We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/05/21
Hotels.com
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/05/21
eDreams
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/05/21
PricelineUS$117
Agoda.comUS$117
StayForLongUS$131
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
120
226
154
67
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
120
226
154
67
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister property spacious rooms cloud forest small town stayed here for two nights breakfast included lodge monteverde tour trees wood birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2020

We were very comfortable at this lodge. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony and watching the birds in the trees. It was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was very good.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infohpp, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2020

Dear John,

We really appreciate your feedback and for taking your time to share it.

Yes, our balconies and areas in general are great spots to see wildlife (very common in Monteverde). It is amazing how every day we receive compliments about our staff service, thank you so much for this.

We are glad that you can taste our food, every day we try to do our best.

Thank you so much again for your comments.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

Monteverde Country Lodge is situated 20 minutes walk outside the small town, Santa Elena. Most of the rooms are spacious, nice and clean. The Lodge has e beautiful garden..
The staff is smilingly helpful.
The restaurant is ok, but not among the best.

Room tip: Ask for a spacious room..
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 77bjornS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infohpp, Director of Sales at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Monteverde Country Lodge. Your opinion is very important to us because with it we can improve the quality of service that we will provide to our next guests.

We are happy to know you had a good time staying at our hotel, hope you can visit us again some day, you will be very welcome.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

I accept that this hotel has most tourists from the US and generally there seems to be a big population of tourists from the so called western world. I am Indian and I live in London, also very well travelled so used to the nuances that some countries have more than others around treatment of tourists who look a certain way! There is a definite undercurrent of colonial hangover at this hotel, and whilst the reception staff are great, there are a couple of interesting waiting staff in the restaurant / bar who don’t seem to quite have gotten the hang of how customer service works - especially when it comes to non Caucasian customers. If I am paying for a service, I expect nothing more and nothing less than what is being provided to others. It’s really that simple. I don’t tolerate discrimination however nuanced and under the surface it is. If you take my money, you treat me the same. We have loved Costa Rica so far, so will be coming back, but the two days spent at this hotel will not be repeated again in the future! Much better if you spend money on a more mature establishment that understands colour of skin does not dictate level of service.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Jaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infohpp, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear Jaya,

This comment really surprised to us, and we want to make sure you did the review to the correct Hotel. It is the first time we see a comment like this to our staff, and we can not share your thoughts. We have high standard in guest service and discrimination it is not in our vocabulary.

Even though we are sure this behavior does not represent us, we will check with our staff our internal policies and make sure that is clear for all the members of the company.
We appreciate your time.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2020

The rooms were very clean, the service was impeccable, the people were all very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay with you. Only thing that bothered us was the wind was very strong in the evenings and we were never told along our trip about the wind. When asked we were told that it is very windy there especially January February and March.

Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infohpp, Director of Sales at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Dear Pat,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate you have took your time to share your experince, it is very important to us.
Regarding the wind conditions, yes it is characteric from Monteverde been windy, rainy and cloudy as it is cloud forest, sorry to hear you have not be advised on that. However winds sometimes becomes strong, hope you have enjoy your visit.

Hope you can visit us again some day in the future, you will be very welcome.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020 via mobile

We stay 2 nights and we liked it. Be sure you go to the ‘el Bosque del los ninos’, it is a private own (quakers) natural park and beautiful. You can enjoyed a walk in the forest on well marked trails.
The country lodge offered beautiful spacious rooms and excellent breakfast. You can organized all your tours on arrival.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AgnesBlanche2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiegoQuesadaO, Propietario at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Dear guest, we appreciate your feedback because with it we can improve the quality of service that we will provide to our next guests. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our breakfast! We always offer a delicious buffet that includes scrambled eggs, gallo pinto, fried plantains, fresh cheese, Country Lodge-style sausages, yogurt, seasonal fresh fruits, cereals, natural juices and our exquisite Monteverde coffee! We are so glad you had a great time while staying with us, we truly hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews