We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable hotel”
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #12 of 15 Karteradhos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2016

It's near Thira, reasonable price, quiet and clean room. It's just around 10 mins. walking to bus station or bike, car rental shop. There is a restaurant on the left side of the hotel with great taste. We have tried seafood and local dishes, all delicious!

Room Tip: I stayed in the last room on the right side so it was quiet and sunny
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Happyday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Olympia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016

Please spend a bit more to stay somewhere else unless you just want a hotel with a pool to tan. The room I stayed in was horrible mainly because of the aircon which emitted an extremely foul smelling stench. I approached the manager about this and he said it's not the aircon(which quite obviously was the problem). I decided not to argue and sleep with the windows open but had a horrible night due to the mosquitoes.. To add to this, the manager made some rather racist remarks by saying it's probably the Chinese tourists before me who ate in the room who made it smell bad! So many things wrong with this claim; first and foremost, isn't it the hotel's responsibility to make sure rooms are in good condition for guests?? Breakfast which costed 7Euro was abysmal, please avoid. Location was fine although if you pay a bit more you can be closer to the centre and probably avoid my bad experiences..

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wahwenrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Perfect hotel at great prices....Spectacular service with many activities to offer on this amazing island....buffet breakfast available...hospitality that goes above and beyond...includes transfers and is within walking distance of Thira town

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

This was not a pleasant experience for us. We were on a Top Deck tour so we didn't choose it. The room was a good size, but the amenities were dreadful. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on in my life - it was so hard. The shower was terrible - the shower head did not fit in the holder so I had to hold it for the whole shower and the shower curtain is nowhere near the floor so you wet the entire bathroom with one short shower. The gentleman on the front desk was really friendly but also took a very loud phone call in the breakfast room when it was just us two and we were trying to have a peaceful breakfast - it was really unpleasant. The whole ground floor was really noisy both mornings - particularly noise coming from the kitchen across the hall - I'm sure they could have been even a fraction quieter when preparing and clearing breakfast than they were. The plus was the location and nice view of the courtyard and pool - we thought the walk to Fira was quite reasonable at about 15 mins.

Room Tip: Best not to stay on the ground floor
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

My wife and i stayed 3 nights here after a disappointing experience at Stavros Villas; We were made very welcome by the young lady at reception who throughout our stay was exceptionally pleasant and helpful. When judging a place you need to take into account what you pay and Hotel Olympia is only 40 Euros per night. Our room at the back of the hotel was a reasonable size with balcony and sea view, a little dated but in good order and clean, we were provided with clean linen and towels every day. The bathroom was small but again clean and perfectly adequate, the shower functioned perfectly well and there was plenty of hot water.
Breakfast is 7 Euros, it is a buffet, choice is limited, however there was cereal, fruit salad, yogurt, meat,cheese and as much toast as you wanted, we did not experience any problems of out of date foods as suggested by previous reviews.
There is a good size swimming pool with plenty of space and sunbeds. The hotel is in a quiet area just a couple of minutes away from the very noisy main road. You can walk into Fira comfortably in 10 minutes. The hotel does cater for groups of young travellers and students, there was some noise early evening from talking in the corridors and door banging however there was no unruly behaviour and the hotel was quiet by midnight.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet and overlook open land and the sea
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StokieStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karteradhos hotels
0.5 km away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
679 reviews
0.1 km away
Pension George
Pension George
#1 of 15 in Karteradhos
321 reviews
0.5 km away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Artemis Village
Artemis Village
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
206 reviews
0.2 km away
Maistros Village
Maistros Village
#10 of 15 in Karteradhos
120 reviews
0.0 km away
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
#9 of 15 in Karteradhos
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Address: Karteradhos 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Karteradhos
Price Range: €35 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Olympia 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia offers a traditional Cycladic setting conveniently located in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood, yet only a few minutes walk (600 meter) from Fira.Hotel Olympia is within walking distance from restaurants, taverns, shops, currency exchange and bus service points.We offer two swimming pools, one catering for adults and the other for children where you will enjoy a relaxing atmosphere.We also provide spacious private parking, a lounge/bar area and a friendly staff willing to assist with any needs you may have.Our comfortable rooms are provided with daily cleaning, private bathroom, air-conditioning, mini-refrigerator, satellite TV, direct dial phone and private balcony overlooking the spectacular Aegean Sea. We also offer fax and safety deposit service.Transfers offered to and from port/airport between 08:00-23:00 free of charge.Internet Access Capability as well as Wireless Internet Connection in all rooms and public areas.Continental breakfast is included in the price of the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Olympia Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing