We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Castillo Resort(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Tambor(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$188
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$274
US$264
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Cristina Playa Tambor(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H&B Lodge and Restaurant(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costa Coral(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Oasis(Tambor)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
147
18
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
18
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjuan carlosshrimp nachosbirding tourscarlet macawscosta ricaguide nickyogurtbird watchingrooms are beautifullos delfinesair conditioninglocal woodguests stayingpura vida expeditionsnature trailfocal pointwatch the sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

From the moment we drove in we were overwhelmed. The private beach setting, the lush tropical gardens, and the architecturally designed wood buildings of this resort make it outstandingly beautiful! The staff were very friendly and the service is excellent. Also on site is the Scarlet Mackaw breeding centre which gives this place a very special and warm feeling. The rooms are oversized with very comfortable beds and pillows. The extensive use of local woods is total eye candy for those that appreciate woodworking. We are definitely returning next year with our family to really enjoy this resort to its fullest. Great value for your tourist dollar.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank murray a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for your visit and this great review. Looking forward to welcoming you and family next year. Gracias!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Tambor Tropical on my way to santa Teresa and it was amazing. The attentions received cannot be put in words. This place is magical and mesmerizing. The venues, the service, the food, the pool, the fact that is minutes away from other great beaches makes it the perfect place for a beach getaway. Loved it!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. Indeed Tambor Tropical is a great gateway to this beautiful Nicoya Peninsula. Look forward to welcoming you again!!!
Pura Vida!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

My husband and I decided to get married at Hotel Tambor Tropical in Puntarenas, Guanacaste. This was definitely the best choice we could ever take. Everything was more than perfect, and the staff from the hotel made it an even better experience. The place is just amazing, the beauty around it it´s simply unbelievable. One of the things I liked better was the privacy and peace at the hotel. The environment was extremely friendly and perfect to relax. The rooms are extremely comfortable and unique. I could tell the quality and maintenance of the hotel is great throughout the whole year. Regarding our wedding, I am very thankful because the staff made sure everything was exactly how we wanted it. I would definitely recommend this place if you want to have a great vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcearayau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. All of our staff felt honored to be part of such important day. We wish you both the best in years to come and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Where to begin? The grounds, the service, the room, the food or the view? Tambor Tropical is absolutely beautiful. My wife and I ended up here as a result of booking another place that was a dump. Fortunately we were able to make lemonade out of lemons. You can do absolutely nothing or you can be as active as you want to be. There is an on site tour service that will accommodate any adventure you may want to do. Javier, Toba & Captain Elvis were fantastic.
The rooms are nothing like I've ever seen in all my travels; wood from floor to ceiling. I'm guessing they are about 1000 square feet. The rooms all face east so you can lay in bed and watch the sun rise. The view of the water and Dos Largartos is worth the price of admission. (The beach is maybe 100yards away)
Each room has a kitchenette, and there is a store within walking distance. So if you would like to cook your meal in your room, no problema. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots pans, cutlery, dinner ware, etc. If cooking on vacation is too much of a chore, the restaurant has an excellent menu and is reasonably priced. I highly recommend the shrimp nachos!
There are no TV's, by design. At first the thought of no TV panicked me, but I found it was a good thing.
The staff were super friendly and accommodating. Juan-Ricardo, Noyla, Fatima, and the rest of the staff made us feel wel come and comfortable.
All in all Tambor Tropical is paradise.
There is only one thing we didn't like and that was leaving.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank ptooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, Director General at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

We didn't like you leaving either!! But you can always come back!!! Thank you very much for your thoughtful review, you have described our place better than I could! We look forward to a return visit. Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We just got back from 6 nights at Tambor Tropical and had a fantastic experience. It is a beautifully landscaped property. One of our favorite things about the property was the fact that is it home to wild Scarlet Macaws. They are amazing, beautiful birds and it was wonderful to see them daily.

The manager, Juan Carlos, was fantastic and even took us birding on a golf course our first full day there. We saw tons of birds with him and Ruth, our guide. Juan Carlos was always willing to answer any questions that we might have and was quick to provide guidance on places to visit.

The rooms were spacious and were a great home base. They have huge balconies! We also liked hanging out at the poolside bar where we got to meet a lot of different people!

Overalll, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tycur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hola! Thanks for your recent stay and your kind review. Tambor is indeed a great birding destination and we are glad you were able to experience it with us. We look forward to a return visit!! Pura Vida!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews