We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
333
11
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
11
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at Palazzo Brandano Several years ago and we fell in love with this place so we decided to go back this year and stay 3 nights... What a big change and disappointment. The place is being run by a gentleman by the name of Osmon, who just did not care this time around. he was disorganized and uninterested in his guests. The sheets and towel are grey and wrinkled the little extras that were there on are first trip are gone.... the TV did not work, two of four rooms had issues with the bathrooms.... He was supposed to prepare and birthday dinner for us for 10 people which turned out to be a big flop the food was unedible and took 5 hours. He was not very grasious about it. He became confrontational with one of my guests. it was just a horrible experience... They need new managment.......

Room Tip: Go to La Locanda del' Lamorosa down the street. its fabulous...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annarita0559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We traveld aroudn Tuscany for a couple of weeks and enjoyed a number of very nice hotels. Palazzao Brandano however was a class in itself. Set in a beatiful old building in a very small town close to both Montepulicano and Montalcino. The rooms/suits are really very nice and comfortable. There is a great view from the terras. As it is a bit out of the way and because of his there is some dependency on the restaurant of the hotel but this turned out to be just as good as the hotel itself. Very well nicely prepared tasty food and a good wine choice. The service under the direction of Mr. Ousman is outstanding.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hekstman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The tiny town of Petroio dates back many centuries. There are not more than 350 people who live in this quaint place lined with narrow stone buildings and streets. It is located in a very rural area not near to any other hotels or restaurants. This is a plus as the area is quiet, lovely and serene, perfect for a relaxing retreat and the food is very good. There are only a few rooms at the Palazzo which adds to its homey atmosphere. There is a lovely outdoor patio area which overlooks the countryside and makes for a terrific place to share a glass of wine at the end of the day.

But what makes this hotel an unforgettable experience is the service and the manager, Ousmane, a man from Senegal who knows all about hospitality and making guests feel "at home." There are not adequate words to describe how much Ousmane did to make our stay unforgettable. Upon our arrival, we were told to relax because Ousmane can solve all problems. That was the absolute truth. He is a true gem and I will never forget all the exceptional things he did! Thank you Ousmane!!!

Thanks too, to Victoria, a charming local girl who is the hostess at the Palazzo, to Aurelia, chef extraordinaire, and her assistant for making delicious meals, and to Laura, the housekeeper for going above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay in Tuscany truly memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stop looking now! If you have come across this hotel, or should I properly address it as Heaven, then book it now! More than comfort, more than style, more than escape, more than gourmet- it's just heaven.
We found PB on tripadvisor and because of the reviews, we booked. My new wife and I were spending 4 weeks traveling through France, Spain, and Italy; staying mainly in B&Bs and small hotels. One segment was from the Cinque Terra via train to Pisa, picked up a car and drove to PB after making a stop at an organic goat cheese farm (friend of a friend- but go visit) in Greve Chianti. After being delayed by 2 hours because of the Giro d'Italia (a welcomed delay), getting a flat tire, and arriving to PB at 9:30 PM. We were tired, half lost, bitter at each other... but then we met Osmane. Within 90 seconds the day's tribulations were gone. I won't spoil too much, but we were not welcomed into a hotel; no we were welcomed into Osmane's house/domain. With drink and some quick nibbles in our bellies, a table was waiting at their perfect little restaurant. We were introduced to other guest as you would introduce new guest at a dinner party. The meal... perfect. I dare you to tell Osmane you are still hungry....
Due to our rough day, Osmane upgraded us to a beautiful suite for the night. Perfect. Every little touch is perfect and stylish. I have never felt so comfortable in a room before. By the time our heads hit the pillow, our dream time had already started. I think we had a flat tire or something....
The hotel was fully booked, but you wouldn't know. Breakfast in the morning was perfect, with fresh breads, fruit, meats, cheeses- you ask, they deliver. Since we only had 1 full day to explore, Osmane plotted out a day trip for us using his 20+ years experience in the area. We had to swap cars, due to the flat, and a certain EUROPean CAR company was a pain to deal with. Again, no worries. Angel Osmane to the rescue. Everything was sorted, and we swapped cars about 30 mins away. Every suggested stop was perfect. Upon returning that night, my wife and I were feeling the travel, so we weren't sure on dinner. Osmane organized a mouth-watering teaser (free of charge) for us both. One bite, and a lite dinner was on. We advised Osmane we weren't very hungry, so he and the chef made something special for us. Perfect.
Our bags were moved from the suite during the day for us, and the “standard” room was only different in size, not elegance.
Check out the next day was a breeze, and Osmane ensured we had a full bottle of water for our long drive to Venice.

As I said, this place is heaven. Osmane is a true hospitality master. His staff are wonderful, professional, warm, and eager to please. You will surely need more than 1 night here. Come, have a seat in the warm leather chairs while sipping some beautiful local wine chatting to exciting and interesting guest while Osmane and his team take care of everything. The hotel is a little off the beaten track, but so are the clouds above the earth.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUDingoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I and another couple just completed a five-day stay here, and the reviews were absolutely correct. Petroio is a tiny village in the hills of Tuscany with a population of about 350 people. There are just a couple of stores and absolutely no other tourists than those who say at Brandano. If you are looking for a unique experience away from the crowds in an authentic Italian village, this is the place.
The rooms are comfortable, but nothing special. But who cares when you receive service from Ousmane, the manager, the likes of which our group, experienced travelers, have never encountered before. He is able to solve any problem and make your vacation a dream come true. His staff of Aurelia, the chef, Laura, the housekeeper, and Victoria, the waitress and assistant, are wonderful.
I could tell you all of the things that they did to make our vacation fantastic but that would spoil the magic for you if you decide to go here. There are many great choices in Tuscany, but I can say without hesitation this place will offer you a vacation of a lifetime because of Ousmane and his staff. If you are looking for a place with a location right in the heart of town, plush robes and luxurious toiletries, then look elsewhere. If you want an authentic holiday in a small hotel with an intimate dining room with great food, a patio with a great view, and a hotel manager who will attend to your EVERY need and desire, then look no further.
If you do book here, some suggestions:
1-Do not attempt to drive a big car to the hotel door. Petroio has extremely narrow, hilly streets. Park at the base of the hill in a parking lot, and walk up to the hotel door to check in.
2-The Michelangelo suite is the best room with a great view.
3-Tell Ousmane, the manager, exactly what you enjoy eating and doing, and leave the rest up to him.
4-Plan to spend several days to relax and enjoy Tuscany.

We came to Palazzo Brandano because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. It is in a location that is away from the tourist shops and restaurants. If that is a problem for you, please look elsewhere. If you want to be away from the tourist crowd and experience the amazing service of a unique hotel host, plan your vacation in Tuscany here.

Stayed: May 2012
4  Thank Mervmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews