We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rotelle(Torrita di Siena)
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 31/07
US$166
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$365/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Chiostro di Pienza(Pienza)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$197
US$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Convento B&B(Torrita di Siena)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Poggiano(Montepulciano)
US$293
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camere Bellavista(Montepulciano)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo San Biagio(Montepulciano)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
333
11
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
11
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Recently we stayed for two nights at Palazzo Brandano. We celebrated our anniversary date and Ousmann served a dreamful dinner for us and made this evening very special for us. Thank you very much again. We got six courses of excellent food, the wine was outstanding and the sitting at the terrace was very romantical. Brandano is a beautiful place and Ousmann makes this place very special. He is very gentle and always tries to fulfil every wish you have. See you again :-)

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Silke_Manfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We booked this small hotel ( I think there are 9 rooms/suites in the main building and possibly some apartments nearby) last year on the strength of its excellent TA reviews. We had planned to stay for 3 nights on a half board basis towards the end of a 2 week holiday in Liguria and Tuscany.
The hotel is situated in a quaint tiny hilltop village, not far from Montepulciano and Pienza - there is only one street which winds it way up the hill to the hotel , a church, a small shop and a small bar and strangely, a terracotta museum. We were greeted on our arrival in mid/late afternoon by Ousmane, the hotel manager. Unfortunately he had lost our booking and whilst he was expecting us at the end of July/August, he didn't know when. On sight of our hard copy e-mail confirmation which he had inadvertently deleted, he showed us to our room - the Leonardo suite. This was very spacious with a separate sitting room and a small toilet/washroom as well as an en-suite bathroom with a jacuzzi. Unfortunately, the room was dusty as clearly it hadn't been cleaned for some time - pity, as it was tastefully furnished and decorated.
The outside terrace with umbrellas, dining tables and furniture, also had a look of a lack of use and maintenance. The views from the terrace and some of the hotel rooms over the Tuscan countryside are lovely.
Ousmane explained that it had been a 'disastrous' Summer in terms of bookings and he had no other guests when we arrived. He brought a welcome drink of Prosecco, informed us about the wifi codes (different passwords for certain areas of the hotel but the Wifi did have a good strength) and explored what our plans were our stay etc. He explained that he was the only person at the hotel and would also be cooking our dinner that evening.
We enjoyed a very nice meal - mushroom crepes, pumpkin soup, rabbit and panacotta - in the dining room - cooked and served by Ousmane - with a nice bottle of Rosso di Montipulciano. Sadly there was little atmosphere as there were only two of us, although two further guests (on honeymoon) arrived quite late that evening.
We didn't sleep very well as we couldn't regulate the air conditioning and the pillows were too soft. Ousmane sorted both of these issues when we told him in the morning.
I went down for breakfast and overheard what was clearly quite a serious argument in the kitchen between Ousmane and an assistant. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, juice, pastries, meat, cheese, bread and cake and fresh coffee.

Before we left the hotel that morning, Ousmane explained that he had no cook for the evening (or the following night) and that he would make a reservation for us nearby (in Montisi, about 4km away) and reduce our bill accordingly (by 80 euros). This was disappointing for us as the key reason for choosing this hotel was being able to relax in the evening, enjoy a good dinner with wine and not have to drive, having been driving during the day visiting some of the hill towns nearby etc. Ousmane had arranged a wine tasting on our request at a Tuscan farm about 15km away and kindly took his own car and allowed us to follow him so we didn't get lost in the countryside.
We enjoyed our wine tasting and also visited Montepulciano, which is beautiful, and enjoyed a good dinner in Montisi, but decided to cut short our stay and move on to Florence, one night earlier than planned. More guests arrived on our second day but unfortunately they were staying in the room above us, woke early to go cycling (c. 6am) and walked about in their cycling shoes on the tiled floor above us for quite some time!
My overall feeling is that this place is getting a little tired - apparently the property was acquired, refurbished and opened about 8/9 years ago. In my opinion, the hotel now needs a 'sparkle' and if it is to survive, then it needs to provide an excellent dining experience as well as high quality accommodation. The room rates are not cheap and for the price we paid, given its remote location, it was certainly not good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This restaurant is amazing. If you're looking for an upscale cuisine with outstanding service and views, go to Palazzo Brandano. The food was just great and a truly dining experience especially compared to the rest of the local restaurants which basically serve all the same dishes. Not cheap though but well worth it.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Soniwe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived at this piece of heaven after a very difficult day leaving Rome. Among other things a bag containing our contact lenses had been stolen. We were exhausted and hungry. The manager, Ousmane, who had been in contact with us throughout the day secured a months worth of contacts for us by driving 18 km twice after getting the prescription via text. Then after settling us down with delicious wine, proceeded to make us feel at home even though it was so late. When we asked about a restaurant he assured us that while we showered he would cook us dinner. And what a meal!! A gourmet feast of pasta with truffles, rabbit and a cream dessert with a crystalized caramel that he prepared at our table. The room in this 700 year old hilltop palazzo, had been so beautifully and effectively renovated that the Internet worked throughout, and the temperature was always controlled. The room was simply beautiful and spacious decorated with Renaissance frescoes reproduced on the walls. The modern bathroom included a jacuzzi. If we weren't already blown away the next morning we were greeted with a full breakfast complete with the most amazing fresh pastries. The manager then arranged for our day's activities beginning with a cheese tasting, sightseeing in small villages near Pienza with lovely shops and ending with a wine tasting where we were able to buy the cases of wine to be shipped to New York! If visiting do not miss the local Petroio winery! The Sangiovese is unbelievable and has been reviewed to be like a Brunella. One word of caution--do not follow g p s to the hotel. Take careful note of Ousmanes directions and park at the bottom of the hill. This magical place cannot get a better review. Thank you Ousmane for being so professional, gracious and welcoming.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ajrbjr615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Yes, this was our 5th visit to the Brandano, and it never fails to impress. Ousmane is the perfect host and Petroio is a hidden jewel. Just about any place in Tuscany you'd like to visit is within an easy drive, with wonderful restaurants and attractions. Do you enjoy a glass of Prosecco while listening to opera in the lounge area of a hotel that feels more like a homecoming than an impersonal lodging? I thought so.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shalmunzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews