We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood heaven”
Review of O Buraco

O Buraco
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Portonovo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Galician restaurant, premium seafood. Located in the port area of ​​Porto-Novo, Restaurante O Buraco is a loving, family atmosphere where you can enjoy home cooking, our 35 years opening can confirm this. Enjoy a Rice Risotto with Scallops and Lobster, spectacular!
Reviewed 2 July 2017

The best restaurant we used in Portonovo. Were attracted by other TA reviews and they were spot on.Park in the free parking at the port and walk to the roundabout, just across the road is O Buraco.
Being very close to the port the authentic smell of fresh seafood is right outside. Very friendly and welcoming staff.
Navajas, Zamburinas, Pulpo, Pimientos de Padron, MIxed salad was a great start - the razor clams were amazing so highly recommended if never tried these. The mains of sole, cod and hake were exceptional and cooked perfectly. My hake was the best I have had, including many times in other parts of Spain, and definitely returning for more before we head home. Local albarino wine to have with it - very important !
The freshest seafood and at very reasonable prices. Was €160 for 6 people including beers and wine. For amazing seafood, don't try anywhere else in Portonovo, go here first.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PieEater7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teronacarballa, Director General at O Buraco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinion. Nos hace sentir muy valorados.esperamos su visita de nuevo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017

This little restaurant is tucked away on the coast road and takes a little bit of finding, but it is well worth it. It is very much a family run place, and when we arrived quite early the staff were tucking into their lunch. Always a good sign when the staff eat on their own restaurant. Little English spoken but the staff, particularly the matriarch, were very helpful in explaining things to us. Seaford is a speciality here and there was a large display of fresh product as you entered including some great looking crab. I particularly enjoyed the octopus starter I had, but there is meat - my wife had an enormous steak. One thing I would say is that I think a lot of the dishes look expensive, but they are really designed to share between a group or family. Overall a really good place to eat and we really felt at home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simont348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2017

Hi, many thanks for your review. We were pleased with your visit. If you come back to Portonovo we will be happy to see you again. You will be welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

We visited this place for the third year running. Never been disappointed- great seafood fresh and prepared as the locals do. Friendly owner and staff. Definitely coming back.

Thank JorgK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2017

Thanks for your visit and your review. We will be happy to see you again when you come back to Portonovo. Nice to meet you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent food on Portonovo area... Staff very friendly and average price... High quality sea food!!

One of the best restaurants without any doubt!!!

Thank brinkos20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We had been looking forward to trying this restaurant for a few days. The food lived up to expectations great chiporones to start and turbot cooked the Galician way for the main. Amanda had sole a la plancha which she said was the best she had tasted!

The front of house is friendly and helpful too! The only drawback is the proximity to a very loud and noisy fairground!!

Thank bugsymaloneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Buraco also viewed

Sanxenxo, Province of Pontevedra
Portonovo, Sanxenxo
 
Portonovo, Sanxenxo
Sanxenxo, Province of Pontevedra
 
Portonovo, Sanxenxo
Portonovo, Sanxenxo
 

Been to O Buraco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing