We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
486
282
89
33
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
282
89
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar staff sunny beach evening entertainment great holiday animation team asian restaurant pizza khans tent plenty of choice karaoke bar thomson rep sea view flight times the hotel manager walk in shower welcome meeting fantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Just returned from 1 week at the hotel, it's almost 2 hours from the airport TUI failed to mention that... ! It's a lovely hotel, beachfront location, excellent rooms although very small bathroom towels, 5 minutes away from the local town but the variety of food on offer let's the hotel down.
It felt very much the same food every day and it wasn't the hottest of food, little choice for children and no plastic plates or cups, the restaurant staff are very quick to take a plate should you put it down but not so quick setting up tables for the next visit as I found myself finding my own cutlery on a few occasions I did ask the staff but they didn't understand... The restaurant can do with someone in there running the show as I came across two spillages staff were just walking past...! We tried the Asian restaurant, it was ok nothing special.
Bar staff were very attentive serving up nice cocktails!
Animation team were good although the evening entertainment was very limited.
Lifeguard was a miserable bugger, getting angry when the jacuzzi wasn't turned off and he was sat know where near where he could try and rescue someone should he need to.

Room Tip: Pool view would have been better
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mummy2977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Helios Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a valued feedback following your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to know that our excellent seafront made hava great impression on you and as a service-oriented company, we really appreciate your positive comments about our bar and animation staff.

On the other hand, we regret to read you have not been fully satisfied with the gastronomy experience at our hotel and that, as you described, the offered variety did not fulfill your expectations. We can assure that we do check daily our food offer and quality providing a wide selection of dishes catering for all tastes. Certainly, we will forward your comments to our Chef and Maître D'.

We are surprised to read your comments on one of our lifeguards. We would have liked to have been informed about all your inconveniences during your stay, so we could have helped you to enjoy your time at our hotel. Please be assured that we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope that you would still consider staying with us in the future and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Helios Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Just returned from our 2nd holiday at this great hotel, and it was as enjoyable as the 1st. The hotel is very clean from top to bottom, inside & out. We had a fantastic room on the 7th floor,large and spacious with a massive bed!
If I had to have a little moan, it would be,that the restaurant staff can be a little too eager to clear & reset your table ready for someone else whilst you're getting your next course.

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank gasmanGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This is the ideal hotel if you just want to be lazy and do nothing apart from visit the beach which is on your doorstep, eat good food and drink lots of different drinks. The hotel is always clean and the staff so friendly. This is the second time my husband and I have visited this hotel and it has not let us down yet. The Asian restaurant is well worth the visit and is part of your AI package.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BRYCE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Overall we had a lovely stay and very happy with hotel for price we paid but there is room for improvement. This is a lovely size resort away from the hectic beach resorts.

Pros:-
lovely location on beach
Very clean throughout
Animation team/kids club very good. Our son was kept entertained throughout our stay. Especially steli- a great asset to the hotel.
Really comfy beds and nice rooms (shower no bath though).

Cons:-
No tea/coffee facilities in room.
No plastic cups/beakers for kids in main restaurant. Only wine glasses/ glass tumblers.
Spanish/Asian restaurants disappointing. Have the ingredients and presentation but lacking flavour.
Life guards not seated in area where they can view whole of pool.

Overall we would however recommend this hotel for young families.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank Davinia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Just got back from a nice week family holiday here and would happily recommend. Firstly if you fly to Burgas, it is at least a 90 minute transfer not the hour advertised in UK travel agents brochures. We wish we had known this in advance having travelled with a couple of young children.

The hotel. In summary this is a fair 4 star hotel. Rooms are well presented and clean. The service is fine, we did not require any special assistance from hotel staff (other than a minor ant issue which was resolved promptly) and all bar staff were friendly and most restaurant staff were also (a few were much less efficient than others but nothing to complain about).

The food itself is pretty standard all inclusive affair. Decent selection with something to choose every night and plenty of options for the kids. As with most all inclusive it does get a bit repetitive and I don't think I would have been happy for more than our week stay. We did not try either the Asian or Spanish restaurant although but heard good things from other guests.

Pool was nice, a little cold and not helped by the windy weather for the first few days. Pool bar convenient and good service and the general pool area was kept very clean. Kids pool was nice, but positioned where it took the brunt of the wind which was far from ideal.

As this was not our 1st trip to Bulgaria we did not go on any excursions and decided to stay in and around the hotel. The local town is small but quite nice with a selection of shops, bars and restaurants. If you want lively, then go to Sunny Beach, if you want quiet an relaxing then Obzor is a great choice

Overall we had a nice trip and have no complaints, but equally not a hotel we are likely to rush back to but would happily recommend to others for a nice family holiday which is much cheaper than other destinations

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews