybeds and shower. If you check out you can still enjoy sun and have freshwater douche
3. Hotel has old word palazzo ambiance, look at first floor with belle epoque furniture, afrescos and objets d'art
4. Most important is the STAFF: the cleaning ladies are super amazing, Dario and other staff members always super helpful
5. Across the piazza there is small tourist office: Call Cristina the lady who works there and ask for tours around Otranto. I have done tour with her and Franco the driver, we went to Cave de Bauxite, Porto Badisco, Ciolo, Santa Cesaria Terme, Leuca and San Giovanni in Salento. We ended in amazing Gallipoli
6. Also ask Dario and other hotel staff to book mini 3h boat tour with Hydra company : Antonio and Lorenzo are very nice.
7. Ask for local restaurant tips : Arboe Vitae, Balconcino dOriente, Idra, Altro Baffo, all excellent
CONS:
1. Wish could stay longer.
2. lamp in my room must be changed for soft glow urgently!!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Arthur010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in a lovely room (I think the rooms are all different). The hotel is perfectly located in the old city, adjacent to the rear of the cathedral.

For us, the highlight was the rooftop bar and restaurant. Breakfast is served there if weather permits, and there are great local views.

The restaurant is apparently for hotel guests only, but the food is excellent and the service fantastic. It specialises in sea food - as do most of the restaurants- but one evening I wanted beef, which was not on the menu. So the chef simply went out snd got some and prepared it at as a special dish! When was the last time you had that happen?
Gabriello, the waiter, and the chef were outstanding in every way.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

The Hotel Palazzo Papaleo is wonderfully situated inside the city walls of picturesque Otranto – literally within touching distance of the Duomo! It has retained its original character as the palace of the Papaleo family, and has been decorated and furnished to a very high standard throughout. Our bed was amongst the most comfortable we’ve ever slept in! Toiletries were of a very high standard and plentiful. Breakfast is also of a good standard and offers a decent choice. The staff are particularly welcoming, helpful and informative, and the standard of their English is also good – something which is not always the case in Puglia. We had a hire car which we had to park about 6 minutes walk from the hotel, but this was not a problem. We walked, but the hotel does offer an electric ‘golf buggy’ type vehicle for those who would find this challenging. We would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Otranto.
The wi-fi in our room (Room 23) was intermittent and rather unreliable. This may not be the case in other parts of the hotel of course.

Room tip: Room 23 is the only one with a balcony offering a sea view.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Emyr Wynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We loved staying at this hotel. The location is superb, the breakfast is outstanding, and the staff were really wonderful. The room was not what we had hoped for, since we had asked for something special during our stay, but the overall experience was definitely 5 the star.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank todoinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_PalazzoPapaleo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Palazzo Papaleo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Guest,
we really appreciated your comments about your recent stay at our Hotel and we would like to thank you for choosing us for your special event. We hope to see you again in a next future in order to satisfy any need or request. We would like to ensure our guest an impeccable and unforgettable experience.
Kind Regards,

Alessandra



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews