We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
87
28
13
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
28
13
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each morning warmest of welcomes seen better days petani beach an update greek islands goat bells fruit trees base to explore beautiful island minute drive ham hired a car yogurt nothing is too much trouble fantastic holiday nikos
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Terra Mare was good value for money, as we chose a lower priced accommodation.

The room was very clean, there are a few wear n tear items that could just do with an update/lick of paint- although it's nothing major. There was a fridge in our room, which was fab so we could make some butties for our boat trip and store water too. There was plenty of storage space, and a small TV too.

We unfortunately had a hornet's nest outside- so make sure you bring plenty of insect repellent and something for insect bites! There are also a lot of mosquitos and the flies are pretty relentless too ( we were told by another guest that the flies bite?)

The pool was the best thing about Terra Mare, quite big, excellent condition and plenty of sun loungers. There are also a few goats and sheep in the farm area next door, that are quite entertaining! There isn't a beach that you can sunbathe on, however there is a 5 minute walk to the lake. There is a private beach about a 15-20 minute walk away, but we gave up trying to walk there along the coast. The view is beautiful in all directions of Terra Mare, surrounded by nature.

Breakfast was included with our package and it's ok, it sets you up for the day. Each morning there were boiled eggs, chipolatas, bread/toast, ham, cheese, cereal, yogurt and jam etc. Plenty of coffee, tea and juice too. Always a warm welcome from the cleaning lady each morning :)

We had a few things off the menu for lunch and dinner, and we can recommend the gyro only. Again, we chose a low budget hotel, so we got what we paid for. The service was quick, considering there was only the owner/manager and a young lad serving. The food is a bit like school dinners, edible and basic. There is a little pizzeria about a 5 minute walk away, and the food is fantastic ;)

We don't drive, so got a taxi into Lixouri which was 7 euros. We would recommend getting a taxi from the airport to Argostoli ( about 20 euros), the ferry from Argostoli to Lixouri ( 2.80 each) and then a taxi to the hotel ( 7 euros). We did this on our way back to Kefalonia airport and saved loads of money ( and also saw the turtles along the harbour one last time). When we arrived, we got a taxi from the airport straight to Terra Mare, which was about an hour's drive and cost 65 euros :(

The manager Nicos tries do as much for you as possible, and it seems that it is just him there- not sure when he gets to sleep! He will try his best to help you out and see if there is a taxi share available with other guests, to help you save money. We spoke with a few other couples, who told us Nicos acted on any maintenance issues straight away and always with a smile.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Our best greek holidays ever, thanks to the attitude of the owner Mr.Nicos.
Nothing was a problem, very friendly and polite guide for your comfy holidays. Helpful with anything, sunumbrellas, renting a car, trips included...
Delicious food and very nice staff, our best 2 weeks in Greece.
Hope we will come soon again.

We crossed the island through - really beautiful places like in north as in south, crystal clear beaches and nice people ! Highly recommend !

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BackPacker814547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Hi,we stayed for 4nights in that hotel
We stayed in smal house and recommend this. Nico is the owner. He is very helpfull
and friendly man Quite and relaxing complex. No beach. But a lot of green trees
If you are in cephalonia for first time choose hotel in north side of the island

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TuncerY_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

When we first arrived and owner Nikos told us that should we need anything he worked 25 hours a day, he really wasn't kidding. I've never encountered any hotel owner who works so hard to try and ensure that his guests are happy.

From information about the area to complimentary beers and providing us with parasols when we visited the beach, he was always on hand to help us and make sure we were enjoying our stay. He even came out and waved us off when we left. It's difficult to describe on here just what a friendly, hardworking and helpful guy he is.

The hotel is set in spacious grounds and the communal areas are well kept. The pool is fantastic, large and clean. It overlooks the sea and has wonderful views. There are plenty of sunbeds and we never had any problems getting a sunbed no matter what time of the day. Guests are also allowed the use the pool at night which was fun as I've never been to a hotel where that is permitted before.

The restaurant provides good value, tasty food and the service is very good. The breakfast, whilst very cheap, is a bit basic and so we had it on the first day and then after that made our own arrangements.

Our room was basic, but had everything we needed for our stay. The rooms are definitely in need of a refurb, but are clean. The rooms were serviced every day and cleaned to a high standard. The only issue we had was that when the towels were changed one of our towels had a couple of questionable stains. No massive deal though, I just used one of the smaller towels instead.

Our door frame/lock was pretty knackered and you could tell it had had a few patch up repairs before. To his credit Nikos came around straight away when the lock completely broke and spent the afternoon patching it up again.

The air conditioning was really efficient, and free which was a nice surprise as a lot of other places charge to gain access to this.

The location was great for us, as we had a hire car. If you stay here you definitely need access to a car/moped. With this you are only 20 minutes drive away from what in my opinion is the most beautiful beach on the island (Petani). You are also close to Xi Beach and Lixouri is only around 10 minutes drive away where the ferry over to Argostoli is cheap and runs frequently. Pretty much anywhere on the island isn't too far away and this hotel makes a great base to explore. There are plenty of parking spaces as well.

We'd definitely recommend this hotel, it was a really good price and we had a fantastic stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manctravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Terra Mare for 5 nights as part of a last minute holiday to the Greek Islands. Admittedly, this would not have been my husband's first choice of hotel and the twin room I had booked had seen better days (cistern constantly filled which kept us awake...). However, Nikos moved us to an upper floor double room after the first night which was lovely and quiet and certainly more up to date.
On the subject of Nikos, he was very helpful and accommodating, even when we were considering moving hotel (a bad night's sleep can do this to you). He did all he could to make our stay better - and achieved it! Even down to offering an extra night at a very reasonable rate when we needed to check options due to a ferry strike.
The pool area is lovely and the sea views beautiful. Lixouri is a 10 minute drive away, and there is also a very lovely restaurant 15 mins walk from the hotel, up the hill above Hotel Elena which I would also recommend.
We even had the bonus of a wedding reception on the Saturday night of our stay!
Ultimately, for £35 a night, I'd go back. However, ring the hotel directly as you'll get a good rate!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews