We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe I'm spoiled but...”
Review of Karaibes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karaibes Hotel
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Le Gosier
Reviewed 10 February 2017

...I can't remember staying in a worse hotel. At the end of our vacation, our flight home was cancelled so the airline put up many of the passengers at this hotel, which was a benefit that I know not every airline will provide. They bussed us to the hotel and picked us up in the morning. That was great. I can understand, however, why this hotel was one of the few that had vacancies for so many people. We were placed in an out building that had an "apartment" with a full kitchen, a bed in a dining area, and no real window. It was clean, but extremely sparse. Only working lighting was overhead, and I felt like I was in a cell. Nearby are two resort hotels with beautiful amenities. This is not one of them.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Revfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel K, Directeur général at Karaibes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hello,
It was nice receiving you in this emergency case, you were probably very tired, and stress full by the cancellation of your flight.
Staying just a few hours, it's difficult to really appreciate the apartment, and his advantage.
Hope you will come back soon, to really enjoy it.
Best regards,

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 175 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
158
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. It's a basic hotel, nothing fancy. The rooms have AC, TV, queen bed, rooms are very small, the bathroom are clean. They only give soap, no shampoo, no conditioner. This hotel is not up to the American standard, it is mostly for European (French). The pool is small and located on the side of the hotel, kind of hidden between 4 walls. The water was too cold so we did not swim there. There were no lights in the hallways to get to your room. The staffs are nice but nothing more. They charge €5 per day for the internet but we did not use their wifi. I wish they include wifi to their customers. There are plenty of restaurants around (walking distance). The beach which is 4mns walk from the hotel is 'acceptable' the water has rocks and lot of seaweed, it is also very dirty and smelly. There are other hotels using the same beach. We did not swim there, there are much better beaches in Guadeloupe.
Overall the hotel is just 'acceptable', feel cheap, nothing more. I would probably not return to this hotel as it is too basic for us.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel K, Directeur général at Karaibes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments. next time if you wish to stay longer we recommend you to book a apartment. there are more spacious and equipped with kitchen.
Concerning the beaches there are 3 others in 1 km from the hotel.

See You
Julie

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Nice clean small room, definitely a budget hotel. The location is nice, in the hotel area of Le Gosier, right next to the majority of hotels in the town and near restaurants, bars, and a small beach. The beautiful La Datcha beach is a quick 15 minute away.
They offer a breakfast for an added fee, I don't recommend getting this as its just a croissant and some bread (not worth 8.50).
You have to pay extra (5 euro) for wifi which is not great.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor-I wouldn't have wanted to stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel K, Directeur général at Karaibes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments and see you soon.

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Took 20 minutes to check in with 2 people in line. Front desk with an attitude. Most guests are French and chain smoke. There are several marginal but expensive restaurants nearby. Also prostitutes if that's what you want. Limited parking. Locals do not like this property. Don't be fooled by photos. The "upgrades" are nailed into place with dozens of holes in the drywall allowing many roaches to greet you every night. Lights are missing with holes in the wall.

Room Tip: stay away.higher floors have fewer roaches and rats
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel K, Directeur général at Karaibes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hello,
Thank you to let your comments,
Your check-in was probably long, but each customer needs time to be well welcomed. We do our best to be quick and good.

In front of the hotel there are 7 restaurants, bars, grilled chicken, pizza for all prices, and tastes... take your time for a best lecture of there propositions.

The picture on your website are reality. we do not understand the dozens of holes ......

the hotel is in the hart of a touristic area, and we receive a lot of families, so we don't understand your remarks...

Best regards,

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

I had no other choice because of last minute booking by my company.
The night team is very welcoming. The lady at the front desk was great.
Roachs in the room, tv barely worked during the stay. No blanket available.
Breakfast platter ordered for 6.30 because I had to leave early but nothing. Instead we were received by an employee with a cigarette in his mouth, both mornings, very rough, rude and arrogant! Very bad service.
I am not here for leisure but for work.. but it's always a bad experience at this place.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Meliya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Gosier hotels
1 km away
La Maison Creole
La Maison Creole
#3 of 23 in Le Gosier
160 reviews
8.9 km away
Cap Sud Caraibes
Cap Sud Caraibes
#8 of 23 in Le Gosier
54 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
Village Soleil
Village Soleil
#15 of 23 in Le Gosier
89 reviews
0.1 km away
Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaibes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaibes Hotel

Address: Pointe de La Verdure | Route des hotels, Le Gosier 97190, Guadeloupe
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Le Gosier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Le Gosier
Price Range: €70 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Karaibes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KARAIBES HOTEL** is a 2 star rated hotel. It combines modern and creole décor. 66 rooms with renovated standard rooms. It is ideal and pleasant accommodation for people on vacation, business trips or on transit in Guadeloupe. The hotel is situated in the Pointe de la Verdure area which is the heart of the tourist zone in Gosier, in Guadeloupe F.W.I.. The hotel offers Breakfast (at extra cost), swimming pool, meeting room, automatic laundry, and other services. The first beach is located 150m walking distance from the hotel. restaurants and grocery store at 25 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Karaibes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaibes Hotel Guadeloupe/Le Gosier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing