We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful First Night Stay”
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield House
Ranked #2 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed at the Highfield House in December. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. We arrived after an early morning flight and we were allowed to check in very early. The location was excellent as Trim Castle and the river walk was at the base of the hill. The town of Trim was filled with so many interesting and excellent points of interest and Highfield House with its room and staff helped start our Ireland trip off on an excellent foot.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quib09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 365 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed in this Guest House after Christmas 2011 with 5 other family members. Beautiful location in a very historic town. Rooms were very spacious, had high ceilings and full of character. Each room appears to be decorated in a different colour scheme. Whilst the owners were not there when we stayed, the hostess - Diane was fantastic - very friendly. Breakfast was great too. Cereals and the usual full Irish available. Overall, we were all very pleased with our stay and should we require B&B in this area again, would definitely stay here. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed our last two nights in Ireland at the Highfield House and it was one of our very favorites. We had a nice view of the Yellow Steeple and river with beautiful flowers to frame it. The room was comfortable with everything we needed. Breakfast was fantastic! One of the best in our entire trip and we had many, many good breakfasts. The hosts are warm, friendly and helpful. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoulsboScotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Highfield House - substantial breakfasts, warm hosts, comfortable bed. But, what's not immediately clear from the website and reviews is that the house is on the corner of a busy intersection. It does have good views of the castle and a lovely garden - if you stay in a front rooms. If you draw the short straw and get rooms at the back, you look out on to the busy main road and a brick wall :( We drew the curtains to avoid the ghastly aspect. It's a great base, however, for taking in the local sights, including Trim Castle and Bru na Boinne.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malingshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Lovely place to stay. We had a very spacious room at first, but switched to a smaller when we realized the TV was not working because another guest had accidentally taken home the remote. Very pretty place, very clean and nice hosts - who made us a great breakfast! We were even given "donkey" food so that our 3 yr old could feed the local donkeys...which was the highlight of her trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DStephens26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.3 km away
Trim Castle Hotel
0.5 km away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
413 reviews
1.6 km away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
657 reviews
4.6 km away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
0.8 km away
Castleview House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range: €89 - €163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing