We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveller rating
552
334
137
71
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
334
137
71
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast selection modern resort minute walk reception area beautiful pool free wifi old town barista privacy puglia
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Enjoyed the hotel, great breakfast, plenty of privacy and near enough to walk into town when you discover the back entrance gate! Staff were always very helpful and friendly. It took a few days to discover all the routes around the hotel especially from the rooms furtherest away from the reception area.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Grnadsire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDSHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Basiliani Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Guest, we thank you for choosing Basiliani for your stay and we are very glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and you apprecieted our breakfast and our staff. We look forward to see you soon for another CDSHotels holiday. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Nice, well kept hotel within 10 minutes walk to the historical centre of Otranto. Everything is very clean and well kept: rooms, restaurant, swimming pool area, gardens. A lot of steps, so you have to be in condition! Wifi only in the lobby, in the room only available with a cable that you get from reception. Reception area not cosy, very uncomfortable seats, bar always closed. Breakfast good according to Italian standards, enough choice, however every day the same, no variety at all (same for dinner). Great coffee freshly made by a barista! Warm meals were always cold or lukewarm. Dessert (cake) comes from the freezer, twice we had cake that was still frozen inside! Nice swimming pool, large enough and cleaned every day. Towels available at the pool. No children's pool. Organisation in the restaurant at night is a bit chaotic, some days we were on the list, others we were not... Good beds, basic bathroom with small shower and very little products (only 2 small bottles of shower gel/shampoo), daily change of towels. Large parking lot that is free of charge. More a 3 star than a 4 star hotel, but overall, we had a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JojoShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

My daughter was a happy week, I was very pleased with the hotel and all the services and staff, especially the restaurant. Breakfast is Italian, just slightly English, and coffee is the highest barista level. O crossan tasting! For dinner, food is a genuine mediterranean cuisine. Perfect! and wine is added to the food.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank inaaniuliene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Otranto was the last stop for me on a 9 day cyling holiday of Puglia. I couldn't have asked for a better place to end the trip. My room was spacious and quiet with French doors to the outside. The spa was a wonderfully relaxing experience with theee different saunas. The massage was one of the best I have ever had. Breakfast was great- eggs cooked to order and fresh coffee. Special mention to Gerardo on reception who was there both the evening and morning I was there. Really helpful, friendly (and funny) guy and also to the hotel manager, Antonio. I had to catch a bus to Lecce after checking out. Tbe bus stop was about a 10-15 minute walk downhill from the hotel and walking with 2 suitcases in the pouring rain wouldn't have been much fun. Anyhow, the manager himself took time out of his day to drive me to the bus stop- which was above and beyond the call of duty but very much appreciated. Grazi mil Antonio!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Nice buildings. Hotel looks well. Unfortunate lack of facilities in the hotel and grounds.

In the rooms the information booklets were old and had prices no longer valid. Including the day spa and indoor pool. The price listed was €20 per day. This was changed to €20 for 90 minutes and €10 per hour after.

Breakfast in the hotel left a lot to be desired. Eggs being burned and gone cold. Coffee machines unserviced and burning the coffee. Though reported went unfixed.

Lunch in the hotel seems good on paper. €20 per person is a reasonable price for A La Carte. On arrival the menu is a buffet. Left out. Pasta and sauces turned gelatenous and the food not very warm.

Though on the plans access to rooms from the main building and reception looks easy.

Moving from building to building is precarious as the ground is uneven with many levels. Not for the elderly or unstable and most certainly not for wheelchair users. My mother inlaw fell twice.

Outside of the spa in the hotel there is an unguarded change of levels poorly lit like most of the corridors in the hotel. A drop of only a couple of inches but enough to cause a fall and injury

Most of the staff are friendly and helpful. Although check in time though requested for 2pm was after 5pm. With checkout at 10am. Begs to question why the hotel need 7 hours to clean the rooms.

Which brings me to the room cleaning.

We stayed for 3 nights. At time of leaving we had 3 days worth of towels left on our bathroom floor.

The top sheet on the bed was pulled up each day and tucked in but the sheets or pillow cases were not changed.

The shower had a head and wand. But the button to swap between both was broken and stuck.

One of the cleaners used bleach in the bathroom and left it on the toilet seat and floor. Ruining my fiances dress.

On the whole the hotel is nice to look at but doesnt function as well as its form.

A shame really.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews