We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
392
221
50
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
221
50
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian restaurant aqua park shuttle bus animation team cuban bar main restaurant water slides self service sea view three children the main lobby bar for making our holiday small water park indoor pool great fun mini bar in the room large hotel
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

What a great hotel. We came here for a week from the 28th of May. We loved it.
The rooms were lovely and big and spotless. We were top floor and although we were at the front and didn’t have a sea view, we had the sun in the evening. It was lovely.
We were a family of 9, ranging from age 8 to 69. Non of us were bored. There was plenty to do. My kids didn’t spend much time in the kids club but there was plenty going on if your kids did want to go in them. They loved the occasions that they did go in. The adults activities varied and were good fun.
The animation team were brilliant. Full of enthusiasm and always seemed to be working from 10am until late.
The staff at the hotel were also brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. Everywhere you look there is a cleaner. The hotel was spotless.
The food and drink was great. Always a great selection, even my fussy 8 year old had no complaints. She ate loads and always found something to eat. She especially loved the chocolate fountain at dinner. We tried the Italian and the Bulgarian. They were nice but I wouldn’t be fussed to visit them again. The Italian was nicer than the Bulgarian. Snacks are available all around the different bars between meal times.
The cocktails were lovely. Both alcoholic and non alcoholic.
We never struggled to get sun beds together and we would usually get 7-9. The pools were great. The big pool is quite deep all over but there was a smaller, more shallow one. The indoor pool is nice for cooler days, it gets very warm in there.
The beach was nice. Plenty of sun beds. The amber flag was up most days for us, some days the red flag. We did the water sports on one day, they were a good price. About £10 each for the ring/banana boat.
The aqua park was great fun, although some of us came off with a few scratches from one of the slides.
A few of my family had back massages in the spa and all said they really enjoyed it.
The hotel shops and gift shop were all reasonably priced.
My only criticism of the hotel is that the floor around the indoor pool could do with some sort of matting for people passing through. It’s quite slippy at times, although there is staff there very often clearing the floor of water.
All in all we had a great holiday and although I don’t like returning to the same place twice, I’m already considering it for next year.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Hayley,

What a great review! Thank you so much for having spent the time to share your experience about us with the other travelers. We are very delighted to know that you have spent a wonderful time in our resort. We definitely will think about what could be done for the floor surface in the indoor pool area. Thanks a lot for that recommendation as well.
Please, do not hesitate long and book us again for another great holidays.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Here, then, is a layman's guide (my opinion, at least) to staying at what can only be described as a gem on the Black Sea Coast (and don't forget to give me a review 'thumbs up' if what you read is of help!):
CHECK-IN
After a quick and easy passage through immigration at the airport, check-in at hotel reception was equally a doddle – at the desk, Rial was a huge help and met all our questions with patience and a smile. Having suffered a delayed flight and not arriving until the early hours, her warm welcome helped us relax somewhat.

There’s a bellboy service, so do remember to have some small change ready for a tip – it’s only courteous (please don’t take these hard workers for granted) and it will be appreciated.

BEDROOMS
Our room (#1513 on the 5th floor), as well as having a sea view, overlooked a nature reserve and small aqua park (closed until June). Spacious with plenty of wardrobe space (and hangers), twin beds are comfortable, as too the pillow (although this will be down to personal choice). There’s a built-in hairdryer (in the bathroom!!), shelves for storing clothes (no drawers though), couch, desk, table/chairs, sufficient number of mirrors, mini-bar (chargeable), instant hot water, power shower it ain’t but effective nonetheless, mosquito screen (no mosquitos in May, nor in June/July I understand) leading to a fair-size balcony which comes with table and chairs as well as a clothes horse, security safe (25 lev, non-returnable but an absolute essential in my opinion), loads of separate lights etc. etc.

Rooms are cleaned daily although not always at around the same time each day – sometimes early morning, sometimes much later. Clean towels daily.

The water is generally safe to clean your teeth with but I’d recommend using bottled water or that from the many dispensing units for drinking.

For electrical plug adaptors, take along the plug which has two round pins/two round pins with two earth clips on the side. Bulgaria operates on a 230V supply voltage and 50Hz.

BEACH/POOLS
There’s a deposit of 20 Lev or 10 Euro required for each beach towel, but this is refundable at check-out. You can swap dirty/used towels for fresh ones daily, but be aware they can only be changed once a day between 08:30/11:00 and 15:00/17:00h.

There are two pools outside, one adult one for children, as well as indoor pool.

The hotel is situated right on the beach (the longest on the Black Sea coast). Powder sand, not pebbles. Absolutely brilliant. In May, spare sun-loungers were plentiful – we had absolutely NO problems getting one either on the beach or by the pool. However, I can’t guarantee this will be the case during the High Season. In addition, there is a separate PAID area close to the children’s pool if you so wish to ensure a good spot.

One or two biting bugs around, but too few and far between to be a hassle.

DAYTIME HOTEL ACTIVITIES
Lots of activities going on throughout the day e.g. archery, shooting, darts, volleyball, table tennis, and an active children’s club helps keep the little darlings amused also. Other TripAdvisor reviews will give you an idea of just how hard-working the animation team is.

Keep-fit sessions are run poolside and there’s also a fitness room for the dedicated.

FOOD/DRINK
High standard and well-presented. Drinks and meals are self-service. There is a huge choice at meal times which should suit all preferences, whether you’re a carnivore or vegetarian (there was also a vegan guest who didn’t seem to have too much of a problem filling her plate). Just don’t pile up the same items everyday otherwise you’re bound to say there’s nothing different – simply vary it each time.

Okay, so sometimes a dish or two isn’t piping hot, but hot dishes aren’t cold either. Warm chips – get over it!

Fresh fruit in abundance.

There are two main bars – Pool Bar (9am-5pm) and Lobby Bar (9am-11pm) – serving a range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks plus a couple of self-service stations (wine, beer and soft drinks) on site. Free alcoholic cocktails (Tequilla Sunrise, Gin Fizz, Sex on the Beach etc.) are made up from local spirits, whereas branded spirits are charged extra. Tea, coffee and other hot drinks are also available although specialist coffees are again charged at an extra cost.

Snacks are available in the Lobby Bar at various times throughout the day.

Tip: refill an empty bottle with water from any of the cold water stations dotted around.

EVENING ENTERTAINMENT
Okay, we’re not talking West End or Broadway, but go watch with an open mind and be entertained. The shows got better as the week progressed – Asian Night, Bulgarian Night and Magic Show to name a few (but what on earth was that sort-of Lady Gaga tribute show all about?).

Only complaint really was the length of each show – none managed beyond an hour, most lasting just ¾ hour. Still, it gave us the excuse to spend longer at the bar…

EXCURSIONS/DAY TRIPS
The UNESCO World Heritage Site of Nessebar is a ‘must visit’ – about £33 each, including 3-course lunch (recommend the ‘lunch option’ at just £5 each extra in comparison to the ‘meal not included option’ as you’ll find it hard to get a better meal deal in the town – and SPOILER ALERT you also receive a nice free gift). The journey time there is around an hour, including short rest-stop (with panoramic view of the Sunny Beach peninsula). The Old Town (dating back some 9000 years) has cobbled streets, traditional timber houses, small squares, amphitheatre, an archaeological museum and several pretty churches (although once you’ve seen a couple you’ve seen them all, if you know what I mean).

The trip to Nessebar is billed as ‘all day’, but it’s not quite that long. Our pick-up time was 10:00am (arriving gone 11:00am) and we were led back to the coach at around 3:30pm.

Obzor town itself is worth a visit, if only to stretch the legs a bit, although it’s rammed with shops selling roughly the same thing –souvenirs, jewellery and clothing i.e. little variety. For 2 LEV each, the hotel shuttles gets you there in two minutes (you can walk the beach route in 30-40 minutes). We didn’t try any of the restaurants or bars here, so check out the other TripAdvisor reviews for the best places to go.

One excursion that we didn’t go on but heard good reviews about was ‘Khan’s Tent’ (meal and show at a hotel in Sunny Beach).

CHECK-OUT
Check-out is mid-day. However, if you have a later flight, don’t worry – a holding room for your luggage is made available (free) until you leave (don’t forget to tip the bellboy!), shower facilities are provided AND you are still given access to free meals and drinks. In all the years we’ve been travelling, this is a first. Absolute credit to the Sol Luna Bay management team.

MISCELLANEOUS
There is free Wi-Fi access.

Easy access throughout the hotel for wheelchair users.

English is understood and widely used despite the British being in the minority here (predominantly German guests, as well as Russian, French, Belgian and Bulgarian visitors also – absolutely no issues with the foreign nationals whatsoever). Indeed, we were the ONLY travellers off our plane booked into the hotel.

A massive “thank you” to Antonia Raycheva who organised wine and chocolates for my wife’s 63rd birthday, and the beautifully written letter to her. It’s small touches like this that distinguishes between a ‘good’ and an ‘excellent/special hotel’.

A reminder we visited during the off-season (May) when there weren’t hordes of people. Cheaper time to travel yet we still enjoyed 25° sunshine, although various options weren’t available to us, such as the two a la carte restaurants (Bulgarian and Italian), as well as the aqua park.

Honestly, you really can’t spend a great deal of money here, unless you choose to regularly travel to and eat out in Obzor instead of taking advantage of All Inclusive at the hotel. We took about £300 and brought £200 of it back! Just a couple of souvenirs purchased, excursions (for two) to Nessebar and Obzor, and tips.

The national currency is Bulgarian Lev (BGN) or Leva (plural). One lev is made up of 100 ‘stotinki’. The current exchange rate means it’s pretty simple to convert in your head – approximately 2 Lev to the British Pound. We read somewhere that while Bulgaria is part of the EU it is not part of the Eurozone and transactions are therefore always done in Leva – absolute rubbish!! Pure fluke saw us take a few Euros with us and I was so glad we did – it’s accepted in many places, and acted as tips when we hadn’t any Lev. DON’T take Pound sterling unless you feel the urge to splurge on board the plane…which take Euros anyway.

SUMMING UP
Great customer service. Great food. Great amenities. Up there with the RIU’s.

NON-HOTEL RELATED
Upon an abysmal rough landing at Burgas Airport, the TUI personnel there had no record of us – we were sent to the information desk to sort things out, resulting in us very nearly missing our transfer.

The drive to/from Burgas Airport is horrendous, especially in the dark. I will never complain about the condition of British roads again! And having a driver who seemed incapable of keeping the coach on the tarmac but instead almost went off the verge half a dozen times…I almost volunteered to take over the wheel! We even had to convince him to take us to our hotel which didn’t appear to be on his list of destinations.

Shame on TUI, also, for the return coach journey (abrupt and discourteous driver). What is billed as a one-hour transfer turned into a 2¼ hour nightmare after a decision was taken to make several hotel pick-ups along the way. We were last to check-in at the airport desk and only had minutes to spare before boarding the plane (so no duty free’s!!!).

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank MarkN2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Mark,

Thank you so, so much for having written this detailed and objective report about our hotel and your stay in Bulgaria at all. I am sure your review will be very helpful for all our future guests. Thank you very much for the nice words about us and our product. We are very happy that you have appreciated our service and product and have spent lovely holidays.
We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon back in Sol Luna Bay Resort.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Visited here with my 13 year old daughter... First impressions... Lovely hotel in deserving of 4 stars, our room was great, sea and pool view, close to everything. The food was great, fantastic selection, and we are booked into the Italian restaurant here on the all Inc for tommorow night. Look forward to that! Zumba is on daily which is great fun and helps burn off those cheeky cocktails. The entertainment however was very amateur and. We watched some of the cabaret show last night which I felt I could have done myself lol. Other guests also commented on this. And the Bulgarian night was not much better. Location... Sol luna is the furthest North of all the hotels in obzor so if you want to into the the small town you have to travel. Shuttle bus is provided every hour for just 4 levs or a taxi is 10 lev. There is nothing on the door step. Excursions... The jeep safari was great fun. Cost around £ 60 for 2 people. The boat trips weren't on as they start in June unless you travel to sunny beach with is 40 mins and 2 bus rides away. Bring plenty spending money if you want to book excursions as they are quite pricey and you can't get them locally from anywhere else. Amenities... Small heated indoor pool. Great for kids. Large outdoor pool, own beach and some day time entertainment for tgd kids. Fab holiday all in all if you want a quiet relaxing one.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Nezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear guest Nezra,

Thank you very much for commenting us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that all in all you like our hotel and are enjoying your holidays. At the same time, we are very sorry to know that our location and the animation program do not meet your expectations. The location of the hotel is right on the sandy beach, not far away from the town and at the same time far enough to be a quiet and relaxing place. So, the location is one of our best advantages, we think. In terms of animation program, we are offering a full program 7 day a week of daytime and evening entertainment. All our animators are amateurs (like in every hotel) but they are talented young people who are doing their best to perform best and entertain our guests.

We hope that till the end of your vacation you will appreciate our animation and we will be able to welcome you soon again for another great holidays.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Had such a good time in 2017 we are going back again this August, something we have never done before. Food was excellent and our child loved the group activities and made lots of friends. Beach was gorgeous and hotel always clean. Didn't use the swimming pool as water too cold for me but with the sea so close it didn't matter. Would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank cathise2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear guest “cathise2018”,

We are very happy to hear from you that you have spent a great time with us in 2017 and can’t wait to welcome you again in 2018. We are sure that this time you will have even much more fun and will spend a fabulous vacation.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Absolutely amazing place excellent staff lovely people extremely clean good food,aqua park not open till June though,still had an amazing time beach is beautiful,water sports on the beach right next door

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank clairehutch2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Claire,

thank you very much for your comment and the nice words about our hotel and staff. We are very glad to hear that you have spent an amazing time here and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews