We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
214
111
27
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
111
27
16
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Our tour company called this hotel 4 star but it's not. I'd barely give it 3 stars. The room was comfortable enough with good a/c but mediocre WiFi and food. Our group felt totally isolated....never saw another guest in the hotel but ourselves.....though there were cars in the parking lot. And their first night included dinner was not well received by our group. The regional cheese and tomato salad was OK but the next course which consisted of only one snake-like curl of undercooked sausage fell flat. The dessert was unremarkable also. While the setting was elegant it was weird to not have any other diners in that large room at 8 pm. Was that too early for them? We spent 2 nights here but had no time to use the pool. Service was pleasant enough.

Room Tip: 1st floor has view of a wall. Try to get higher.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stulimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is highly recommended!

It is quiet, very clean and comfortable.The room is very spacious. The restaurant is with delicious food - both breakfast and dinner.For example you rarely see freshly grilled vegetables for breakfast, which the hotel offers.
Beds were very comfortable, compared to other places in Southern Italy.
Staff in reception was welcoming. Staff in the restaurant was also very kind.

The only thing that could be added to the room is place to put your wet bathrobes.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DimitarD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I recently spent a week at the Semiramide Palace Hotel. The rooms are quite comfortable and spacious and overall clean. The staff is generally welcoming and accommodating, with the exception of one staffer, mentioned below. The breakfasts are quite good with a large variety of options to serve varying tastes. One problem I encountered was that the air conditioning can't be adjusted and it gradually creeps lower as the days go by. By the third day I was literally freezing in my room. When I found that it wasn't responding to my own efforts to raise the thermostat, I asked if it could be adjusted up a bit and was told by a particularly unhelpful staff member that it could not be adjusted: it had to be either on, or off. I had her turn it off for a day and then turn it back on when the weather heated up. I had several interactions with this staffer throughout the week and found that she was very reluctant to offer any more service than she felt necessary. She dragged her heels about anything that was asked of her. On our last day there we realized for various reasons that we needed to depart for the airport a half-hour sooner. We had already booked and paid for a car so I asked the front desk to contact the transport company and request an earlier pick-up. Unfortunately, the uncooperative staff member was working the desk that day and she reluctantly listened to my explanation and handed me the phone to call them myself. When I explained that I don't speak Italian and the transport company doesn't speak English, she reluctantly wrote down the requested time change but apparently never felt it necessary to call it in. What the time for our transport arrived, no driver showed up. He didn't arrive for another 40 minutes, which didn't allow time to do anything but check in and get on the plane. If given the occasion to stay at this hotel again, I would probably consider it because the rest of the staff was quite accommodating--but I would avoid asking the difficult one for any help whatsoever. I choose not to post her name in hopes that the hotel can deal with her confidentially. She was definitely not the type of service-oriented worker one would expect at a hotel of this caliber.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank olddancer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We were there in March 2015, it's been the only open hotel around Grotte Castellana. It has everything you'd expect from a business hotel, but for private travellers it's a bit too expensive for what it offers. We would probably select something less 'anonymous' if there was a choice.

Room Tip: Select one not facing the ugly and noisy factory.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StaszekS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semiramide_Palace_H, Direttore at Semiramide Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2015
Google Translation

Preg.mo Sig. Lorenzo,
La ringrazio infinitamente per averci omaggiato di una bella recensione che ci vede premiati.

Sono felice che le Sue aspettative non siano state disattese ma soprattutto sono fiero dello Staff che ho l'onore di dirigere che attraverso questo lodevole canale comprende quanto sia importante il lavoro di gruppo, per ottenere simili attestazioni di compiacimento.

Con la speranza di rivederLa quanto prima, presso il Semiramide Place hotel, Le giunga il mio più distinto e sincero saluto.

Il Direttore
Petruzzelli Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent four nights at the Semiramide Palace Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When we arrived there was a wedding going on at the hotel and a party of English wedding guests were just leaving to go to a wedding elsewhere, so the receptionist was I think a little frazzled and the welcome was not the best. However, the room and the bed were very comfortable and the pool area was lovely. Because it was just a little too far to walk into town in the evenings (there were no pavements along the main road) we ate in the hotel every night.

The food was excellent and the head waiter was amazingly good at his job and charming, going out of his way to make us feel valued. Only downside was that this hotel obviously runs a lot of events and sometimes, as a guest, it was difficult to get service, particularly in the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione64, Direttore at Semiramide Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Ms. Gillian,

Thank you very much for Your nice review.
It is so great that you enjoy your stay at the Semiramide Palace Hotel.
I have taken notice about the some negative comments and we assure that will pay more attention to the management of several events at one time, but as You rightly say in our hotel we organize a lot of events .
We are looking forward to Welcoming You very soon.
Kind regards!
The Hotel Manager
Petruzzelli Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews