We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond its best days but still recommendable”
Review of Villas Plat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas Plat
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

It is more like a holidays site with shops, own beach, ATM, hairdresser and several villas. Although the buildings have seen better days, we had a good stay.

Surprisingly got a last-minute reservation in peak season (hence 90€ per night), with a room which balcony looks to the sea from the side still, but the wifi signal does not reach Spacious, own bathroom, aircon and cleaning service, as I said we had a good stay.

The whole site has also a driver, boat shuttle service to Dubrovnik, which is 15-20 mins away by car.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Seb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016

This hotel is about to be refurbished, and you can tell. It is very dated and many parts are closed and derelict. It is on a steep hillside so there are many steps. Unfortunately on arrival we were not offered a bell boy service to take our bags to our room so had to lug them ourselves. The room was perfectly adequate (Villa Celia Rm 23, studio on 2nd floor), clean and with the most amazing view of the Adriatic and the stunning sunsets you get every night! The food is really poor, sorry, but flies on the breakfast fruits, scrambled eggs that tasted of fish and the same choices every night with a very poor table service for drinks just meant we did what everyone else does and ate out. We tried to get the hotel to book us into King Konobo, but they said that the manager never answers his phone, so it wouldn't be worth them calling. So, my husband and I wandered up the hill in midday heat to see if we could book ourselves, and guess what, we find the manager on the phone taking reservations! I don't know if the hotel were being obstinant, but either way we got a booking and it was definitely worth it. For a more personal table service evening meals at the hotel's Taverna Plat are better, but you get no discount even if your HB, which I think is a little poor! The local beaches are stones and you need swim shoes to tolerate the stones underfoot if your off for a swim. Sunbeds and parasols are 20KUNA each (so 60KUNA for a couple for the day). The restaurant Posiedon on one of the local beaches is a great spot for lunch!

Don't get me wrong, for the price we paid this place was perfectly adequate, but it's the little touches that make a hotel memorable, and this place just doesn't do that. Some staff are lovely, some are quite rude and surly! Once this pace has been renovated it will be amazing, it's just a shame that in the meantime holiday makers have to suffer a tired hotel, and there was no mention of us getting a discount for the new hotel as way of sweetening the bad aspects of our stay!

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views of the Adriatic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Charli321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

If you have any health problems or trouble walking don't bother coming to this hotel. We changed rooms due to my mother's health and the stairs, however the next room we still had to walk up 35 steps and down 15 to get to our room! There are steps to the restaurant, pool, beach etc. The brochure did say they had a shuttle service into Dubrovnik however this only goes when there are 3 or more people - didn't happen while we were there for 7 days. To get to the main road for a bus you had to walk up a hill, this took me at least 20 minutes (my mother was unable to manage this hill) she had to get a lift with strangers. The hotel wasn't concerned about any of this
Most of the other guests had a car.
The majority of the guests were from England, Spain, France, Italy, Germany and Croatia. Most were elderly and then a few families.
The hotel offers a buffet for breakfast and dinner, the food needs to be improved a fair bit (in my opinion they should cook local food as well as cater for foreigners) however the staff are very friendly in the Restaurant unlike a few Reception staff.
There is a nice little play ground for little children.
The hotel is in the middle of no where. You need a car or use public transport.
We caught the bus several times and the local boat back from the Old City. We caught the boat to Cavat one day - that was nice. Also did a day trip to Montenegro which we enjoyed.
The Hotel offers free WIFI, however this only works in the public places eg: restaurant and this is not all the time.
A new hotel will be finished in 2018 which will have a lift, the villas will be renovated.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sammon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This is our 2nd stay at Villa Plat and we had a great time again. The staff were fantastic and remembered us from last year which was great for my son and made us feel settled really quickly. The accommodation does need some attention, we had some issues with celling tiles coming down in our bathroom but we had such a great apartment and view there's no way we were moving. The pool, beaches and restaurants were good. Great base for going out visiting. We braved the local bus this year which seemed to cost us 54 Kuna for a family of 3 regardless of whether we went 10 stops or 2! The water taxi was great again but is quite expensive. There used to be a little shop on the main road, this has gone now so you are quite reliant on the shop on site. This year we invested in a taxi trip to the local Lidl, 150 Kuna each way which was a little expensive but worth it and the taxi drivers were nice and gave some local tips on where to visit.
The big news is that a major renovation of Villa Plat starts in October 16. This will see the existing villas renovated and the dilapidated buildings that have been in ruins since the war ended 20 years ago replaced with a luxury holiday complex! This will totally change the quirky, quiet little resort into something quite amazing. We'll miss this place, we've got wonderful family memories. Maybe we'll visit again when the work is done but will be prepared for a different experience. (would be so much better if they sort out the terrible wifi when they refurb)

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This hotel is located by the sea. It has several different buildings. There is big relief so if you do not like to walk up and down the hill maybe this is not you place. Pool is great for adults and located in marvelous place. Breakfast is very good. There is two restaurant in hotel area Tavern Plat and same where breakfast is served. Internet in the rooms is not real working. In the lobby wifi works not so good especially if there is plenty of people using it. I have also understood that in October 2016 this hotel will be demolished and build totally new facility. Location is anyhow great and peaceful.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank RamiH-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plat
3.1 km away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,184 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,861 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Samba
Villa Samba
#1 of 6 in Plat
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Beach House Poseydon
0.6 km away
Apartmani Ana
Apartmani Ana
#2 of 3 in Plat
23 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Orphee
Hotel Orphee
#1 of 4 in Plat
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Plat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Plat

Address: Plat 47, Plat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Plat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Plat
Price Range: €131 - €179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Plat 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Plat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Plat Hotel Plat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing