We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Coral: a delightful option in Tambor”

Costa Coral Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 9 Restaurants in Tambor
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We discovered Costa Coral when looking for another/different dinner option while staying at Tambor Tropical. We were delighted to find this restaurant. The Canadian couple running the hotel and restaurant were kind and lively. The food was fantastic with a mix of Costa Rican and creative tropical styles. Be sure to make a visit here for lunch or dinner if staying in the area! Don't miss it if you're driving (on the ocean side). It's completely worth it. Thank you again, Amelia!! (Sarah & Tom, Chicago)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chicagoduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2016

During our vacation we were touring around and decided to stop for lunch. This place was very inviting. Happens to be another Ontario couple running the business. Food was fantastic, staff were friendly, restaurant was clean. After lunch we took a tour around the grounds and found the whole place so very nice. Pool area is fantastic!
We did return later in our holiday for a birthday dinner. Menu was exactly what we asked for, service and staff again were fantastic! Wonderful people! Anyone who is visiting and touring Costa Rica, stop here as you will not be disappointed! Wishing you all the luck with your business and we will definately be back when we return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, Manager at Costa Coral Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Thank you soo much Lily for taking the time to write a review. We so appreciate your input! We are trying our best to grow this place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

We have been coming to Tambor for years, and were very happy to hear that Costa coral restaurant and hotel is under new management. We just had a lovely afternoon and a tasty lunch there today, and think the new folks are doing a great job. The service was attentive and kind, and the food was tasty and satisfying. I had a burger with bacon crisped up just the way I asked for it, and my wife was very happy with her big Greek salad. The cacique sour cocktails we had were tasty and refreshing. The place is a lovely little gem of a hotel, with beautiful grounds and a lovely pool. We look forward to going back and enjoying this place many times, and are happy that this restaurant is once again welcoming visitors and part-time locals alike. Whether you are considering a stay here to enjoy the tranquil little fishing village of Tambor, or just want to stop by for a tasty bite or a cold drink, we highly recommend the revived Costa coral.

2  Thank doronamiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, Manager at Costa Coral Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2016

Ahh Thank you so much for the kind words and making the time to write a review, we are thrilled that you've discovered us and gave the place a visit and us a chance! Ed and I are working hard to offer fresh products with a local flare and make a comfy cozy setting for the townspeople & tourists of Tambor! We look forward to seeing you next time! Amelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Who would have guessed this delightful restaurant, great surroundings and wonderful meal, good prices. Try the daily specials..whole red snapper or fresh shrimp pilau/stir fry and home made desserts when we were there. Amelia and Ed are Canadian most hospitable and accommodating hosts. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, General Manager at Costa Coral Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2016

Thanks Jill, it was a pleasure to serve you and your party, we are thrilled you discovered our hidden gem!! We look forward to getting to know you & Carl a little better, as we are finely freeing up a little time to learn the community/neighbors better ourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We just stumbled on this place & glad we did. The restaurant was gorgeous. Open air & such friendly welcoming staff! They really appreciate your business. The service was excellent & the food delicious. We spent awhile there enjoying a drink after dinner & conversing with the owners. We really enjoyed it. Thanks Ed & Amelia for a memorable place in Tambor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KathyAnne82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, General Manager at Costa Coral Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2016

OMgoodness Ed & I are thrilled with your kind words! There is much to learn in this business of not only a restaurant but running a hotel, and the kindness of reviews helps make all the difference! Thanks Kathy for sharing your experience and helping us to grow, we so do appreciate it! I hope the rest of your trip is fabulous!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Coral Restaurant also viewed

Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Coral Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;