We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Godley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Godley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I wish I read Tripadvisor first. There was no secure way to ventilate the room at night. The noise levels from other rooms was disturbing. ie water pipes, bumping, voices. The decor was tired and worn. The floor really creaked and we had to arrange the furniture so we could creep round at night and not to wake each other. I would not recommend it and won't go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koolcazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    67
    115
    114
    174
See reviews for
87
258
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

It's interesting that our main complaints have already been listed multiple times before on this site. Stained bed covers (old stains and many of them) and the old favourite - blood. They tried to hide the blood stains on the towel by turning it around on the rail. Also, what was with the old plastic garden chair sitting in the shower?? The pungent smell that we couldn't air out? We decided that skipping a shower for that morning was more hygienic than having one in there.

We expected drab décor for $100AU (which we certainly got) but blood stains are sub-human. Thankfully, we did not find pubic hair but it really doesn't surprise me that somebody else on this site did. This place is disgusting and should be avoided at all costs.

The fact that they are repeatedly getting complaints about the same things and this site is full of appalling reviews about the same things strongly suggests that the people who run this nasty little filth-ridden hovel simply don't care.

It's definitely worth paying extra to stay in one of the other hotels next to the lake and if you can't afford it, just drive straight through Lake Tekapo and find somewhere else. Better that than being exposed to the remnants of other peoples' blood and other unknown bodily fluids.

Shame on you, Godley. The South Island is a beautiful part of the world and all you are doing is scaring people away from that part of it.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Debu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Absolutely disgusting place - you'd be better off sleeping in a cardboard box on the street! As soon as we opened the door we were met with what I can only describe as the same smell of a dog after a flea bath that was so strong it was probably what was causing the paint to peel off the walls! Tried to open the windows to let the smell out only to discover that none of their windows are able to be opened anyway! The room was filthy with stains all over the bedding and mounds of dust everywhere. Considered having a shower as we had spent the whole day travelling but swiftly reconsidered after unravelling a towel that was so conveniently folded the other way to hide the blood splatter that covered over half of it! Don't even bother going unless you're there to shut it down or possibly burn it to the ground as there's nothing that will save this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank dyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

there were dirty stains on the bed linen, there was no ventilation in room or any opening window we had to leave slide door open and hope that no-one came in our room from the balcony,the walls were dirty,the carpet was faded and stretched, the skirting boards were filthy especially under heater drawers and luggage rack, the showerhead needs cleaned or repaced as hardly any water comes out, broken tile in bathroom, curtain hooks broken so curtain hangs down,curtains are very faded and horrible.There was a pile of mould or fly dirt in corner of ceiling. The room was very shabby, we were led to believe we were paying top dollar for the best rooms.

Room Tip: Do Not Stay At The Godley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We booked two rooms online from Australia based on the rating in a well known travel publication. We were not expecting much but when we arrived we were appalled! There are no words that can describe this facility other than DON'T STAY THERE!
We took one look at both rooms and immediately left, booking two lovely apartments at Peppers Resort, more than we had planned for but definitely in keeping with our previous accomodation at St Clair Beach Resort in Dunedin.
We took photos just to show people how bad it was, they will come in handy for the dispute we will have when we cancel the payment. Fawlty Towers would be far preferable than this sorry joke. I actually felt sorry for a bus load of Japanese tourists who were checking in. I will be reporting this pigsty to the New Zealand tourist folks with a recommendation they try to shut it down. What an appalling advertisement for New Zealand tourism!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DobroDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,587 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
658 reviews
1.6 km away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
344 reviews
0.5 km away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
146 reviews
0.4 km away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Godley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Godley Hotel

Property: The Godley Hotel
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Godley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the lake, overlooking the lake and surrounding mountains, the Godley Hotel offers comfortable and clean rooms in a beautiful and central location. It is a country style hotel with friendly staff and great service. Just 1.5 hours driving time from Aoraki Mt Cook National Park and 3 hours from Christchurch and Queenstown, the hotel is also only 40 minutes' drive from local skifields. The Church of Good Shepherd, the Sheepdog Statue, and all the restaurants and bars are within walking distance. Just a short distance away you can also find our beautiful tracks and walkways, world-class skiing, horse trekking, as well as the Tekapo Springs where you can enjoy an earth-fed natural hot spring bath and Mt John Observatory where you can view the galaxy of stars. With the wide range of outdoor activities available in Lake Tekapo, the convenience of the Godley Hotel makes it a great choice for the region. The hotel has a large restaurant and cosy bar with great Food and Beverage menu for you to choose, the hotel also offers indoor spa pool, outdoor swimming pool and a pool table for you to enjoy. A warm welcome from all of us at the Godley Hotel and we hope you enjoy your visit in the beautiful Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Godley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godley Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing