We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Palazzo Brandano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Brandano
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We stayed at Palazzo Brandano for 3 days July 2-5, 2007. What a beautiful place. The staff were bending over backwards to help you with anything. They make reservations for dinner, the train, winery tours or anything else. The building has been remodelled and is gorgeous! Ancient but with all the latest technology. The lighting is exqisite. The breakfast was whatever you would like (light or full). The little town of Petrio is sweet but you will need a car to get around the region. Our children (11 and 13) loved it and were treated like kings.
We would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BarrieBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 274 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2007

This inn has only been open for about a yr, but it will soon become a hot property to book. The staff, Joergen, Massimo, Osumane & Loretta provide a one of a kind experience. Nestled in the tiny village of Petroio, the inn has about 10 rms, each maginificently appointed with views over the Tuscan hill side. Easy access to quaint villages such as Montelcino, Montepulicano, Montefullonico, Sinalunga, etc. Let the staff pick out your evening dinner reservation....always perfect! And dine at least one night on site to experience a beautiful meal at Palazzo Brandano. Go here only if you have a car and like to explore country villages. If you want nightlife, bars, hotspots, and no car travel, stay away...this is not for you...But if you want to have a treat and truly experience Tuscano, you will not be dissapointed. We loved it and wish we could have stayed longer!!!

Bravo! Palazzo Brandano.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BillyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Ousmane, Massimo and Jorgen, thank you for one of the most memorable experiences we've ever had in our travels. Visiting Palazzo Brandano was like "coming home" to our own palace in a beautiful Tuscan village - and we can't wait to return! Everything from the rooms, to the grounds, to the glorious food, to the impeccable service - it was all perfect. We especially enjoyed the evening that you introduced us to some of the village's residents during one of their festivals. So memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ArwenUndomiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

The staff and hotel surpassed our expectations. That was actually hard to do after reading all of the glowing trip advisor recommendations. We expected this hotel to be the highlight of our two week Italian vacation, and it was.

Upon arriving at the tiny town of Petroio we were warmly and graciously greeted by Ousmane. He moved us to the terrace where we were seated and allowed to relax with a wonderful glass of Tuscan wine. It was very clear that we were going to be taken care while we were his guests. The lunch that followed was the best we had on our trip. We met chef Nicola and arranged for a cooking class. We had our best dinner of the trip that evening.

After we got settled in we asked Massimo about biking or horseback riding. He quickly helped us figure out what we wanted to do and made us reservations to ride horses that afternoon. In the morning we met Jorgen, Aurelia and Laura. They were equally warm and welcoming. Clearly everyone there was very helpful and wanting to make our stay as good as it possibly could be.

The hotel is newly constructed in an ancient building in this small hill town. The décor and furnishings are lovely. The small town is quaint and within easy drives to many interesting and diverse Tuscan hill towns. The property lives up to the website and the glowing reports on trip advisor. We would highly recommend the hotel, but even more important we really appreciate how much the small staff worked so hard to make our stay special. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mountain_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

What can we say? Palazzo Brandano made our honeymoon really very special. From helping us arrange transportation to the area when the Tuscan trains were on strike, to our departure days later, we were well taken care of by Osmonte, Massimo and Jurgen. It was a pleasant surprise when they upgraded us to an in-town apartment upon arrrival. The wine selection was excellent, and the food beyond excellent. It was superb. We optioned to spend an early afternoon with their chef in the kitchen, which was a great way to see the cooking facilities and learn some Tuscan basics. Nicolo was gracious and patient with us, and it didn't take long before we were laughing and enjoying each other's company. We cooked our own lunch! Which was really fun, and tasty to boot. We also snuck away with some basic recipes from the great Nicolo. Osmonte, Massimo, and Jurgen were always there for us when we had questions or needed suggestions for wineries or restaurants to try. The town is very pretty, the site is amazing and the views quite beautiful. We could not have anticipated or expected how wonderful our time there was to be. Thank you all and keep up the great work. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyCityGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petroio
11.3 km away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,211 reviews
7.8 km away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
3.4 km away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
691 reviews
13.9 km away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
259 reviews
13.5 km away
Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Price Range: €300 - €450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brandano 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing