We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The George(Bridgnorth)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Falcon Hotel(Bridgnorth)
US$121
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
The Down Inn(Bridgnorth)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dinney(Chelmarsh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Friars(Bridgnorth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bear Inn(Bridgnorth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bassa Villa(Bridgnorth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
11
10
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
10
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal alehigh streetthe pubbreweryaleskettlepubssaturdaybeer
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I have known the pub all my life and every time I have been there it was a nice experience. The food is not exactly perfect but is still good. The wifi is always GPRS but it will do. The place is next to peepo pizza and bar. Travel England is 3 star.
The staff are nice. One member of staff I would like to point out is Katie Swain, she is funny and kind and always up for a laugh.
The pub serves local beers, E.G: HPA is a good beer for winter visits. One major point is you need to go up to the bar to order things. It is a 17 century pub so try not to damage anything. The men's toilets are outside while ladies are inside.
There are leaflets about the place dotting around.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Zabbi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015

The pub is 17th cent so we were not expecting "Trendy" We had a room at the front with a view of the high st. It was a large room with on suite (very loud shower pump and could have been cleaner) Carpet in the room was a bit tired and a quirky uneven floor but I think we'd all be a bit quirky and uneven at that age. Breakfast was good and staff helpful.The pub itself served real ale and the locals were lively and friendly. We enjoyed our 3 night stay. As it is a high street pub it was very close to all amenities.

Room Tip: The family room at the front had 2 single & a double bed but overlooks high st so could be a bit noisy. Rear rooms could be more peaceful
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ray h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

'Welcome to The Golden Lion!' - NOT!!!!
Terrible customer service,. miserable staff who obviously do not enjoy their jobs!
A drab room with the noisiest shower in the world and noisy neighbours. Then there's the breakfast! Sunday morning, served between 7-9am, we arrived for breakfast at 8.45 to be greeted with a 'grunt' from the woman serving breakfast. I had a full English with inedible bacon (reheated until leather like) sausages stuck together (reheated) coffee that was tasteless and cheap OJ. The toast was good though! And it was only the toast that I ate. I left the table in disgust.
My partner complained about the breakfast when he paid shortly after, but he wasn't asked the reason why etc. It was a miserable stay and I would not recommend!
The only good thing is the location, but there are other places to stay nearby and we will stay elsewhere when we revisit.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

If you are looking for an up to date trendy hotel room normally the size of a cardboard box, don't stay here. What you get is a large room in a very old building, so wonky, squeaky floors, single glazed sash windows over looking the High St if you are in the front rooms. Woodchip wall paper and 1970's furniture complete the picture. The paint work hasn't seen any decorator for a while, but the en suite is large with even a bath & hot water, something your wouldn't have got when this place was built. Staff were friendly, hardworking and helpful, the breakfast was large and plentiful. Enjoy the faded delights of these old pubs before they are all gone.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank hlodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015

I stayed here for one night and was astonished when arriving at the room to find stains on carpet mould in shower ..and an uneven floor that was dangerous .We were unable to open the window and we couldn't turn the heating down it was boiling ...the bedside lights didn't work and In Order to use the kettle you had to keep the button pressed in .....the wardrobe was an old cupboard ....we laughed about it as it was one night to be fair but the Carpark was chocablock and difficult to park in so all in all won't return .....The 2 points were for the breakfast which was okay .

Room Tip: They are probably all the same ..they all need refurbishment .
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank blondie3Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews