We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CA surfer give A+ to Gerrie and Blackfield”

Blackfield Surf School
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Achill Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Blackfield is a unique visitor attraction on Achill Island.If you need a surfing lesson or to hire some wetsuits, surfboards or body boards, just drop in! We run a hugely popular and (very small) surf camp for children aged 8-16 during the months of July and August.In 2016 we are also running a coding and robotics camp for children aged up to 14. In summer we house our surf school in a double decker bus on Keel beach.The Blackfield bus is fully seated upstairs with a fantastic view of the beach and tea, coffee hot chocolate and cold drinks are available every day from 10.30 until 5pm In winter (October - March) our building is closed but we are always happy to run lessons or hire equipment!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 5 July 2015

My 25 year old son from CA and my 15 year old daughter from MN could not have gotten better customer service from Gerrie and his crew at Blackfield. Gerrie was excellent and extremely helpful with my kids and their surfing - one experienced and one not. He was very responsive to my ongoing emails leading up to the days we surfed. This place is awesome and he's a wonderful business owner. Highy recommend this place - check out his website and email him if you have questions. Gerrie is a wonderful guy!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank stephaniekW7683TI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackfieldachill, Owner at Blackfield Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hi Stephanie-
thanks for taking the time to review our surf school-I'm delighted that your guys enjoyed it so much and that we were able to be a part of a great holiday for you. I hope that the rest of your time in Ireland matches your time on Achill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2015

Booked a surf lesson for a group of 7 girls on a hen with Blackfield and we were all mightily impressed. Gerry is an earnest, professional and thorough instructor - his passion for surfing stands out and he's a natural teacher. The wetsuits and surfboards were well maintained and we were pretty much straight in the water at Keel Beach after an introductory instruction at the café. The weather wasn't amazing but it was actually kinda perfect for surfing - the waves were awesome. We were a mixed group of varying levels - a couple of beginners, some who had surfed a few times. Gerry accommodated everyone, came around and gave individual pointers on how to improve technique. Highly recommended.

2  Thank 23leliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackfieldachill, Owner at Blackfield Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hi Liz-
thanks for bringing your group to us -and thanks for getting everybody here on time-not all hen parties manage to be as punctual!
It was a pleasure to have you here and great to see how well you all did.Hope the wedding is a great day-look forward to seeing some or all of you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Had a fantastic surf lesson with Gerry from Blackfield Surf school on Keel beach in Achill. All 6 of the group enjoyed the afternoon and we were lucky with the weather and waves.Would definitely recommend for teens and had a good long session. Well worth the trip and a highlight for our Breton visitor. Thanks Gerry for all your encouragement. Caitriona , Galway.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackfieldachill, Owner at Blackfield Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Caitriona,
Many Thanks for taking the time out of your hectic schedule to share the experience of your visit on our Tripadvisor page.!
g

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

I organised a group of over 30 of us to get in some surf lessons with Blackfiled while on an adventure weekend in Achill. Gerry went out of his way to make sure it worked and all timed out with the other events we had going on. The setting was amazing on Keem Beach. We have all levels in our group and Gerry was able to help the intermediates advance more and get those green waves, and also get the beginners up to their feet for the first time and give them a great taste of what surfing is all about. Blackfield definitely gets a high recommendation from Wet and Wild!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank KallenWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

This summer was our second time visiting Achill with the kids and taking lessons from Gerry ... After we left Achill we went to Portugal to the Silver Coast, known for it's surfing, whilst it is a very beautiful place and magnificent beaches, after the kids took their lessons they came back and said the would prefer to be in Achill with Gerry !!!! Gerry runs the business and is hands on when it comes to being there and teaching the guys what to do, they trust him and as parents you feel safe letting them go off into the wild Atlantic ( as it was some days ) with him... We would highly recommended Black fields Surf School and Gerry.. Thanks Gerry for all you did for the kids and hopefully we will be back for more next year.. The Curtins .. Dublin

1  Thank cac20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackfieldachill, Owner at Blackfield Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us so nicely! Keel is the perfect place to take surf lessons, especially for kids-it is such a safe and lovely beach with waves suitable for beginners most of the year.
It was a pleasure to have you here and we'll hopefully see you again on the double decker surf bus next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackfield Surf School also viewed

Keel, Achill Island
Dugort, Achill Island
 
Achill Island, County Mayo
Achill Island, County Mayo
 

Been to Blackfield Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing