We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
52
3
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
3
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit two bedroom apartment amazing place many places amazing wedding malcolm venue wine brick laundry cooking
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in the beautiful, rustic villa for a friend's wedding for a week. We had booked out the whole of the place with a mixture of family and friends. It is divided up in to different apartments and ensuite rooms - which was ideal.
We flew in to Pisa airport and drove down (hired a car from europcar at Pisa airport, 174 Euro for the week ) - we did get a little lost on the way, but was a great chance to see the tuscan countryside. Took about 2.5hours. Once in Asciano there was a small, white sign post directing us up a gravel trak to the property. Up the track and the actual villa isnt very well signposted! You would have to have a car to stay here, due to it being so isolated...
The scenery around the villa is amazing, rolling hills as far as the eye can see. It seems the highest villa in this area so has spectacular views and a very nice sunny infinity pool area. Would'nt say the pool was very child friendly, but they would be fine as long as an adult was keeping a close eye.
Apperance is very rustic, all paths and surrounds are stone. There is two lovely dogs which live here too and a few cats and geese...
Our individual apartment slept 5, a double ensuite room and a triple single bed room with a seperate bathroom. With a kitchen and living/dining room area. I believe the apartment we stayed in cost 1330 Euro to rent for the week. The downside was our apartment was'nt cleaned the whole stay (bins, bathroom, fresh towels etc). But i guess because its classed as self catering you have to do this all yourself.
There was a local supermarket about a 5 minute drive away where you could get everything you needed to make this a self catering holiday. BBQ available to use also. We went in to Asciano for most meal's where there is plenty of choices of places to eat. Sciena is about a 20minute drive away - def worth a visit, it was so beautiful.
Malcolm (owner) was very helpful and you could ask him for any information of the local area and things to do. We took a trip to Sciena, hot springs and a local hiking mountain. There are no rules at this villa, so therefore you can stay up drinking, chatting as late as you like without any complaints!
Our friends got married in a local town hall and then the reception was back at the villa. Unfortunatly there was a spell of bad weather the afternoon of the wedding - the staff reacted quickly and soon put up a canopy. The food was gorgeous and service was excellent. I believe the staff helped to sort out the flowers and photographer also.
Defintley would recommend a stay to others!!!!

Room Tip: The seperate small block of apartments just away from the villa seem to be nicer rooms than the rest. Have there own BBQ to use also!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My wife and I stayed here for six days, and it's a fabulous home base for exploring southern Tuscany. The property is gorgeous, located on a hill with amazing westward views of the Crete formations and rolling hills and agricultural lands. The sunsets we saw were stunning. You'll need a car, but it's only about 30-40 minutes from Siena and Cortona, and 10 minutes from Asciano.

The prior review noted problems with insects and other wildlife on the property. This podere is in the countryside around fertile lands, so having some critters around would be expected. It doesn't advertise itself to be an insulated full service resort, so if you're looking for a sparkling modern hotel with five star amenities, Podere Finerri won't be for you, maybe stay at a hotel in Siena. But if you're looking for a magical, yet comfortable and good valued guest house in the rural Tuscan countryside where you can see the stars and pick figs and rosemary and feel completely away from the streams of tour buses, definitely look into The Lazy Olive.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bestforlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The location and the view are very beautiful, especially from the olive appartment where we stayed. What we didn't like were the flees in bathroom and bed and the smell of fungus coming from the basement.
On our third night, bats were flying through the bedroom, that's when we decided to leave the lazy olive upon daybreak.
We're probable too much accustomed to city life for this kind of accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jenjo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We've just returned from two weeks in Italy. The plan was two nights in Rome, two in Florence, seven at the Lazy Olive (Podere Finerri) and then two in Venice and back to Rome.

After a couple of nights at this villa the thought of packing and heading for Venice became something not worth thinking as we were having such a fabulous relaxing time. Travelling with a six and four year old also added to the reasons for staying.

Podere Finerri is awesome. The views outstanding, the location to the amazing countryside and towns perfect, the accommodation very tasteful and cozy and the hosts (Malcolm and Daniella) fantastic. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZersbackHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Having been there a couple of times - we decided to go again this time with our one year old son. Again Dani and Mal simply excelled themselves as hosts - in fact they even lent us their car at one point. The rooms have all been renovated with attention to detail and they both endeavour to ensure their guests need for nothing. Malcolm is an excellent chef and also a very capable golfer. This place is simply the best for those that want time out, good company, a pool and if you really need it the Internet! Centrally located to so many sights to list it has become one of our favourtie places in Europe!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews