We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Norfolk Gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chloe's Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Heacham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PJ2156
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Norfolk Gem”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Along with my partner, I stayed at 'Chloe's Retreat' for a long weekend, thoroughly enjoying the house and its surroundings. Upon our arrival, we found the house to be well presented, beautifully furnished and in immaculate condition. Over the course of our weekend, we were blessed with fantastic, atypical British weather and were able to make the most of the well kept garden and its accompanying conservatory.

The house itself is particularly spacious, comprising of a large living room, two nicely sized bedrooms, a well-equipped kitchen, a charming conservatory and a modern bathroom. The added benefit of having a private, gated drive is also worth noting.

I'd also like to highlight the swift and efficient service we received after discovering a lightbulb had blown in the living room. Without any incovenience to us, the bulb was replaced within 20 minutes of contacting the telephone number provided.

We will definitely be revisiting 'Chloe's Retreat' in the very near future and have already recommended it to close friends who have expressed an interest in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review.We are pleased that you found it useful to have the service of the local caretaker .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecr2014
Ripley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not bad, but not good either!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

On paper this bungalow would seem to be an ideal holiday rental for a family, or dog owner. However what the description doesn't tell you is that the only entrance to the lovely big conservatory is through the main bedroom -not convenient when you want to let dogs out early in the morning, and you aren't the one sleeping in the main bedroom! There is no door on the kitchen, so if that is where your dogs normally sleep, be prepared for them wandering the hallway! The mattresses in the smaller room are appalling, every spring digs in you. If you want to sit in the conservatory wait for a nice day because the heater doesn't work, and the electric fire in the living room is decorative only! It should have been nice, but was actually just a bit disappointing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Phone numbers of the caretaker, who is local, are provided should any problem arise so they can be dealt with during your stay.
Response to comments:
• If you want to let dogs out in the morning there is a side gate to the garden – sleeping guests do not need to be disturbed.
• A stair gate will be provided for the kitchen.
• We will check the mattresses again but have had no previous complaints.
• The heater fuse in the conservatory blew and has been replaced (the caretaker could have resolved this on the day if a call had been made).
• The electric fire was checked and confirmed as working prior to your arrival and is still working!
The cleaner took 6 hours to clean the property following your stay – usually a two hour job. The kitchen and windows (paw marks in particular) were awful. The rotting cabbage left in the kitchen was not appreciated – nor was the clearing of your dog’s mess from both gardens.
These matters have been reported to the holiday company who on the strength of this have decided to take a deposit in future from all guests.
We provide a feedback form for all guests. These comments are at odds with all of our previous guests comments which totals over 70 with many guests returning two or even three times.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Comfortable Property”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lovely clean property. Very warm and comfortable. It was nice to have beds made and towels supplied! Owners had left milk in fridge and some chocolate shortcakes- such a nice touch, thank you. We were lucky to have such nice sunny weather, which made the lovely conservatory a nice place to sit and read! This Bungalow is also dog friendly, and our chocolate Labrador enjoyed her stay. We would certainly recommend this property to family and friends. Ann S

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quite location, close to the beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Glad that the little extras are appreciated,thank you for your kind response.
John and Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Superb very clean and modern well equipped and dog friendly in nice location ideal for Hunstanton and the surrounding area everything you could want a great Holiday was had will be back again Many Thanks Andy,Annette and Max the Dog

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was superb
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Your comments are very kind although we continue to try improving as we are only as good as our last review.
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanPrice...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really well appointed bungalow in a lovely village and ideal for West/North Norfolk discovery.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a Monday to Friday break at Chloe's retreat and can honesty say it exceeded our expectations.
A modest looking place from the outside but very well appointed within. Everything was clean and tidy, a nice little welcome of a box of chocolate fudge and some milk in the fridge. Excellent value.
We managed to convince our 13 & 11 year old daughters to walk to the beach, headed for south beach, 25 minutes later and we were having a hot chocolate in the Cafe there and nice stroll along to north beach and back home again.
We would recommend staying here with a small family, board games are available and plenty of seating with the lounge and the conservatory area.
Pubs, chip shop, curry house and Chinese all within walking distance, along with a Tesco metro just around the corner.
We managed to cram quite a lot in over our stay but I would highly recommend a trip to Wells-Next-Sea, what a great place, the sunshine helped but a lovely walk around the town and then out to the lifeboat launch at the start of the harbour inlet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thanks for your kind observations ,we will pass them on to our housekeeper .
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing