We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montana Monteverde
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$108
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$56
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$267
US$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliconia Hotel(Monteverde)
US$89
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
57
107
96
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
107
96
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscloud forestmain buildingcosta ricahuge bathtubthe pacific oceanleaf cutter antsrestaurant staffcomfortable bedseggsbeautiful sunsetreception areahummingbird feedersnicoya peninsulastayed here for two nightsbreakfast was includedtown of santa elenabalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The buildings and grounds could use a little work. Looks like they are in the middle of making improvements. The drive down from the road is not impressive. But overall the rooms were fine and the views were great. Comfortable beds, TV worked, all OK. No fridge or coffee maker. Bathroom was attractive. Room included free breakfast which was OK. (fine, not bad, not great). There was free computer/internet downstairs from the lobby. Hotel is near 4 or 5 restaurants (5 minute walk) so that was good. For dinner we liked De Lucia's, Johnny's Pizza, and Sophias.

Room Tip: The main lodge looked newer. But we stayed in one of the several buildings down the hill from the main lodge and were very pleased. Very quite. (Lodge is probably fine too, but is closer to the road).
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a couple of days here while exploring the cloud forest reserves. Our room was in a separate block about 100 metres away from the main part of the hotel, down an extremely steep path, which at the bottom end was rough and unmade and poorly lit at night. Fortunately our luggage was taken to/from our room. But the room was quite large with a good bathroom attached, and a balcony with a very good view of the forest and, in the distance, the Pacific Ocean. There was no internet in the rooms, but it was free and quite fast in the reception area. Breakfast was served but was good - with juice, fruits, french toast, pancakes, and local specialities like rice and beans.

Our main gripe, having had lunch and two dinners there, was that the menu for all was the same rather limited set of choices. Had we been there any longer we might have exhausted all the items on the menu. What the served was, however, perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: The block of rooms 41 - 48 (I think) had the best view and was furthest from any road noise, with lots of bird life around, but it did involve negotiating a very steep and partly unmade path.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and we have nothing bad to say about it. The room we stayed in was spacious, clean, and had an amazing view. WIFI was not available in the room but available in the lobby and it was fast. Breakfast was included, and we had choices of pancakes, French toasts, or rice and beans. Overall a very enjoyable stay and we recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We lucked out on our room as it was located furthest away from the busy road. The room had one full wall of windows which opened to a quaint patio. Then nothing but a gorgeous view of the mountain side. This was the best the room had to offer. There was no internet in the room, be it free or for purchase. The only WIFI was located in the lobby and it was not a very strong signal. The bathroom of the room was outdated and the per room hot water heater lasted for only one quick shower, which resulted in split shower shifts...and one really cold shower. The on premises bar was neat with a wide selection and fun atmosphere. The hotel restaurant was a bit on the expensive side, but nothing out of the ordinary for hotel restaurants. The workers in the restaurant were both very accommodating and very nice. The only meals we had were breakfast and they were both very good, the selection were slight. Every table got a big plate of fruit, yummy. Every table got juice and coffee, yummy. Every table got the option of three breakfast choices, with eggs; Pancakes, Gallos Pintos, or French Toast. The food was very good and the hot chocolate was worth it's weight in gold.

There is a great walking trail on the premises, that takes you through some typical woods of the area, we saw animals and many birds. The hotel is located within a 10-15 min walk to the center of Santa Elena. It's hilly and a lot of the walk is on the road while cars whip around the corners, but walking in this manner was very common no matter where you were located. Overall not an unpleasant place to stay. Many good qualities, with only minor issues with the bathroom in the room.

Room Tip: Request a room at the bottom of the hill, away from the view of other rooms. Beautiful, and you will be woken in the early morning by the birds flying outside you windows.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed in the main building on the second floor. Our room was lovely, with a nice balcony overlooking the cloud forest. It also had a two-person bath tub with jets, which was a nice way to warm up after our cold hike. We did not have any issues with traffic sounds--but we live downtown in a city and our house is never absent outside noise, so perhaps we are just used to it.

The hotel helped us to book our zip line tour and tour to the cloud forest. They also stored our luggage in a locked room and found a small screwdriver for us to use to fix something on our camera.

The restaurant next door- Chimera- is highly recommended for a good dinner. The restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced and had good service.

Overall, we really enjoyed our one night stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miche60605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews