We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Chiostro di Pienza
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Residence San Gregorio(Pienza)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La casa di Adelina Charming House(Monticchiello)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria(Monticchiello)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
205
244
126
58
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
244
126
58
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalley viewbeautiful hotelkiller viewvalet servicepedestrian areathe hotel staffgreat positionminutes walk awayrenaissance citylarge terracethird floorstayed for one nightjunior suitenice roomnarrow streetsbreakfast is servedspectacular views
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Once we finally found the hotel and opened the door to the room, the smell was almost knocked me over. It was also nothing like the pictures and had no window at all. The receptionist asked if I had used the bathroom first and then talked about how we had only booked the standard room, so what was I to expect. After trying and failing to get moved to a decent room, we found another great hotel 300 yards away that had great rooms, their own underground parking, great service and was cheaper. Asked for the managers name and contact info, but that was not possible. Trying to get a refund but have absolutely no expectation of that happening. Try anywhere else in this great town.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay there, make sure you pay to get the very best room. All the others are marginal
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Q7609JSbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di Pienza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Firstly we'd like to apologize for all the inconvinient you've been through.
In reply to your negative feedback, we'd like to inform you that you' had been given the room type- Clasic Room- you previously booked. It's not true at all that the room has not windows, considering that it has two windows next to each other with the view over one of the characteristic street of Pienza. Considering you booked a Standard Classic Room, obviously the view was not on the Orcia Valley. As you can see and read on our Web site, only upper room category - such us Deluxe and Suite- have the breathtaking view on the Valley and more services. Moreover, due to the fact that previous night guests have had a lovely stay in that room, the smell you are talking about shouldn't have been so bad. It may have been related to the ancient wood of which the room is made. Considering the Hotel is an ancient Convent, it may be undestandable. In addition, in order to make our guests satisfied, the Receptionist showed you different room of the same category you could stay in. Being unfortunately the Hotel almost fullybooked for that night, gently the Receptionist offered you the following night stay in a prestigious Suite Room. Unfortunately all the solution have not been accepted by you. It may be related to the fact that the Hotel has not Private Parking -because located in the city centre, ZTL- of which you should have been aware at the moment of your reservation.
Anyway, whenever you'd like to come back to Pienza, we are more than pleased to welcome you again at our Hotel, booking an upper room category with our beautiful view over the Orcia Valley and other services.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The view from the rooms is spectacular but the beds are terrible. We've stayed here twice before but not sure if we will come back simply because the beds are terrible. The location is fantastic but it seems they are lacking on the upkeep.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank randyr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

As we arrived the receptionist couldn't stop pointing out that we only booked the Economy room. We weren't aware of the fact that we are supossed to be 2nd class guests. The room was tiny, the bathroom was dirty and the towels were wet. The fridge of the minibar was not working. We told the staff twice but they didn't pay any attention. Of course we were only Economy guests (accidently by the way) but it would have been nice to be welcomed warmly and treatend nice. We will surely come back to lovely Pienza - but will choose a different accomodation for sure.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank geroflaminggoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I agree with the reviewer that you stay here for the town (and the view) rather than it being an amazing hotel. We stayed for one night at the beginning of August when it was blisteringly hot. My partner can't walk very well but the hotel staff were very helpful with where to park the car however there was no-one to help me with the bags (now am expert at handling a suitcase trolley) which was fine but I'm glad I'm relatively fit. We didn't eat in as we wanted to see the town but couldn't get a drink at the bar until 7.30pm. The deluxe room was so-so: great view but rather a 'tired' room and not large. Our bathroom was small but clean. All in all, we felt that the hotel has seen better times but the staff were friendly although thin on the ground.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

I completely fell in love with Pienza and this hotel. The staff were all friendly and attentive. The facilities were great (having a wee swim around the pool was the perfect way to cool down after a hot day in the sun!). The location of this hotel is also perfect. Only a couple of minutes walk to my favourite restaurant, La Bandita, where we ate two out of the three nights we stayed! Our room (101) had a beautiful view of the Tuscan hills. I cannot wait to come back to Pienza in the future and stay here again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di Pienza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Lucy,
thank you so much for your feedback! We are grateful for your beautiful words. We are glade that you enjoyed the pool, the room, our staff, all of our Hotel. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again soon, All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews