We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

The Golden Lion Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgnorth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Golden Lion Inn
Ranked #22 of 28 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Called in for a pint and a sandwich. We chose a hot pork sandwich, they were served with a side salad and apple sauce cost? We couldn't believe it £2-50! the pub was nice and warm and the staff very pleasant. The best pub sandwich we've ever had.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I have known the pub all my life and every time I have been there it was a nice experience. The food is not exactly perfect but is still good. The wifi is always GPRS but it will do. The place is next to peepo pizza and bar. Travel England is 3 star.
The staff are nice. One member of staff I would like to point out is Katie Swain, she is funny and kind and always up for a laugh.
The pub serves local beers, E.G: HPA is a good beer for winter visits. One major point is you need to go up to the bar to order things. It is a 17 century pub so try not to damage anything. The men's toilets are outside while ladies are inside.
There are leaflets about the place dotting around.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Zabbi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015

The pub is 17th cent so we were not expecting "Trendy" We had a room at the front with a view of the high st. It was a large room with on suite (very loud shower pump and could have been cleaner) Carpet in the room was a bit tired and a quirky uneven floor but I think we'd all be a bit quirky and uneven at that age. Breakfast was good and staff helpful.The pub itself served real ale and the locals were lively and friendly. We enjoyed our 3 night stay. As it is a high street pub it was very close to all amenities.

Room Tip: The family room at the front had 2 single & a double bed but overlooks high st so could be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ray h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

'Welcome to The Golden Lion!' - NOT!!!!
Terrible customer service,. miserable staff who obviously do not enjoy their jobs!
A drab room with the noisiest shower in the world and noisy neighbours. Then there's the breakfast! Sunday morning, served between 7-9am, we arrived for breakfast at 8.45 to be greeted with a 'grunt' from the woman serving breakfast. I had a full English with inedible bacon (reheated until leather like) sausages stuck together (reheated) coffee that was tasteless and cheap OJ. The toast was good though! And it was only the toast that I ate. I left the table in disgust.
My partner complained about the breakfast when he paid shortly after, but he wasn't asked the reason why etc. It was a miserable stay and I would not recommend!
The only good thing is the location, but there are other places to stay nearby and we will stay elsewhere when we revisit.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

If you are looking for an up to date trendy hotel room normally the size of a cardboard box, don't stay here. What you get is a large room in a very old building, so wonky, squeaky floors, single glazed sash windows over looking the High St if you are in the front rooms. Woodchip wall paper and 1970's furniture complete the picture. The paint work hasn't seen any decorator for a while, but the en suite is large with even a bath & hot water, something your wouldn't have got when this place was built. Staff were friendly, hardworking and helpful, the breakfast was large and plentiful. Enjoy the faded delights of these old pubs before they are all gone.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank hlodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
0.1 km away
The Friars
The Friars
#15 of 28 in Bridgnorth
79 reviews
5.9 km away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
178 reviews
4.1 km away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Swan Inn
Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Knowle Sands
147 reviews
4.8 km away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
222 reviews
0.8 km away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#6 of 28 in Bridgnorth
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Inn

Address: 83 High Street, Bridgnorth WV16 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing