We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summery Hotel - Fantastic!”
Review of Hotel Summery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Summery
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have stayed at the Summery Hotel many times and every year the owners do something to improve it. Air con included in the room price, fridge in the room, beautifully decorated dining room/bar and reception area are just a few examples.Last year they renovated the outside of the hotel to give it a more modern, contemporary feel and it looks great. A fabulous buffet breakfast includes cereal, toast, juice, tea, coffee, Greek yoghurt, ham, cheese salami, bread, fruit, croissants, jam, cake and boiled eggs. A perfect location on the beach front, this wonderful family run hotel has a pool in beautiful gardens. Good snacks are served throughout the day and they do a 'special meal' if you want to stay in the hotel for your evening meal which is good value at around 5 euros and good quality too. A large bottle of Amstel / Mythos is 2.50 Euros and a half kg of house wine is just 3 euros and is very good! Titika and Yanna are the owners and run it with their husbands, Bill and George. They will do anything to ensure your holiday is perfect. The rooms are cleaned daily along with towels, and bed linen is changed two or three times a week. Every member of staff are friendly and charming. 1.5k from the beautiful Lepeda beach, 15 mins to XI beach by taxi which costs 10 euros. 5 min walk to the square which has a good choice of around 10 or so tavernas, all of which are a good standard, Novita, Avli, Vesuvious, Maxim, Oasis are the best plus a few bars to enjoy a drink or two. Cocktails happy hour is before 9pm and cost 4 euros. There are a few shops to keep the ladies happy but if you want more take the ferry over to Argostolli, which is the capital of Kefalonia and there are shops galore along with a good selection of high class tavernas around the square (La Gondala is the best there). You can go as a package, or book flight only then book your room direct with the hotel and transfers are included. Booking direct is actually a bit cheaper than booking as a package and once there you don't really need a rep as Titika and Yanna will take care of everything you need. They are absolutely delightful. When you arrive at the airport a taxi will be waiting for you if you book direct, go to the harbour (15 mins) and take the ferry over to Lixouri. It costs 2.50 euros and takes 20 mins in flat calm waters so no need to worry if you are not a good sailor like me! The drive around the peninsular is the other option and takes 45 mins to one hour. This a brilliant hotel. Many people who stay return year after year and once you go you will understand why. You are made to feel like part of the family and not just another guest in some of the other hotels. Everything you need is at your fingertips and within an easy 5 min flat walk. It really is a very relaxing place to stay. Quiet, peaceful and charming. This hotel draws you into the Greek way of life and washes all the stresses of life away.

Room Tip: Always get a see view, it's beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewWoods_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Andrew and Lynn, we just could not believe our eyes when we read your lovely review of the Summery and of Lixouri. The accuracy of your descriptions and the amount of detail are extraordinary-definitely a treasure trove of information for future visitors to use. We believe that this is what Tripadvisor is all about: sharing information and experiences and help others benefit from your inside knowledge. Thank you for this! It was lovely to have you back after some years and the fact that you celebrated your anniversary at the Summery made it all special. Our families go back a long time with three generations having visited us and you are always going to be not just guests but friends!
Love

Titika & Yanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

From the moment we entered the beautiful hotel Summery our one week stay was fantastic ! Such a relaxing and tranquil place with staff for ever smiling and ensuring your every need catered for. Each morning we took breakfast on the terrace following a swim in the sparkling blue sea....so exhilarating !This hotel has to be an Ionian gem."weather fantastic.."..you walk through lovely garden and there is the beach. From the beach you walk past the poolside area.Plenty of sunbeds and happily no blaring poolside music. There were lots of young people enjoying this perfect setting along with the older generation certainly this wonderful family run hotel has to be visited to be believed. Thank you so much to The Summery Team.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank anniegosden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear friends,
thank you so much for visiting the Summery and for your lovely review! We appreciate your business and value your opinion very very much. We are happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere by the pool and the variety of people that met there.
We would love to see you again at the Summery and we'll do our best to make the second visit better than the first!

Best Wishes from all of the Summery team

Yanna & Titika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Barbie and Ken did it again - yes we have just returned from Hotel Summery in Lixouri for the second time this year - and have lost count of how many times previous to that - and it won't be our last - we had a lovey time (as usual) we were looked after as usual nothing too much trouble for this lovely small family run hotel - it was very hot this time the hottest we have ever known it in Kefalonia - the location is pefect just outside the town so a very short walk into Lixouri for all the lovely tavernas where you can sit along the harbour side and enjoy the food/wine/atmosphere of this lovely little place - so see you all again next year
Christine and George aka B & K xxxxxx

Room Tip: Just go and see for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dearest Christine/Barbie and George/Ken,

it was fantastic you for the second time around this year. So lovely to see you both at the beginning and at the end of the summer! This August was indeed the hottest anyone remembered. Now it is cooler and a lot more pleasant, maybe September is your month after all? Missing you both and wishing you were still here to enjoy the lovely sea and weather...

With hugs and kisses from all of us

Titika & Yanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Just come back from a week at the Summery, our first trip to Kefalonia. We are a family of 4 with 2 teenage girls and the charming staff of the Summery made us feel very welcome and cared for.
The hotel is some 30 years old and in some respects shows it ( small bathrooms, tiny showers with handheld attachments) but has been maintained absolutely immaculately, with love and pride. Rooms cleaned to a very high standard daily by the friendly cleaning ladies and all interior public areas spotless. I could not say the same for the exteriors, the pool area is a little shabby and rundown, this is probably where the hotel most shows it's age. However, as all you have to do if you don't like it is walk 20 foot onto the sandy beach, it's hardly a problem.
We had hired a car for the week, picking it up at Argostoli airport and making our own way to the hotel via Argostoli ferry, an easy journey that took around 40 minutes (25 of them on the ferry). Hotel Summery is very close to the ferry terminal at Lixouri. I would really recommend this if you want to explore Kefalonia, especially it's magnificent beaches. We drove up to Fiskardo - charming town, Sami, Melissani Lake, Myrtos beach ( amazing turquoise water) Xi beach and many other places we couldn't have seen without a car. Our girls liked Xi beach best where they rode the extreme doughnuts and made bodymasks with the clay you can crumble from the low cliffs on the beach.
The Summery offers no 'entertainment' whatsoever which suited us fine as we hate pumped music by the pool and bad singing in the evening. It's the ideal hotel for a quiet relaxed holiday and is in a fabulous location. The fridges in the rooms are a great touch, we filled ours with iced teas and other drinks from the local supermarket (50 yards up the road) as it was so very hot. The main shopping and eating areas of Lixouri are a 3 minute stroll from the Summery and all the shops stay open till about 10pm, meaning we did all our shopping in the cool of the evening. Loads of choice of places to eat and really reasonable prices meant eating out was a pure pleasure.
I was very sad to leave on our last day but again the lovely staff softened the blow by letting us keep our rooms until we left for the airport at 1.30pm at no extra charge, so we had a relaxed last morning by the pool instead of the usual frenzied pack up. That just sums up the Summary though, helpful st

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear family,
thank you very much for visiting the Summery and for your detailed review in Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed Lixouri and your stay with us. All your comments are duly noted and will be taken into consideration in our future plans. It was lovely meeting you all and would really love to see you again.
Best Regards
Yanna & Titika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We just returned to the UK after a fantastic week in Lixouri. I am so happy we chose to stay at Hotel Summery. The staff were fantastic and we were all made to feel very welcome. Rooms are cleaned daily to a very high standard. The rooms arent massive, but we only used it for sleeping so no promlem for us. The cleaners were lovely.
Breakfast is a good continental breakfast with something for everyone to enjoy.
Cheese, ham, feta, olives, bread, toast, boiled eggs, jam, honey, greek yoghurt, fruit salad, melon. The pool area is a very relaxing place and was never too busy. The kids play area was a nice addition and our 20 month old daughter loved it in there. A bit of fresh paint would be nice in that area..
The beach was great, beautiful clear water and very calm seas. Again this was ideal for a young child. Head about 1.5 miles down the beach and find some lovely lagoons, and good places to snorkel.
The hotel is in an ideal location, over the road from the supermarket (worth a visit even if its just to cool down) :-) and 5 minutes from the main front and square. We ate in Maxims on the front a 3 times it was great for Mousakka. Iced coffe from the Summery bar was delicious. A great holiday, we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashman374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear friends,

thank you for your good words and for staying with us this August. It was lovely meeting your family and especially your gorgeous little VIP who just stole everyone's hearts. We are glad you found the Summery kid friendly and family oriented and we'll take into consideration your word of advise. We aim to keep the Summery a quiet and relaxing place where families and couples as well as solo travelers can enjoy their peace and quiet and spend some quality time, so your feedback is very important to us. We hope to see you in the future and watch the little treasure grow bigger each time!

With lots of love from all of us at the Summery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
4.1 km away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
11.6 km away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
4 km away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34 km away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
0.6 km away
La Cite Hotel
La Cite Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lixouri
245 reviews
18 km away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Sami
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Summery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summery

Address: 35 Labraki Grigoriou, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: €38 - €78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Summery 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family run, sea front hotel in Lixouri, offering affordable, good quality holidays and cultivating authentic human connection since 1981. 24 hour reception, multilingual staff, expanded gardens with grown trees, children's playground, swimming pool, free parking, rooms with balconies, beautiful views, A/C, TV, mini fridge, hair dryer, safety deposit box, direct dial telephone, wired and wireless high speed internet free of charge for the hotel guests, daily maid service, wheelchair accessible rooms. Closed for refurbishment. Reopening in May 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Summery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summery Hotel Lixouri
Hotel Summery Lixouri, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing