We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Saturday night”
Review of FRANZINIS

FRANZINIS
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Reastaurant set in a beautiful location ,beside the river at the steps of the majestic castle . Serving a varied menu of high quality local produce .Family friendly yet has a good buzz at weekends and later in the evening .full bar available
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

I came here with a group of friends last Saturday. When we arrived we were brought to our table almost immediately with menus and crafts of water waiting for us. This was great to see as it saved us waiting around. The service was amazing from start to finish as was the food. Franco really looked after us and was able to have the craic with the waitresses and us he even took a few minutes to chat to us at the end despite the restaurant being busy. I would highly recommend to anyone!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank SamM222bbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Four of us visited here for Mother’s day Sunday lunch and were so disappointed. Firstly, the service was AWFUL, waitress had to come back three times to tell us various drinks that had been ordered were no longer available. Couldn’t tell us what wines they had etc, told us to ‘look at the drinks menu,’ for info, not one person came to see how the food was, the owner was quite rude and then they had a cheek to charge 10% service charge. I was told this was for tables of 4 or more. Not common in an Irish restaurant for groups under 6, especially on a SUNDAY FOR LUNCH and not written anywhere on any menu we were given. Don’t mind paying service charge for decent service. Wasn’t decent - I resent being forced to pay for bad service - we are not in America!!! Glass of wine 5.80euro, then service charge on top of that??? shocking!!!
Food was average - starters were quite nice, main course portions were tiny and no one came near us to clear plates, ask us if we wanted dessert, tea etc! In the end we just went up to pay to get out of the place, had tea at home. I live in a town nearby - plenty of nicer places in trim - won’t be back. So annoyed I took my mother there for her day out!

Date of visit: March 2018
6  Thank CiaraS221
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Came into Franzinis on Sunday for the last day in trim . There was 7 of us and we hadn't a table booked the manager asked to take a seat on the couch the restaurant was quite busy but it didn't take the staff long to organise a table for considering we had just walked in . The staff were very helpful . We all ordered off the early bird menu which had more than enough to pick from . Everything about our time in Franzinis was perfect the only thing I regret is not going here on our first night stay in trim because it was definitely the best food and service over our 4 day stay in trim . Highly recommended. Will definitely be back

Date of visit: February 2018
5  Thank john101209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Came there with few friends on Sunday afternoon after 10 mile Trim run, first the shift manager served us like he was doing this by punishment, really not nice person and hi attitude was just wrong. The food was not good, nachos was gummy(probably heated in microwave), onion rings and croutons from salad was soaked with oil, after squeezing them oil was dripping on the plate. And the best was kids menu, chicken goujons with fries, so the chicken goujons was made on processed 'meat' spongy white thing which you can buy for 2£ or something. That was tasteless thing which my 9yr old daughter refused to eat after one bite, have to say that first takeway anywhere in the country would have better food and service than this place which is pretending to be a fancy restaurant. The thing that you will arrange the tables and tableware in fancy way, it not enough to BE fancy restaurant, Such a poor place next to a super nice Castle is just so wrong. Never will come back there and will spread the word around about this place.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank andrewcousic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We love Franzinis anyway bit it's always that extra bit special on birthdays.
Staff are very friendly and the good is excellent.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed FRANZINIS also viewed

 

Been to FRANZINIS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.