We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
219
256
130
60
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
256
130
60
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valley view beautiful hotel reception staff deluxe room central location third floor large bathroom nice room comfortable rooms breakfast is served spectacular views breakfast was excellent old city common areas stayed for nights tuscan countryside val d orcia
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Set in a fascinating building (ex-convent) next to a church, we have found the staff so friendly. Taking breakfast on the terrace provides an idyllic view of the Tuscany landscape with a swimming pool that offers a relaxing location for any visitor in the heart of Pienza.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SkinedBignose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di Pienza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful, and very expensive, restaurant in the town of Pienza with a gorgeous panorama. They have home-made gluten free bread and pasta and a separate gluten free menu. The kitchen are very knowledgeable and I ate here confident that the meal would be safe without having to do the usual 20 questions before you order.

The gf tortellini was very good, although the portion is much smaller than other restaurants. The gf bruschetta was so hard it cracked into pieces with my first bite spilling the tomatoes and olive oil all over the pristine white tablecloth. Luckily they didn’t ask me to leave, because the gf dessert menu was extensive and the ‘cheesecake’ was very good.

The service here could be improved - staff are not that attentive and we had to ask for the bill twice. Maybe they were unimpressed with the mess on my table? Either way, it wouldn’t stop us from coming back again for a celebratory meal.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cake_walk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di Pienza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review that we will share with the management of the restaurant which is separated management from the hotel. Certainly They will make good use of your advice to improve their service. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

There have been improvements to the rooms and bathrooms, providing, at present, a modern bed room and bath room with all the modern comforts one expects for this level hotel. The staff is very helpful, the breakfast, served at summer times in the terrace, is very good, and the view to the Tuscan countryside is magnificent.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank florisimo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di Pienza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your positive review about our Hotel. We are glad that you appreciated the works done to improve the comfort and the wellbeing of our guests. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our beautiful Hotel in another time. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Il Chiostro for 3 nights as part of a cycling tour of Tuscany. Our room was great, we had and easy time storing and having access to our bikes and the staff was lovely. The included breakfast was satisfying, beautifully displayed and delicious. We advised that they had ants on the grass at the pool and the next day when we went down for a swim they had treated the grass. Very responsive. Pienza is a beautiful town with great restaurants.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GlobeTrotting663621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di Pienza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel our staff and our brekfast on the beautiful terrace. We hope to welcome you again in Pienza. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Something seems to have gone badly wrong at this lovely old hotel overlooking the Val D’Orcia. The fabulous view over the valley is still there, but the hotel organisation is now really rather poor. A big problem is that the restaurant part of the building appears to have been handed over to a separate management company not directly connected to the hotel. This means that during the day residents are unable to get a beer or even a cup of coffee while relaxing on the terrace - a very poor show for a quality hotel. Along with that the restaurant staff tell you to go to the bar down the road, when asking for a drink. Having said that the waiters from the restaurant could happily enjoy a beer while relaxing around the pool. The rooms we were allocated this year were generally not as good as before, even though we booked nine months before our visit. Other quibbles compared to our previous visits: the pool was very cold, no cushions for the sun beds, poor quality breakfast, having to book our own taxis and no milk available in our rooms for tea/coffee. All of these issues were mentioned to the reception staff, but only a shrug generally received as a response.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sookeico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di Pienza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Guest,
we are sorry to read your review. First of all we told you sorry for the restaurant's problem a lot of time absoluty not a shrug from our staff at the reception. We explained you that the restaurant is from 10 years a separated managment from the hotel, and we invite you to discuss the problem directly with the restaurant's manager who was so kindly with you. Our hotel is better than your last visit: we done new bathrooms in our rooms on March and other a lot of works to increase the quality. The pool was 20 years that is outside and it's normal that has cold water and it has never been heated. For the milk you can ask directly to our staff that will bring you immediatly. Other way we invite you to come back again you will have the opportunity to change your mind on many aspects. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews