We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
101
168
76
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
168
76
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view no lift early ferry old building ferry port room was clean last night nice friendly hotel guests leaving new owners overnight stop a lovely stay an easy drive across the road look elsewhere an ideal location bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

This little hotel was fine for an overnight stopover. I was a little disappointed that there is only a very small car park which could only take about 6 cars, therefore expect to park on the road if you arrive late. The room was clean although somewhat dated and basic. The bathroom door opened onto the auto-closing arm of the room’s main door therefore was cracked and damaged, it would only open 60%, very strange set up. Restaurant looked nice but we didn’t eat there. Close to the beach and port for a ferry. Staff were friendly and courteous.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Road746766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We have stayed here before and it works out very well for the last night of the holiday before getting the early ferry home. We received a very friendly reception and the room had a sea view which is nice. The restaurant was closed that evening but there are plenty of other places to eat very nearby. Looking at the menu it did look a bit too fancy so we probably wouldn't have chosen to eat there anyway. We chose to spend a bit longer in bed and breakfast once we boarded the ferry rather than having breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that. A very nice friendly hotel with an ideal location so I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GaryW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

We had a lovely stay here, I would caution anyone with mobility issues or a heart condition to consider carefully, as because it is an old building there are a lot of stairs and no lift. The staff were very obliging and carried our bags up to the room for us though. The breakfast is varied and fresh and the main rooms are beautifully decorated. The location is ideal for visiting both the historic and the seaside resort.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Tiny rather tatty room. Very faded and we had to negotiate who moved and when, bed small but clean. Breakfast in an interesting dining room we had to be up very early to catch the ferry Staff were up chatty and helpful. Breakfast better than the room. Heard about the history of the hotel in WW2 when it was on the beach and the regional German hq no restaurant on site and we had to search for a decent local meal. Some parking at rear. Hotel quiet but there are better choices locally

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rosie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Excellent location if you are heading for early ferry. Breakfast is early so able to eat before 8.30 ferry, great choice of pastries and bacon & scrambled eggs (although hot plate not switched on so food stone cold) although receptionist very apologetic and heated it up for us in the microwave. No kitchen staff in so obviously made the night before. Hotel rooms a bit tired but they are clean. Walking distance to restaurants

Room Tip: Large corner room available, very bright with sea view
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank glj001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews