We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable surprise, great couples retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Browning Bros. Glamping
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the very cosy Shepherds Hut for two nights which was ideal for a couple.

Accommodation - Bed was a very comfortable double and very spacious. Not the biggest inside the hut but spent most of the time outside as we got lucky with the weather. Cute rugs along the floor and nicely decorated for a small room very quirky. Search for spiders before sleeping Large communal tent for ping pong, table football and board games provided if the weather doesn't hold out.
Barn brasserie less than 100 metres down the road was incredible, book in advance very easy via the website.

Facilities - Three toilets and three showers all in shed type buildings with locks, all standard and showers were warm and were cleaned daily, bring flip flops for easier changing. Communal kitchen and eating area has everything you would need down to the last detail. Large fridges for barbecue food and there are cookers if weather doesn't allow.
Didn't see much of the hosts but there were mobile numbers to call if assistance was needed. Fire pits and tables located outside every room/tent for cold weather, fire wood purchasable from hosts and bring disposable barbecues!

Location - Beautifully decorated entrance and had a nice rural covering of forest which has a safe feeling about it. Nothing overgrown and grass was even cut very short! Car park available for larger groups too and very easily located if you're coming off the A12. Colchester zoo 15 minute drive away for a nice day out.

Would definitely recommend to friends and family and we will return!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chris_cpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 7 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

What an amazing weekend. We arrived to be guided in by Nat who was very helpful.
The site is perfect, they have it spot on...just the right amount of yurts,tents etc there.
The showers,toilets and kitchen are spotless and clean.
I have never been camping but glamping is so different.
We were allowed to decorate our yurt for our friends birthday surprise.
The lovely Nat and Helen even helped us out with the surprise birthday cake and bottle of prosecco.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Good tents, well kept and charming place. Very friendly owners. It can get very cold at nights in the tents and super hot in the day in summer. Maybe a microwave in the communal kitchen would be a plus? Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boliraniloute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Lovely setting, great facilities, welcoming hosts - we had a great experience staying here for a couple of days - not long enough and we are looking forward to coming back again soon. Visited West Mersea and had a delicious lunch at The Company Shed. Also had some good food at local pubs nearby. Best of all, 2 sons had a great time with not a screen in sight.......

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slr5815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We hired the whole campsite for my sisters hen do. The venue and location was perfect. Nat was so helpful in the lead up to the weekend and on the weekend itself and helped to arrange a variety of different activities of our choice. The facilities were ideal and all the dwellings were gorgeous, well presented and clean. We had an amazing weekend and couldn't have asked for anything better! Highly recommend visiting and an ideal hen do venue!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank chloecamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Browning Bros. Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browning Bros. Glamping

Address: Brook Road, Great Tey, Colchester CO6 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Great Tey
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Great Tey
Price Range: €39 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the option of either a luxury bell tent which sleeps up to 4 people, a converted grain silo for 2 or Shepherd's Hut for 2 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Browning Bros. Glamping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing