We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
10
20
20
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
20
20
8
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Location was very good, within walking distance of the town and Abbey. This motel was basic but what you'd expect in this price range. The room was spacious and clean but did not have air conditioning. We couldn't really open up the windows and shutters as people could look straight into the room from the car park and any noise from outside was heard. There was obviously a leak in the shower area as quite a lot of water soaked through to the bedroom carpet which dampened some of our belongings which were on the floor, leaning up next to the wall.
There's plenty to see and do in Cluny and the surrounds and would recommend this place to the budget conscious traveller but look elsewhere if you like a bit of luxury.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is located outside of town within a fiive minute walk to the major sites. The building is clean and our room was adequate although fitted for handicapped access. The free WiFi was unusable unfortunately and the only alternative was an Edge connection on the Orange network. Plan on not using your smart phone or tablet for any data intensive work.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PJJPJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Run by a very sympathetic family, a hotel where one feels at home and is really treated as a guest. Not one of the many hotels in a chain run according to standards that are identical all over France, but a bit impersonal. Comfortable although sober. Quiet location very close to the centre of the town. Easy and safe parking. Excellent croissants at breakfast. Excellent price quality relation.

Jacques Tibau

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacques T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I am writing this review to give more details about the location and value, although I didn't stay here, but plan to next year.

As rambling roses points out, you are in a meadow and park. However, it is only a five minute walk to the bus station, and the center of town, and another two or three minute walk to the abbey ( which is on the opposite end of this beautiful, small medieval city). The small bridge is right outside the walls, and the hotel another minute - so it is very convenient if you are on foot, also.

I met some folks staying here, and liked it much better than the overpriced Hotel de Bourgogne, where I was staying. However, they were full, to my disappointment. So I didn't stay, but feel I saw enough to recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
1  Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

My husband and I wanted to visit the world-famous religious community in the tiny hamlet of Taize. Cluny was the closest town to Taize with restaurants, grocery store and hotels. We drove around Cluny looking for a place to stay and found the Saint Odilon. It was wonderful!
We particularly appreciated its quiet country charm as our window opened out onto a meadow. On the other side of the street is an actual park.
The car park was spacious and free. Although the St. Odilon isn't in Cluny proper it is just a very short walk over a small bridge, so it was extremely convenient to walk into town (and saved us the bother of finding parking when we got to town). The staff spoke English. The wi-fi in our room was free. Television reception was good.
Our room was large and included a small refrigerator. The bathroom was small, but well-appointed. Everything was very clean and very quiet.
We stayed for two nights and would have cheerfully stayed for two more nights, but the hotel was already fully booked for those nights.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank RamblingRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews