We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly failed to live up to our expectations”
Review of Palazzo Brandano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Brandano
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We booked this small hotel ( I think there are 9 rooms/suites in the main building and possibly some apartments nearby) last year on the strength of its excellent TA reviews. We had planned to stay for 3 nights on a half board basis towards the end of a 2 week holiday in Liguria and Tuscany.
The hotel is situated in a quaint tiny hilltop village, not far from Montepulciano and Pienza - there is only one street which winds it way up the hill to the hotel , a church, a small shop and a small bar and strangely, a terracotta museum. We were greeted on our arrival in mid/late afternoon by Ousmane, the hotel manager. Unfortunately he had lost our booking and whilst he was expecting us at the end of July/August, he didn't know when. On sight of our hard copy e-mail confirmation which he had inadvertently deleted, he showed us to our room - the Leonardo suite. This was very spacious with a separate sitting room and a small toilet/washroom as well as an en-suite bathroom with a jacuzzi. Unfortunately, the room was dusty as clearly it hadn't been cleaned for some time - pity, as it was tastefully furnished and decorated.
The outside terrace with umbrellas, dining tables and furniture, also had a look of a lack of use and maintenance. The views from the terrace and some of the hotel rooms over the Tuscan countryside are lovely.
Ousmane explained that it had been a 'disastrous' Summer in terms of bookings and he had no other guests when we arrived. He brought a welcome drink of Prosecco, informed us about the wifi codes (different passwords for certain areas of the hotel but the Wifi did have a good strength) and explored what our plans were our stay etc. He explained that he was the only person at the hotel and would also be cooking our dinner that evening.
We enjoyed a very nice meal - mushroom crepes, pumpkin soup, rabbit and panacotta - in the dining room - cooked and served by Ousmane - with a nice bottle of Rosso di Montipulciano. Sadly there was little atmosphere as there were only two of us, although two further guests (on honeymoon) arrived quite late that evening.
We didn't sleep very well as we couldn't regulate the air conditioning and the pillows were too soft. Ousmane sorted both of these issues when we told him in the morning.
I went down for breakfast and overheard what was clearly quite a serious argument in the kitchen between Ousmane and an assistant. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, juice, pastries, meat, cheese, bread and cake and fresh coffee.

Before we left the hotel that morning, Ousmane explained that he had no cook for the evening (or the following night) and that he would make a reservation for us nearby (in Montisi, about 4km away) and reduce our bill accordingly (by 80 euros). This was disappointing for us as the key reason for choosing this hotel was being able to relax in the evening, enjoy a good dinner with wine and not have to drive, having been driving during the day visiting some of the hill towns nearby etc. Ousmane had arranged a wine tasting on our request at a Tuscan farm about 15km away and kindly took his own car and allowed us to follow him so we didn't get lost in the countryside.
We enjoyed our wine tasting and also visited Montepulciano, which is beautiful, and enjoyed a good dinner in Montisi, but decided to cut short our stay and move on to Florence, one night earlier than planned. More guests arrived on our second day but unfortunately they were staying in the room above us, woke early to go cycling (c. 6am) and walked about in their cycling shoes on the tiled floor above us for quite some time!
My overall feeling is that this place is getting a little tired - apparently the property was acquired, refurbished and opened about 8/9 years ago. In my opinion, the hotel now needs a 'sparkle' and if it is to survive, then it needs to provide an excellent dining experience as well as high quality accommodation. The room rates are not cheap and for the price we paid, given its remote location, it was certainly not good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This restaurant is amazing. If you're looking for an upscale cuisine with outstanding service and views, go to Palazzo Brandano. The food was just great and a truly dining experience especially compared to the rest of the local restaurants which basically serve all the same dishes. Not cheap though but well worth it.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Soniwe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived at this piece of heaven after a very difficult day leaving Rome. Among other things a bag containing our contact lenses had been stolen. We were exhausted and hungry. The manager, Ousmane, who had been in contact with us throughout the day secured a months worth of contacts for us by driving 18 km twice after getting the prescription via text. Then after settling us down with delicious wine, proceeded to make us feel at home even though it was so late. When we asked about a restaurant he assured us that while we showered he would cook us dinner. And what a meal!! A gourmet feast of pasta with truffles, rabbit and a cream dessert with a crystalized caramel that he prepared at our table. The room in this 700 year old hilltop palazzo, had been so beautifully and effectively renovated that the Internet worked throughout, and the temperature was always controlled. The room was simply beautiful and spacious decorated with Renaissance frescoes reproduced on the walls. The modern bathroom included a jacuzzi. If we weren't already blown away the next morning we were greeted with a full breakfast complete with the most amazing fresh pastries. The manager then arranged for our day's activities beginning with a cheese tasting, sightseeing in small villages near Pienza with lovely shops and ending with a wine tasting where we were able to buy the cases of wine to be shipped to New York! If visiting do not miss the local Petroio winery! The Sangiovese is unbelievable and has been reviewed to be like a Brunella. One word of caution--do not follow g p s to the hotel. Take careful note of Ousmanes directions and park at the bottom of the hill. This magical place cannot get a better review. Thank you Ousmane for being so professional, gracious and welcoming.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ajrbjr615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Yes, this was our 5th visit to the Brandano, and it never fails to impress. Ousmane is the perfect host and Petroio is a hidden jewel. Just about any place in Tuscany you'd like to visit is within an easy drive, with wonderful restaurants and attractions. Do you enjoy a glass of Prosecco while listening to opera in the lounge area of a hotel that feels more like a homecoming than an impersonal lodging? I thought so.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shalmunzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We have had a glorious couple of nights here, Omar the owner was so helpful and was able to give many tips on where to visit and eat nearby. A stunning location to explore this beautiful area, a must!!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Tuscan valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrandmrs1233443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petroio
7.2 km away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
22.5 km away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
11.3 km away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
701 reviews
13.9 km away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
259 reviews
13.9 km away
Albergo Posta Marcucci
Albergo Posta Marcucci
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Price Range: €300 - €450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brandano 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing