We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lion's Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lionheart Guest House
Ranked #3 of 13 Lion's Head B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed in the Lionheart bed and breakfast for 2 nights in September. The owner met us on arrival and was efficient and business-like with us. However, despite having been informed by email when we booked, she had forgotten that we were vegetarian and was quite flustered about what she could do for our breakfast. I suppose I could do a flan without the meat in it, she said. We took a look at the other flans at breakfast and they had exactly the same as us, but with little bits of chopped up ham mixed in. What's all the fuss about? Is it so complicated to prepare meat free meals? The breakfast arrangements were a bit strange, as it's a self service, arrangement in an adjoining kitchen, shared by all the rooms in the main house. Overall, it was OK, but the coffee was terrible. The machine was very complicated and whatever brand of coffee they used certainly wasn't the Folgers it claimed to be on the tub. They must have refilled the tub with something cheap and nasty. I've never tasted such bad coffee before. We had tea instead.
The bed was big and comfortable. The room was clean and large. The bathroom was also a good size, although the shower was pathetic with barely a trickle of water and a terrible handset. Also, they only provide "industrial" grade liquid soap, which smells bad. is real soap so much more expensive? There are also liquid soaps available which smell nice.
The owners seem to be taking cheap short-cuts on things, which is a shame as it gives a bad impression of the place. If they could just pay a little more attention to these details, such as the food, the coffee and the bathroom facilities, this would have been a really good place to stay. As it is, I can only say it is average and won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: The West Indies room has an accessible bathroom, but is close to the kitchen so can be noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GMW1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

This is a guest house with rooms of various size and a large shared kitchen and living room. We had room 1, on the main floor. The best thing about this room is the small adjoining deck, which is also elves as a separate entrance. The house is decorated in a Victorian style. It's quite dark and cool inside, partly due to the many trees on the property. The trimming of lower branches would let in a bit of sunlight. The owners are very nice and we found the other guests to be congenial.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Walkingsneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

My husband and I stayed at Lionheart over MLK weekend and will definitely stay there again! The Far East room was lovely and I enjoyed the luxurious bathtub and access to the hot tub. We were the only ones staying there, since the winter season is quiet, so I can't vouch for the noise level during peak times, but the food was great and Doug had great advice on local hikes. Plus, he really helped us out when we encountered car issues - really above and beyond service! Thanks so much for a lovely weekend, Lionheart!

Room Tip: Far East is on the end, so it would have the least noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Lionheart Guest House and B & B- welcoming, relaxing, a slice of Heaven, wonderful inn keepers who have thought of everything to make our stay great, a quick drive from Tobermory. Loved the Guest House with beautiful gardens. Better than staying in Tobermory!!!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank onvacation123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We loved our stay in the Central Africa Room. Brilliant location for exploring both Lionshead and Tobermory. Would not hesitate to stay again in the future if we are ever back in that part of the world. Doug a genuinely lovely bloke. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a base to explore the area. Clean, tidy and friendly. Fab breakfasts too! (Lionshead itself is a beautiful spot - would recommend checking out the lighthouse and harbour.)

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lion's Head hotels
5.4 km away
The Purple Frog Bed and Breakfast
11.6 km away
MellowOut B&B
MellowOut B&B
#4 of 13 in Lion's Head
28 reviews
13.9 km away
Cape Chin Bed and Breakfast
Cape Chin Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Lion's Head
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Fitz Hostel
The Fitz Hostel
#1 of 3 in Lion's Head
17 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Lionheart Guesthouse and B&B
#3 of 3 in Lion's Head
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lionheart Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lionheart Guest House

Address: 89 Main Street, Lion's Head, Ontario N0H 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Bruce Peninsula > Lion's Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lion's Head
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing