We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
142
213
69
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
213
69
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscrambled eggsferry terminalla maretouring normandypit stopfree parkingcar parkkeep an eyefriendly reception staffplenty of parkingstay there againup marketpoissonevening mealbeautiful townan excellent hotelfive days
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We have just spent a night here and, as always, it was excellent. Perfect location for our needs, perfect staff, our room was very clean and comfortable. Our meal in the restaurant was faultless. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Perfect location
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for five days and found it very calm and comfortable. The staff were all English speakers and extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble and any queries were attended to immediately. The breakfasts were excellent with a large and plentiful buffet replenished promptly. The rooms were very clean and our bedsheets were changed daily.
The one gripe is that the shower only produced lukewarm water and that after being left running for five minutes.

Room Tip: There are only two floors to this Hotel but there is a lift. Whether you choose a room at the front or rear, you will have peace.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank loftyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie B, Responsable réception at Best Western La Mare O Poissons, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Ouistreham. It was a pleasure to host you in our hotel. Unfortunatly we had a small problem with our water heater and hot water was taking a little bit more time than usual to arrive. We are happy to announce that is problem is now solved !

We hope to see you again in our beautiful region of Normandy.
Kind regards
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We did a Brittany Ferries short break & spent 3 nights here. It's a small hotel about 3 minutes from the ferry terminal. The rooms are spotless & the staff are really friendly. There is a small bar which was really nice. The restaurant is lovely with exceptional food. It's not cheap but it's quality. Breakfast is good mainly continental but also with bacon, sausage & scrambled egg. I would come back here again.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the car park & fields it was fine.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendyk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie B, Responsable réception at Best Western La Mare O Poissons, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We work hard every day in order to offer to our guest the best experience as possible in Ouistreham.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Best Regards
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Hotel is surely good, though the bathroom is really small. Well located for a bike tour till Caen though a bit far from the beach (if walking). Breakfast is not "super de luxe" but everything you want is available (different meats, cheese, eggs etc).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie B, Responsable réception at Best Western La Mare O Poissons, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017


Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. We would be very interested to have your feedback concerning our breakfast ? What would you like to see more on our buffet ? We use your comment to improve our hotel so it is very important for us to have more details.

We hope to see you again in Normandy.
Kind regards
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Very clean and practical and easy reach of the ferry terminal. Book early if you want the restaurant as it was fully booked for us 4 days ahead and it's a taxi ride to anywhere else to eat.

Room was of reasonable size with bed averagely comfortable. TV is French only. Noisy bin collection and deliveries at 6am if you have the windows open. Bathroom average size but with two of the tiniest shower gel and shampoo containers I have ever seen. Not sufficient for two and mean.

Difficult to find reception and the receptionist was tepid.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back to avoid early morning noise.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cccustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie B, Responsable réception at Best Western La Mare O Poissons, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay. Since your stay, we made many improvement. Our guest now have CNN and BBC on their TV but also all the british and american movies of the channel Canal+ in english. We also provide bath gel and shampoo on demand in order to avoid to much wasting.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you need any other information.
Regards
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews