We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
48
38
16
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
38
16
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new wing two nights wedding business german
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in July. We enjoyed our stay and used it as a base to visit sites in the area including a river cruise on the Rhine one day.
The rooms are nice and kept very clean. We were in what appeared to be a new wing attached to the old castle rather than in a room inside the castle. Since it was really hot there at this time some A/C would be nice but I would guess that it isn't an issue most of the time. There are no screens in the windows so opening up to battle the heat meant bugs in the room. Lack of screens seemed common at all the places we stayed on this trip. Our best bet was to open up after turning off the lights because the bugs are not as big an issue that way. I think a ceiling fan, or even a table fan would be a nice addition to the rooms during the hottest months. The waterfall shower was particularly nice and relaxing. Our German isn't that good and we didn't find any TV Channels in English but not a big deal. We liked the room and really loved the rural location of the hotel. There are lots of nice places for a relaxing walk around the area.
Breakfast is expensive but the buffet is excellent we thought. Lots of nice options and the coffee is excellent. It was worth it! It was nice to get some bacon and scrambled eggs and pancakes after finding only cold cuts, cheeses, and cold cereals at other smaller places we stayed on our trip.
We didn't eat dinner at the restaurant, but we did walk up the lane to the Bier Garden for dinner two nights. The food, drinks, and service there are all excellent and it's a pleasant walk from the hotel.
Everyone we dealt with on staff was friendly and helpful. In spite of our limited German the nice people at the front desk were always able to work out what we needed and take care of it. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RHVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schloss Rettershof, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear RHVA,
thank your for you stay and great feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and in the meantime, we also haven an english channel in our TV ;-) If you visit us again, we hope to welcome you in our restaurant as well, I swear it is worth.
Best regards,
Daniela Schwarz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We had an excellent four day leadership programme here with 30 managers of Braun.

The food was good, coffee breaks well organised.

We arrived at midnight and were welcomed by helpful staff. We were shown to our rooms and felt looked after.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schloss Rettershof, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dea Jake E,

thank you for your feedback after your leadership training in our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again - maybe for a private trip because our area the Taunus is very nice ;-)

Best regards
Daniela Schwarz
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We just turned up in the early evening on a Saturday, having remembered the place from a wedding over 10 years ago - but that was no problem as there was a room available.

Comfortable, we were in a standard room in the new wing, functional and fairly spacious. The beds were fine. The bathroom works OK but the design should really have been done differently to ensure that the toilet doesn't get the full attention of the shower.

The stay was most restful, the beds good, the breakfast more than sufficient, and dinner was good. The menu had some interesting combinations, some of which you might really enjoy, others which might make you think twice. The price was solid, but then you are near a big international city and the quality made up a lot for the price.

Room Tip: You choose - the castle or the new wing - the antique or the modern
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gofer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schloss Rettershof, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Gofer42,

thank you for your visit and we, the new hosts of the hotel, are happy that you enjoyed your stay again. Hope to welcome you again and than please ask for the rooms with closed showers which we made after the first ones you had ;-)

Best regards,
Daniela Schwarz
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

It might be a good hotel for a private get-away, but this is clearly not a hotel for business meetings. The meeting room is not adequate for meetings with more than 30 people. Furthermore the restaurant isn't flexible to change the menu. We couldn't even change our main course against a simple salad.
Also lacking is a proper bar. Sitting with a larger group in the foyer isn't nice and the service is rather slow.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shiketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schloss Rettershof, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear shiketing,
thank you for your visit and feedback. We are a familiar Hotel with 35 rooms and 6 meeting rooms in different sizes. It is also always important for us, that our guests are happy and of course it is possible to change the main course which we always offer to the main contact person during a meeting. We know very well that not everybody likes to eat meat in the main course and that we always have guest who prefer f.e. a salad or something vegetarian.
That a bar is missing we know, but unfortunately we can not change it because of the rooms available in our Castle. This is why our guests always like to sit after dinner in the fireplace room or the winter garden and in summer of course outside in the garden.
Dear shiketing, even with your experience you have made with us, we hope to welcome you again to a meeting with us to convince you of our quality.
Best regards,
Daniela Schwarz
host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

The rooms are really nice spacious and clean. I had the schnitzel was nicely cooked and crispy on the outside with nice fried potatoes. Not great selection of beers but was pleased with what I was offered. Great atmosphere and friendly stuff.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews