We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
202
70
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
70
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lion walk two nights comfortable bed enjoyed our stay unique experience lion cubs day trip swimming pool three days gambia experience border crossing staff were very friendly dining area air conditioning mosquito net a wonderful place to stay welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We spent one night with kids. They were amazed on how the animals came next to the Lodge's pool. The only pity is that in Senegal (or at least in Fathala) there is not a big variety of animal species. But for the kids is great. The Lodge is awsome.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marylig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathala, General Manager at Fathala Wildlife Reserve & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your visit to to Fathala Wildlife Reserve and Lodge.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the children.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Fathala Wildlife Reserve and Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

After over 30 years visiting the Gambia this was my first venture to Fathala with a group totalling 26. The company met us in Barra which enabled us to cross the river as foot passengers. Just over half an hour to the border (make sure you have an immigration form) and then another 5 minutes takes you to Fathala. We then spent two and a half hours touring the reserve in search of game and we werent disappointed. A variety of antelope, zebra, giraffes, water buffalo and dozens of warthogs graced our presence. Add in the bird life, including an ostrich and it was a successful trip. Far exceeds anything in the UK when the animals are in a more realistic environment. We finished off with some lunch which although tasty is very expensive. A Gambian beer is 280 dalasi, in the supermarkets of Kololi it is just 50D.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Gordon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathala, Manager at Fathala Wildlife Reserve & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear Gordon,

Thank you for your feedback on your visit to Fathala Wildlife Reserve and Lodge.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, seeing the animals and lunch.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Fathala Wildlife Reserve and Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We weren't quite sure what to expect when we booked this holiday. We have been to Gambia several times but had never made it across on the ferry to Senegal because of the weather, ferry breakdown, etc. It seems that most visitors only come for a day trip, or stay for 2-3 nights. We were unusual because we wanted to stay for 2 weeks. And I'm glad we did. It was fantastic. The accommodation in the large spacious tent was great: a huge bed; twin sinks; free standing bath and double outdoor showers plus air-conditioning and mosquito netting (although there was none in evidence.) The food was terrific. At breakfast there was a choice of various fruit juices, cereals, as well as bread for toast, pastries, etc and fresh fruit. Then you could order eggs in whatever form you wanted them cooked with bacon, mushrooms, etc. It certainly set us up for the day. There was also coffee and various teas but I have to confess I've had better coffee! Breakfast was served from 7 - 11am so there was plenty of time to go on an early morning trip e.g. bird safari, and be back for a late breakfast.
Dinner was served from 7 to 10pm and consisted of 3 courses. The quality of the food and its presentation was first class. The chef often came out to check on the guests and we were very pleased with how the they coped with my wife requiring wheat-free products. There was a reasonable selection of wines and other alcoholic drinks and the local beers are highly recommended based on my experience. There was a camp-fire lit outside the dining area every night which was terrific.
We went on the 'Walk with lions' trip which was far better than we expected and was most enjoyable. We did the 'Bird Safari" twice which was also good value for money with a very knowledgeable guide named Mamado.
There were (animal) visitors to the water hole throughout the day but primarily in the early morning and evenings. Animals included a rhinoceros (called Kevin), zebra, Lord Derby (or Giant) Eland, water buck, warthogs, antelope, 2 types of monkey, etc as well as a great range of birds including Palm-Nut Vulture, Abyssinian Roller, Blue-Bellied Roller, Long Tailed Starlings. etc. We also saw Buffalo and Giraffes during our stay but not at the water hole.
Overall, a tremendous place to stay with friendly, helpful staff and a great place just to relax when you are not spotting birds and wildlife.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Fergalcatski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathala, Manager at Fathala Wildlife Reserve & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Fathala Wildlife Reserve and Lodge.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. Thank you for your feedback on the staff and service, this motivates us to give our best for all our guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Fathala Wildlife Reserve and Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Sadly very disappointed with our stay at Fathala Wildlife Reserve. The accommodation was very good (but should be given the cost), however, to describe this as a "safari" destination is a breach of the trades descriptions act in my opinion. Wildlife is very limited. "Game" drive expensive and guide poor. Can recommend the soup but main course at dinner either undercooked or overcooked...had far better, and cheaper, at small b&b and ecolodge in the Gambia

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jbuckl_401117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathala, Manager at Fathala Wildlife Reserve & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Fathala Wildlife Reserve and Lodge.

I am disappointed to hear that you found your stay to be lacking. Unfortunately as you did not mention your complaints with dinner, we had no way of knowing that you were unhappy. If we had, we would have tried our best to improve the experience for you.

We always strive to provide the best service possible at all times

Kind Regards
Fathala Wildlife Reserve and Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights at Fathala, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It’s not the place to come for intense wildlife experiences, but we knew that before we came. We were more interested in the birds. We enjoyed the game drive with Mamadou, whose bird knowledge was excellent. Jerry accompanied us on our morning bird walk and mangrove sundowner, and also did a great job with the birds. The guides and restaurant staff were very friendly and pleasant, but we saw little of the other staff. An occasional greeting from the general manager would be a welcome occurrence.

We loved the tents, and the communal area in the lodge - it’s very atmospheric. I even swam in the pool.

Made the mistake of booking a flight back to London on the day we left Fathala - it’s a long trip. Left the lodge at 8.15, had a long wait for the ferry then only a very short time to collect our luggage before heading for the chaos that is Banjul airport. We arrived at our airport hotel at Gatwick at 11pm. Would have been better to stay in Banjul for another night.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank travelalways255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fathala, Manager at Fathala Wildlife Reserve & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Fathala Wildlife Reserve and Lodge.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Luxury tents and the activities.
Thank you for your feedback on the staff, this helps us motivate and improve.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Fathala Wildlife Reserve and Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews