We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
177
156
69
44
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
156
69
44
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe room umbrella bar wine bar steam room hotel credit ski holiday ski school metal staircase boot room the ski hire shop self service restaurant hotel bar ice room soup dessert buffet hooks to hang standard rooms are
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

This hotel is very good. The location is spot on for skiing with chair lifts just behind the hotel, a gondola just 3 minutes walk down the road and you can ski back to the hotel too. We went with Crystal. The ski hire shop is to the side of the hotel and there's a heated boot and ski locker room, so everything is very well laid out.
The wellness centre was a great bonus at the end of the day skiing, to be able to chill and relax in a pool, even if it was a little bit cool.
The food was good, buffet style and plenty of it, although I was getting a bit bored of the breakfasts by the end of the week as it was the same every day.
My only real gripe was about the wine (waiter). On our first night we ordered a bottle of wine which was $30 (the average price on the wine list). The waiter went off the get the wine and came back with another wine saying the first was no longer available. He said the price was the same. However, when we checked out at the end of the week we had been charged $45 for our wine that evening. The receptionist could see on our bill that we had ordered a different wine first and so she took this up with the waiter. The waiter ended up paying the difference of $15!
We would like to come back to this hotel in the future but will definitely be on our guard when ordering wine next time!

Room Tip: We were in room 127 which unfortunately did not have a sunny balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Like lots of fellow guests we were worried after reading negative reviews of this hotel.We needn' t have worried.The reception areas, bars and boot room are all fab, very modern and clean. Lots of space in the boot room for everyone. Good prices in the bars, a pity that the larger one is not used more often.
A small well equipped games room which was well used by the kids and located close to the bar.
I thought the spa area was good value at 50 euros for the room for the week. Staff here were friendly and helpful and the whole are was spotless.
The restaurant staff worked very hard, were friendly and courteous throughout. The food was fine, a bit no frills, but we never went hungry. Deserts in particular were a big hit as were the pasta dishes, although the salad bar was rather tired.
The four of us stayed in a mezzanine room, which was spacious but not as modern as expected from the photos. It really needed updating . For example , in the upstairs bedroom the lighting was inadequate to the point where once it went dark outside , we had to use phone torches to see! There were only 2 electric sockets to be used for the whole 2 rooms. Doesn't sound like a big deal, but trying to charge phones / use hairdryers/ kettles etc is impossible when these plug sockets are located behind 1 TV.A modern day problem. There was also a cracked window in our room, which I think was room 610. That said the room was clean, the views amazing and the beds comfortable.We travelled with Crystal and I found the reps were fab. They were approachable, knowledgeable and friendly, a credit to Crystal.
Kids had snow boarding lessons which were well organized with a great instructor. My husband and I are good intermediate skiers.The skiing for us was adequate as we were with the family, but we would have felt limited if we had come alone.
Overall a good choice of hotel for a family holiday, just a few irritations with the room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing hotel.

The room

Large airy reception with amazing, friendly and efficient staff. We were the penultimate family to check in upon arrival with the whole coach deciding to queue (you can drop your bags off, explore and return later) and check in. We were checked in and unpacking in our room within 25 mins. This delay was mainly the result of people not having filled out the registration form that was provided at the airport when boarding the coach!

We were in suite 321 which was outstanding, with the bedroom and lounge overlooking the mountains and slopes. The sofa bed was the most comfortable I have slept on. My wife and little girl said their huge bed was amazing too.

The bathroom

The bathroom was well equipped with a fantastic jacuzzi style bath. There was a separate shower and toilet and his and hers sinks. The inclusion of the complimentary toiletry set and scrub mitt was a fantastic touch. As was the massage chair in the lounge.

Room facilities and housekeeping

The room had a safe big enough to store your essentials, including an iPad. And the fridge was a good size. The room was well serviced and housekeeping did an amazing job of making up our room and replenishing our water and tea making bits every day (a kettle is provided but coffee sachets are not and neither is milk - there are plenty of shops to buy both though).

Two observations (not complaints):

- the hairdryer cut out quickly if on max heat.
- the room could do with a chest of drawers to place clothes as what was there was not enough although there were plenty of hangers and wardrobe space

The spa

The spa area was very nice and clean and tidy although a little pricey @ €50 for the room for the week even though we only used it once. We did know the price though so it was a conscious decision (so can't really moan).

The restaurant

The food was good with a good selection every day. Do not expect a full English breakfast you are in Italy!

An earlier evening meal option would have been good and was the consensus of parents with younger children (possibly even a start time of 1800 or 1830).

The boot room

The boot room was big enough. All boot rooms can get cramped so,a little patience goes a long way on the first day until people settle in to a routine.

The equipment hire shop

The equipment shop next door was ok but quickly became crowded. They could do with more helmets or take your own. Knowing your sizes before you go is key! They www open every morning at 0800 to resolve any issues. Equipment return was chaotic but slick.

Crystal kids club

Absolutely amazing! I could write endless amounts here but don't need to as the whole team and what is provided is perfect. The team were enthusiastic and caring and each deserves the highest accolades! Speaking with the other parents my sentiments are consistent!

The hotel have provisioned an excellent amount of space for each of the separate age groups.

One thing to note here though, we were advised by the travel agent that an evening meal was provided within the club. It is not although lunch and an afternoon snack are.

Ski school (I know this is not hotel related or provided... However)

4Matic were the ski and snowboard in school company and all were amazing. My little girl was instructed by Evelyn and Roberto. Both were amazing and having never skied before by the end of the week we were out on the mountain as a family and our little girl was confident on the chair lifts and button lifts.

The lift operators were amazing and very attentive throughout too.

We highly recommend this resort (we are intermediate boarders with our little girl a beginner skier) and the hotel and would happily stay there again without hesitation.

Go with an open mind and do not expect it to be little England, after all holidays are about exploring and experiencing new and interesting cultures.

Life is an adventure, ours was amazing and Passo Tonale and The Grande Hotel Paradiso has created some amazing lasting positive memories!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Steven101Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

From the restaurants to the cleaners the staff throughout were polite friendly and helpful. I am delighted to read the Management response in support of the staff, to a critical review that seemed to be utterly misguided.
Whole family loved the holiday here and for a family visit this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: There are rooms with superb views, particularly from upper floors.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Just got back from a week at the Hotel Paradiso with my wife and 14 year old daughter. We had some reservations about the hotel following all the previous comments on Trip Advisor but still went with an open mind. How glad I am we still went to this hotel.

Great location, right on the slopes. Couldn’t be better located. I can’t compliment the staff or the reps highly enough. All very friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and efficient. A lot of people were arriving on the same day - of course there will be a queue but it was well organised and dealt with quickly.

We were given a collection time for skis and boots. Yes, a bit of a queue (this is normal when collecting hire equipment I might add) but the hotel manager was there assisting and moving things along as quickly as possible whilst ensuring everyone got the right equipment that fitted well. Great equipment, thanks. In fact, then manager was everywhere trying to ensure people were well looked after. This is a big hotel so of course he can’t give everyone personal service!

Restaurant - of course it was busy, this is a big hotel! We always waited until 8 to let the families with small children clear out first. Service was great, staff helpful and friendly despite being rushed off their feet. Food was on the whole good quality and tasteful. This is Italy, they won’t always cater to your personal taste and it won’t be English food. I travel a lot and none of the big hotels have restaurants big enough to sit everyone at once, even at summer holiday resorts. Why would this hotel be any different?

Rooms were modern, well maintained and well equiped. The showers were excellent. Only gripe would be the hair drier cut out too quickly. Next time we may take our own. Nice touch was the bottles of water on a daily basis.

Overall I would definatley recommend this hotel for anyone who wants good friendly service in a convenient location at a great price. I have been skiing a lot and this hotel is up there with the best of them I have stayed in. If you want 5 star service where you are waited on hand and foot this may not be the place for you. Instead book Switzerland or somewhere for 4 times the cost! If you want a good friendly hotel in a great location and are prepared to accept normality this is he place for you. Every other guest we spoke with enjoyed the hotel and were also pleasantly surprised following previous unfair criticism.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank christB4893JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews