We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
14
22
20
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
22
20
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely terrace medieval town stayed here gate business
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2016

In August 2016 I made a reservation for 2 nights at this hotel for me and the wife. I was offered a double room in the newer part of the hotel where we had stayed a few years back without issue. I was then emailed the confirmation for a double room in the new part of the building for a confirmed rate of 105 Euro per night. Upon arrival on 26 November 2016 we were shown our room but it was in the old part of the building which we rejected. I informed the staff member that we had a confirmation for a room in the newer part of the building and then we were shown such a room which we accepted. We checked out as planned on the morning of 28 November and were presented with a total bill of 298 Euro for room and breakfast only. The staff member did not seem to speak English well enough for me to argue with so I went ahead and paid the bill but planned to email the hotel upon our return home to make a complaint. It was clear that we were overcharged 88 Euro (approx. $85 U.S.) for our stay. I have now communicated with the hotel by email and have been informed that in spite of our confirmation for a double standard room in the new area of the building we accepted a "junior suite" at the price of 149 Euro per night. Nothing of the kind was explained to us when we checked in as we simply told the staff member that our room was supposed to be in the new part of the building. He then escorted us to the new part and showed us this alternate room which appeared satisfactory and we accepted. We were never informed that we were then opting for a much more expensive "junior suite". Live and learn I guess as we will never stay at the Hotel Schwan in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Positioned alongside the river, we could step outside the hotel into the old medieval town. The building incorporates the old town gate as it straddles across the street. The rooms were smartly furnished - good size and comfortable. We managed to find a space to park across the road. An inside garage parking facility was available nearby, but as we had a large vehicle we wanted surface parking. Being the weekend, it was free. Otherwise it would have been payable. Sadly, as it was the weekend and the shops closed early on the Saturday, it made for a quiet time! Wifi connection was variable which was frustrating to say the least. We ate a nice evening meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was also good quality with an especially nice savoury scrambled egg - delicious!

Stayed: June 2016
Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

very friendly and helpfull staff, i liked the most location close to the river with underground parking facilities, and if you have the roof box there are about eight spaces that you can park just outside the underground car park-it is free until 08.00 in the morning, after this you have to pay about 50 cents per hour. Rooms are being modernised, but even the old rooms which i took was clean, big and tidy.
continental breakfast was ok, but short of staff in the morning, probably i was out of season-September.

Room Tip: choose a room with front view...
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank artkatallozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

The rooms are large and, as one would expect from a modernised German hotel, clean and well furnished; the morning's breakfast was characteristically ample and varied. Our only misgivings were that (a) we had no Wi-Fi reception in our room and (b) the sheets were a mixture of synthetic and cotton fibres: acceptable under normal circumstances, but not on a hot summer's night. (It is only for these reasons that I am reluctant to give the hotel a higher rating.) Courteous staff, who showed us where to park a car with a roofbox, which was too high for the local underground garage.
The town of Wertheim is lovely: interesting architecture, and a magnificent ruined castle on the hill above: worth climbing up to it in the early morning, to gain good views of the Main valley and work up an appetite for breakfast!

Stayed: July 2015
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Nice family hotel located right in the center of town, close to the river. Great food, although the service was a little slow - the staff of the hotel went out of its way to please. Great example of a family run hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a low floor in summer and not under the roof - no aricon as per cuty restrictions
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews