We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend break”

The Golden Lion Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgnorth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Golden Lion Inn
Ranked #22 of 28 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 December 2015

The pub is 17th cent so we were not expecting "Trendy" We had a room at the front with a view of the high st. It was a large room with on suite (very loud shower pump and could have been cleaner) Carpet in the room was a bit tired and a quirky uneven floor but I think we'd all be a bit quirky and uneven at that age. Breakfast was good and staff helpful.The pub itself served real ale and the locals were lively and friendly. We enjoyed our 3 night stay. As it is a high street pub it was very close to all amenities.

Room Tip: The family room at the front had 2 single & a double bed but overlooks high st so could be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ray h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2015

'Welcome to The Golden Lion!' - NOT!!!!
Terrible customer service,. miserable staff who obviously do not enjoy their jobs!
A drab room with the noisiest shower in the world and noisy neighbours. Then there's the breakfast! Sunday morning, served between 7-9am, we arrived for breakfast at 8.45 to be greeted with a 'grunt' from the woman serving breakfast. I had a full English with inedible bacon (reheated until leather like) sausages stuck together (reheated) coffee that was tasteless and cheap OJ. The toast was good though! And it was only the toast that I ate. I left the table in disgust.
My partner complained about the breakfast when he paid shortly after, but he wasn't asked the reason why etc. It was a miserable stay and I would not recommend!
The only good thing is the location, but there are other places to stay nearby and we will stay elsewhere when we revisit.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

If you are looking for an up to date trendy hotel room normally the size of a cardboard box, don't stay here. What you get is a large room in a very old building, so wonky, squeaky floors, single glazed sash windows over looking the High St if you are in the front rooms. Woodchip wall paper and 1970's furniture complete the picture. The paint work hasn't seen any decorator for a while, but the en suite is large with even a bath & hot water, something your wouldn't have got when this place was built. Staff were friendly, hardworking and helpful, the breakfast was large and plentiful. Enjoy the faded delights of these old pubs before they are all gone.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank hlodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015

I stayed here for one night and was astonished when arriving at the room to find stains on carpet mould in shower ..and an uneven floor that was dangerous .We were unable to open the window and we couldn't turn the heating down it was boiling ...the bedside lights didn't work and In Order to use the kettle you had to keep the button pressed in .....the wardrobe was an old cupboard ....we laughed about it as it was one night to be fair but the Carpark was chocablock and difficult to park in so all in all won't return .....The 2 points were for the breakfast which was okay .

Room Tip: They are probably all the same ..they all need refurbishment .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank blondie3Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

This could be a lovely BB but unfortunately isn't very well maintained, My partner and I was very shocked when we walked into the room. I love oldie worldie buildings but this was just dirty and not at all cared for. Very disappointing!!! Oh and you have to check out at 10am (on a weekend too)
I mean, what is that all about??

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank LOUPIE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
0.1 km away
The Friars
The Friars
#15 of 28 in Bridgnorth
79 reviews
5.9 km away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
178 reviews
4.1 km away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Swan Inn
Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Knowle Sands
147 reviews
4.8 km away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
222 reviews
0.8 km away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#6 of 28 in Bridgnorth
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Inn

Address: 83 High Street, Bridgnorth WV16 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing