We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen Weekend”
Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trim Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hen Weekend”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a hen party package in conjunction with Causey Farm which included lunch on arrival at the hotel, our transfer to and from Causey Farm, all activities on the farm, a five course dinner in the hotel restaurant that night, and overnight stay with breakfast the following morning.
We were very impressed with the hotel overall, it is a really nice modern hotel, extremely clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. This package is very good value and everything was taken care of from start to finish. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are booking a hen package or just a weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Allers82

Thank you for staying with us and we were delighted to have the Hen Party here at Trim Castle Hotel.
I hope you enjoy the wedding celebrations.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    343
    100
    26
    22
See reviews for
255
562
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Had a lovely time at this hotel recently with my husband. The main grumble I would have was with the meal we had there as part of the deal. Whilst the food itself was delicious the presentation left a little to be desired. The duck spring rolls starter consisted of one spring roll which, while very tasty, was a bit meagre. The beautiful steak and chips would have benefitted from an accompanying salad or vegetable selection and the black forest gateau dessert came minus the advertised ice-cream. In addition I was not told at booking that the restaurant did not open on Monday nights and our meal would be served in the bar. This was only discovered the night before we arrived. As this was a Valentine's break it was disappointing. However, it is a lovely hotel and we had a fabulous view of Trim Castle from our room, which was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Deborah H
Thank you for the feedback and comments from your recent stay with us.I am delighted you enjoyed the Hotel and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The lobby of this hotel is very impressive but a bit impersonal - standing in the lobby is like standing in a upmarket shopping arcade as there's a Kilkenny Design shop and a coffee shop that can be accessed from it. We were there with another couple and were given rooms with a lovely view of the castle. The rooms had tea-making facilities and were well equipped and very clean and modern. The wash-hand basins are really high for some strange reason (and my husband and myself are tall!). Just across the road you can have a walk around Trim Castle and along by the Boyne if you fancy a bit of fresh air. Dinner was included in our package. I was a bit disappointed that it was served in the bar but in fact the bar is much nicer than the restaurant as it looks out on the castle and the restaurant looks out on the carpark. I thought the food was very good for the price we paid. The breakfast was served in the restaurant and was cooked to order and delivered by a friendly waitress. Our package cost €99 for dinner, bed and breakfast for two people which I thought was very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms 204 and 205 have a good view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear DavidandPatricia

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you felt it was good value for money.Thank you for staying with us and we greatly appreciate your feedback.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Attended a wedding here and I must say this is a beautiful hotel. The service was excellent and the foOd was amazing. Bedrooms were very nice too, no complaints at all. Would definetly return

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinFairCityLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear DublinFairCityLady

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and i will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Slightly expensive for small rooms.
very busy on weekends & hard for guests to get a table
very clean but nothing special

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scon89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Scon89

Thank you for staying with us and we are grateful for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.8 km away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.4 km away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
402 reviews
25.7 km away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
641 reviews
9.9 km away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
884 reviews
25.1 km away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Property: Trim Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing