We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a unique stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Dock House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porto Moniz, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

199levig
Funchal, Portugal
2 reviews
“What a unique stay”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

I simply loved to stay over. The location is absolutely great for a awesome and calm retreat. The 2 step away beautiful beach, the landscape, those sound of the waves, the local food and north coast of Madeira trip makes this propriety unique for rental to have so.
Definitely so recommend the Dock house.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margotd42...
1 review
“What a nice place!”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

A very cozy house with fantastic views over the north coast. Close to the sea and the mountains, is a fantastic retreat to end the days of island tours. Hope to return soon.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
1 review
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in August 2016

Is on the 1st place on my "dream places where i've been" list. <3

The house is amazing, the location wonderful, and in august the weather... magnific. = )

Good luck

Date of stay: August 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andersb77...
Valby, Denmark
1 review
“Unique location - little privacy”
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had 4 nice days in Seixal - and the service was great. The dock house is a charming and different place. We had not read the material too well, so it was a surprise to us that the whole house is one big room - the bedrooms having one open side to the downstairs room. We're sensitive sleepers, so we took an ekstra room at the nearby and inexpensive hotel. Situated on the dock, the house offers a fantastic opportunity to be living with and by the see. A drawback to this is that the dock is a public place day and night, which at two occasions meant interrupted sleep. The equipment is functional and Seixal offers a nice walk: Caminho do Chão da Ribeira and free natural pools. But the major attraction is the sea.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Thank you so much! Hope to see you soon! Best regards, Joana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Not For Us”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

By the time we arrived here we had travelled a lot, had colds and were in need of rest and relaxation, so that my colour my review.

I should have paid much more attention to a review posted here on TA in January 2017 saying that this would be a good spot for adventurous travellers, not for a relaxing get-away. We had booked three nights but left after one. We were very put off by tourists actually walking right into the house! Not relaxing and didn't make us feel safe and secure in any way.

The one double bed upstairs is NOT big enough for two nearly 6-feet tall people. My husband took that bed and I "slept" in a tiny very uncomfortable old, sagging single. When I moved the bed away from the wall to plug in a reading lamp, the floor was filthy. The bathroom in between the two buildings smelled "funky."

The kitchen and living area downstairs are dated but serviceable.

The owner, Joana is very, very kind and responsive. Her friend and property manager who checked us in was also very nice. There is a book in the apartment outlining nearby attractions. This place just simply was not for us. If you're okay "roughing it" a bit, and not really having any privacy, then this is for you. The location right on the protected ocean pools is gorgeous.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review Kathleen! I'm sorry that it wasn't a fit.
We have, actually, the standard Portuguese bed, since we kept the traditional furniture(180cm).
We never had this kind of complaint before, however we will see that this never happens again. Hygiene is something we take very seriously, and If there was in fact any problem with hygiene we would have appreciated if you had informed us immediately so we could understand what happened with our housekeeper and send her right away to take care of it.
Kind regards, Joana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.