We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$197
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Priceline
US$197
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/04/21
Destinia.com
US$197
US$141
View deal
SAVE US$56
Free cancellation until 21/04/21
eDreamsUS$177
Booking.comUS$177
StayForLongUS$150
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
83
222
162
86
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
222
162
86
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brie au chocolat breakfast was included coffee maker family holiday beach towels nice swimming pool basse terre lovely beach dinner buffet yogurt balcony kitchenette ans island accommodations guadeloupe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2020

We choosed this hotel because of its location on the beach, not too far from the Marina, nice staff, very friendly,
BUT: they make prices to the local people to fill the hotel during week end and then the mess begins. Overcrowded pool, the breakfast arena becomes a long queue as they don't take the initiative too dubble the buffet. In a corona period wearing the mask at the buffet is ok but not with interminable queues. The buffet itselve is simple to'resume : correct and everday the same . They annonce two restaurants during the day, but nothing open while the hotel is complete every week-end. Non-résidents use the beach and the too small parking and succeed to enter the "private" pool.
The day of check inn our room was dirty while they also tell doing the necessary désinfection because of corona. No control about people using the facilites, we saw Guy's coming inn just to check . The kitchens on the terraces, however usefull need to be refurbished. In fact many pictures on the website do not fit with the reality. We didnt't get what we excpected. The agglomérate board bedspring needed to be change as the old one was broken , so the sleep quality was affected the 3 first nights .

Room tip: Corner suites for the view
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Didier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020 via mobile

This is a 3 star hotel in desperate need of renovations.

Note* this island is All French....staff ,restaurants etc.. very very few people speak or understand English.

The perks : 1.) the front desk staff...AMAZING. Livio was awesome thank you . 2.) It is in walking distance to some great restaurants and a small casino. 3.) the small nice beach is great when raked.

Other than a few glitches, over all nice stay.

This place has 3 different buildings with only 3 floors on each.
The one that houses the front desk and restaurant is Alpinia. The horseshoe shaped one that surrounds the pool is Hibiscus and the the other long one with no views is Ixora. See pictures

Our room we booked was unavailable for the 1st night so we had room 207 in Ixora building. It was dated and need of repair with rusty pots and no view. (See pics) They said we would have the room till ours was available the next day. Well .... the other guests checked out late and they were kicking us out of our room which left us for 45 min with our luggage in the lobby. I was not happy ,the only reprieve was they upgraded us to ocean front .

Room: 144 ocean front on the ground floor in the Hibiscus building. The room was a little run down but the view was AMAZING.
Water pressure,really good with lots of hot water. No shampoo or conditioner in the room had to ask the maid ,just a small hand soaps with no soap dish. Hair dryer in the bedroom with a short cord and not powerful enough for thick long hair. Always looking for towels. The bed was hard with just a sheet ,had to ask for blanket ( it was ratty) oh well beggars can’t be choosers. Wifi worked best on patio not great in the room. No kettle but it had a coffee maker, a small safe.
On the balcony there is a fridge , sink, stove ,and microwave.
Walls are thin and can hear everything. Ground floor rooms have people walking infront to get to the play area. And you can hear the jet skis coming and going all day.
The maid service was good thank you Yanna.

Pool: well kept and clean ,mostly kids.

Beach:
beach towels you get from the front desk and change them out there as well. A lot of seaweed all week washing up on the shore it was only raked 2x. That could of made a big difference if it was done every day. The right side was smoother and easier to get in ,less rocks and shells and no dip. It was pretty calm not the clearest when I was there.
Not anything to see ,not the best for snorkeling.
Shower by the beach was not working always bringing sand back to the room.
Beach chairs and umbrellas: are free for guests and for rent for $5.00 for others . Really busy on the weekends hard to get an umbrella for shade . I never seen anyone collecting or checking the beach . I had told the front desk 2x about the problem and nothing was done about it.

Breakfast was included: It is buffet style and the same every day and if your not there by 9:15- 9:30 mostly everything is gone. You had to get a tray and put it away when you were done. The had open jams sometimes bugs crawling over them and birds drinking from them. The coffee was on the strong side ,a couple different teas , cocoa powder and hot water , yoghurt , fruit cocktail, 2 different juices, runny cold scrambled eggs , either raw or crunchy bacon , mini sausage, boiled eggs and eggs for you to boil your self for a softer egg, Brie and ham, croissants ( the best thing offered for breakfast) chocolate pastry ,baguettes, white and whole wheat bread for toast (no peanut butter) , 2 cereals and milk and some cut up fruit and if your lucky there may be a banana left. I asked for some tomatoes and they said no even though they serve them for lunch in the same spot! They seemed annoyed when I asked for a fork (cuz there was none ) or more eggs and was told no more . I even translated my request to French ( thanks to an app) thinking maybe they didn’t understand. Nope!!! No luck.

Hotel Gift shop: great prices to get water ,beer souvenirs.

Filibuster: for lunch only till 2-2:30 then drinks only. Ate there 2x and found that it seemed as though French speaking were preferred and served before me. I ordered a ham sandwich and fries and 2 people behind me got their orders before mine, I had to ask where mine was and seemed annoyed when they had to put down more fries. The nachos were so stale and the guacamole tasted like a paste.

Dinner buffet we checked out a few times but passed because the restaurants close by had better priced food and we had a lot of great dinners else where like La Verdure (check out my reviews on them and pics)

No entertainment here at night

All in all , great view from the room .wish I was on a higher floor. Beach was nice, and the staff at the front desk and maids were really great.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adventure809910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Canella Beach Hotel in Guadeloupe is a solid 3+ star resort and a great value . It is located in Gosier- convenient to the airport, in a quiet waterfront section of Rue des Hotels. Among Canella Beach's many strengths is that it has a lovely beach front on the Carib Sea ( not many Gosier hotels do) - with white sand, complimentary sun loungers & umbrellas, & access to a tasty snack shop. The beach is cleaned & groomed every morning.

Hotel rooms are most comfortable, nicely decorated, & roomy Every room has a kitchenette/balcony- which is a nice feature. Our accommodations were in a Superior Studio suite- with a fabulous ocean view.

The grounds/ gardens are well maintained & nicely planted with tropical foliage. The pool is good sized, kept very clean ( & also offers a hot tub/spa).& is surrounded by nice pool loungers The hotel provides plush beach towels for their guests.

A most complete breakfast buffet is included in the room rate- and features fresh local fruits, pane au chocolat, croissants, & french rolls- and toast- as well as eggs (scrambled soft boiled or hard boiled), breakfast meats, cereals, brie, tropical jellies, yogurts, fruit juices, & coffee(-plus the makings for cafe au lait).

There is noticeable on going efforts to improve / paint -replaster exteriors of the hotel- which is painted in bright tropical colors

Reliable taxi services can be arranged through the hotel for airport transfers- as well as for travels around the island.

A plaza offering car rentals/ a small grocery shop (epicerie)/ gift shop/ & restaurants is an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel. There are many fine restaurants in the Gosier area- offering delicious Carib/ French/Creole cooking which we greatly enjoyed

Available is an Excursion Director ( Dina) who is at the hotel Mon- Fri /8-10am - who offers excellent tours around Guadeloupe We booked full day tours of Grande Terre, Basse Terre, a snorkeling 1/2 day trip, and visited the very fine Aquarium, & Zoo /Botanical Gardens. All were excellent- well done, & even offered in English(in this piece of France).

The staff at Canella Beach is most pleasant, reliable, & helpful.
Our whole experience in Guadeloupe- centered at Canella Beach Hotel -was a tropical delight! Tres Bon!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcardina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

We enjoyed our stay with you. The beach was wonderful and the water lovely. Our balcony gave us a great view. We were unprepared for there being no shampoo and know next time to bring some. Most hotels provide all that. The only thing I found disturbing was the number of birds hopping on the dining tables. One stole a piece of my bacon.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rpeaco717731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020 via mobile

Loved this hotel ! Although we had asked for a superior room with ocean view the room we were given at first was a superior room but with no view at all the roof of a garage or something! Went back to reception immediately and explained this was not what we were expecting and asked for any other room with a view even if we had to pay more they found us a beautiful room with an awesome view the room was spotless and the outdoor kitchenette well equiped! It was technically a standard room but I think the only difference is the furniture is wicker instead of wood and I like wicker better! The breakfast buffet included was delicious, the grounds the beach the staff are all absolutely lovely! Special thanks to Livio at the front desk your incredible customer service ans smile thanks for making us feel like welcome guests at your hotel on a last note the dinner buffet at the hotel restaurant was the best meal we had during our stay !

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank JohanneD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews