We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner at Franzinis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of FRANZINIS

FRANZINIS
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Reastaurant set in a beautiful location ,beside the river at the steps of the majestic castle . Serving a varied menu of high quality local produce .Family friendly yet has a good buzz at weekends and later in the evening .full bar available
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner at Franzinis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The staff were excellent, so friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. The wine list was great with a lovely range of wines. The price was reasonable and I will be back. Well worth a visit...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nursie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    112
    51
    16
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
irish in ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not find one fault at all!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Went here to celebrate a birthday and from the moment we walked in the door we felt very welcome and comfortable! Having never eaten here before I did not know what to expect!

One of our party is heavily pregnant and the waiter pulled out the table to let her get into her seat and ensured she had cushions behind her back if she wanted them. Not many places or people would be so efficient I taking care of their guests.

Eating during the week we had the early bird and the value for the size of the portions is fantastic!!! Definitely would not be hungry after leaving here.

One final thing... Their panoffee... Absolutely divine!! Have never had desert like it before and we were raving about it the whole way home! Three course meal had by us and every plate was emptied going back to the kitchen. Couldn't fault the food or service in any way and would gladly go back again in future.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mfinnmalteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

No where near the way it used to be. Extremely noisy, sloppy service and too expensive for mediocre food

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and friendly efficient service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I live in North County Dublin and had occasion to visit Franzini O'Briens with a group of six friends for dinner. This restaurant proved to be a very good choice. There was a lively atmosphere, and even thought it was busy on the night, service provision was excellent.
I had Smokies fish starter, a main course of chicken teriyaki served on a bed of noodles, followed by a selection of deserts.Wine tea and coffee was enjoyed by all. All members of the party were extremely satisfied with their food. In comparison to Dublin prices we received value for money. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Well done to the staff on the night..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overcharged - We didn't feel the Love”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Thought we would try Franzini O'Briens after visiting Trim Castle today, the restaurant is conveniently located right next to Trim Castle and has a great ambience.

Well this is where it ends, we ordered the “Buffalo Chicken Wings” starters – according to the menu they are supposed to be grilled – they were definitely deep fried, dried out like leather. As for the service its shocking - waiters just walked right past our table about 8 times after we had finished our starters, they could see we were finished but decided to ignore the fact that we had finished our starter and left the plates in front of us until we had to ask to have them cleared.. They never once us how our meal, we were totally ignored and “We did not feel the love”. Further to this we noticed all the other tables had water, this only arrived after we asked. Before leaving I decided to order a double macchiato, when the bill arrived I noticed I was charged for 2 single Espresso's, when I queried this with who I would describe as the "manager / owner" he just said "Well, that’s the way it is, accept it!". Well I don’t accept it, a double macchiato should only cost slightly more than an espresso, I felt ripped off and we definitely will not be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FRANZINIS also viewed

 
Trim, County Meath
 

Been to FRANZINIS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing