We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant hotel”
Review of Hotel Merce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Merce
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

thought I would let people know what a lovely friendly hotel the Merce Hotel is.

Just returned from holiday there with my daughter, couldnt fault it, a friendly family run hotel.

Rooms cleaned everyday with clean towels. Room small but we didnt spend much time in it.

The pool area was great with a friendly barman called Anotnio.

We were also impressed with the entertainment everynight (apart from one night when the football was on) Short walk to the shops resturants and beach

We went into Barcelona by train easy to do.
Overall brill, we are booking again for next year, so that says it all.

Room Tip: ask for room with view and air con...even the church bells didnt bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    288
    124
    51
    37
See reviews for
177
296
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed here for a week. Just got back today. Got what we thought was a good deal on a half board basis. The hotel was full of students who did not care about anyone else. Dirty great picture signs by the rooftop swimming pool saying no diving as the sunbeds were VERY close to the pool. They took no notice and were jumping in and splashing everyone.
The room was ok but we had ants (4th floor), the shutter didn't work, the glass rattled, no lock on the toilet door and a light switch in the middle of the headboard at perfect height that when you turned over or moved the light would be turned on or off.
The food was a thing to behold. At best it was lukewarm and if not it was stone cold. We watched as a new tray of chips was put on the "hotplate". They were stone cold. The hotplate didn't work and kept nothing warm. The warmest food we had was toast and my wife was up all night one night with food poisoning from seafood.
The only thing i can say that was good was the reception staff and the cleaners

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevieb10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pineda de Mar hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have book the room in advace for quite long time and via booking.com where in the hotel description was written that we will have balcony and air condition in the room. When we arrived the hotel was ful and we got the room with no balcony with no air condition and the window that looks to the other room window and through this window other room neighbors coul easily got to the room while we are sleeping, the room was small and really unsafe. So we ve asked for another room with all faculties we paid for and found out that only 30 per. of rooms have air-condition and at the booking.com was a mistake in description, so without no fines we cancelled the booking and find another place to stay. So if you are lucky u get nice room in Merce its good value for money, clean and good food, but a bit far from the beach, the swimming pool is nice on the roof but a bit dirty because of a lot of people there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natysmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We booked this holiday as last minute cheapie. Had read lots of reviews about lots of hotels in lots of resorts (how did we manage before review websites were invented???) but chose this one as the overall feeling was good. We weren't disappointed. The room we were first given was one with an internal view, of a wall and air con pipes which wasn't so good, but we asked to be moved and were given a different room straight away with an outside view which was great. The room was quite small but adequate and it was clean and well kept as was the whole hotel.The food was excellent and plentiful and the hotel staff were always cheerful and polite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Just came back on the 2nd Sept 11. It was a great place staff very helpful and friendly Rooms are cleaned daily with clean towels. Train line nearby is great and very cheap to get to Barcalona.I will defently go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 315helen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pineda de Mar hotels
0.5 km away
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 km away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#2 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.1 km away
Golden Taurus Park Resort
Golden Taurus Park Resort
#1 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sorrabona Hotel
Sorrabona Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sabiote
Hotel Sabiote
#7 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.8 km away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merce

Property: Hotel Merce
Address: c/ Antoni Doltra, 2, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pineda de Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Pineda de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merce 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars family hotel located in Pineda de Mar, a tipycal quiet catalan coast village located in Costa de Barcelona, very near Barcelona and the Costa Brava beaches. Free Wi-fi in comoon rooms.Enjoy our panoramic swiming-pool. Daily night entertainment.During July and August free animation program (beach, canoes, children activities, etc.). All rooms with bath&shower, balcony, hair dryer and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merce Hotel Pineda De Mar
Merce Pineda De Mar
Hotel Merce Pineda De Mar, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing