We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
123
98
48
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
98
48
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice staymiddle ageshotel is beautifulstayed here for nightscosta bravaweddingcastlefireplaceparador
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

This a small hotel that look like a small castle near shops and restaurants. Room are quite large and clean. Front desk not so great and not helpful and we all had a hard time carrying luggages to the upper floors since this hotel has no elevators. Imagine carrying heavy luggages in a flight of stairs and no one to help you. There is only one person in the front desk and that it.
The wedding reception was held in this hotel and I have to mention they were great in handling everything. beautiful grounds and nice modern restaurant.Parking is very minimal and would probably only fit 10-12 vehicles.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JESACO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHotels, Director de Recepción at RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jesaco,

Thanks a lot for your kind review about Palau lo Mirador.

We would like to apologise for the lack of a lift, but our medieval structure does not allow it.
For this reason, we are studying how to fit it.

Moreover, we do normally offer help with the luggage.
If it was not offered, we do apologise.

Best Regards,
Reception Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

The royal suite was nice. Quite dark but nice character. Good size comfy bed. Lots of space in the bedroom and lounge area. So quiet at night. Unfortunately the hotel were unable to solve the awful smell of drains in the bathroom.They 'tried all sorts of products' and left us with joss sticks to burn. The smell was truly awful so we found ourselves holding our breath and using the bathroom for as short a time a possible. No showers. Shame because otherwise we had a nice stay here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHotels, Director de Recepción at RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear sophia27,
It was a pleasure to receive you in our hotel.
We are so happy to know you appreciated the space of ourv royl suite.
We are sorry for the inconvenience of the smell of drains in the bathroom. We will do our best to improve our services.

Best regards

Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is unique and building lovely, although a little like a museum in part with the old portraits etc. The room was nice and much more modern than the rest of the building. The bath/shower was in a glass box which didn't provide the most privacy but was unique! There was only one small rail, so there was not a lot of space to hang towels etc, which considering they try to lower impact on the environment buy only washing when needed would have been good to hang somewhere. There was nothing to make a drink with (other than the mini bar) which for the standard of hotel I would expect. The pool is small and nice, but sunbeds cheap and uncomfortable and the pool area is a little neglected. Restaurant was ok. There was a wedding on our last night, so there was some noise - including at night when the guests talked in the corridors. There was also no hot water on the last day or morning - I presumed the wedding guests may have used this but when asked I was told there was a technical fault. Again for the price of the hotel I wouldn't expect not to have a hot shower, but hopefully this was a one off. The location was good in the centre of a nice town and easy to drive to local places. A nice stay, just not fully sure it was worth the extra from what we would usually pay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHotels, Director de Recepción at RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Hannah S,

First of all thank you so much to choose our hotel as your holiday destination.
We are so happy you liked our building and its location.
We are sorry for the problem of the hot water we will do our best to improve our services.

Best regards

Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

This place appears to have ambitions to be like a Parador it seems, with the old castle history, but really it was let down considerably by the terrible service and the lack of facilities.

The room genuinely felt from the middle ages which was like being in history, but unfortunately situated two fllors up from the kitchen, which clearly had all the windows and doors open because they clattered and banged until 2am, dropping pots and pans and slamming the dishwasher door repeatedly.

There was no bar for pre-dinner drinks, and then the restaurant! We had been recommended the restaurant, but if that was the best in Torroella de Montgri, I hate to think what the others are like! The service was the worst I think I can remember. The serving staff talked amongst themselves for 15 minutes avoiding eye contact, then when they deigned to come and serve the teenager clearly had had zero training and knew nothing about anything, the menu, how to take an order, what to in any way!

Then the food, very variable. Some was nice, but the sirloin steak was a cheap bit of gristle that I had to send back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewPBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHotels, Director de Recepción at RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear AndrewPBaxter,

We are sorry if you had problems with the room and with the restaurant service. We will do our best in order to improve our service.

Best regards

Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Such a shame, on arrival lovely gardens, nice hotel we had high hopes for a good evening. On checking in it was clear that the two young girls on reception were irresponsible and unhelpful. Did not give clear directions to the room and looked at me like I had two heads when I asked where the bar was? Very strange for a hotel not to have a bar area?
We decided to eat in the restaurant but reception informed us that if we wanted a table we had to ask the waiter as it was not connected to the hotel? Surely they could work together to ensure a smooth service?
On arrival to Dinner, the waiting staff were untrained, lacking knowledge and orders had to be repeated several times, on gaining eye contact they would turn away purposely on more than one occasion. The duck was cooked perfectly but the steak was returned to the kitchen it was tough and grizzly. We went to our room, room 4. I was then kept awake until 1am as this room appears to be over the kitchen so I could hear people talking. The dishes being banged and clanked and music playing.
No tea making facilities and when I asked if that could be possible I was given two toothbrush holders as cups and apparently could get hot water from the nespresso machine which we couldn't work and had Spanish instructions. Woke in the morning to a foul smell of drains in the bathroom. Breakfast was a tray of bread, cakes on the table and no choice over what we wanted to eat. All in all a less than enjoyable evening and would not waste my money again.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Sarah3Slater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHotels, Director de Recepción at RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Sarah3Slater,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination. We are sos orry if you had problems with the dishes of the restaurant.
We will do our best to improve our services.

Best regards

Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews