We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
150
18
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
18
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juan carlos birding tour costa rica pura vida expeditions guide nick yogurt los delfines guests staying watch the sunrise perch staff were super friendly low key included breakfast rest and relaxation small village rooms are large howler monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Tambor Tropical for 6 days and it was amazing! We were on a birding trip run by Nick Hawkins, our young guide who was so knowledgeable about the birds and the local ecosystem. The birding trip is highly recommended and includes some wonderful half-day trips or day trips to Raptor Ridge at Larry and Ruth’s place ( the highlight of our trip), the river trail and local nature preserves. The biodiversity of Costa Rica is truly amazing!

We loved the view from the hotel which is right on the beach, the rooms are beautiful and all buildings are constructed of local wood. Other highlights were the great food at the outdoor restaurant, the pool…and the friendly staff. Juan Carlos, the hotel manager was always making sure we were well taken care of…and he is also an avid bird-watcher and came out with us on some days.

Tambor is a quiet place, off the beaten track, so not many tourists and the beach is not busy.

We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, Director General at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Muchas gracias! Definitely our birding trips are awesome and we enjoy it as much as our guests do. We look forward to your return visit so we can go on other birding adventures and amazing undiscovered locations. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

An amazing and too brief stay at this beautiful resort. Everyone is attentive, courteous and friendly. The architecture is simply beautiful, rooms tastefully appointed and comfortable. Don't miss the sunrise from your bed!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Easygoingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, Director General at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your nice review. It encourages our staff to continue the highest level of care to our guest, whom usually go away as friends! See you again soon I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We spent just a couple of days in Tambor, traveling as second honeymoon in all the country. The place is lovely, the beach is a Paradise.
I had best massage ever with Sabrina, yoga teacher and really intense vibrations.
I had day carrying my stuffs and after the massage I felt flying! Super Recommended!
The Resort offers massage on the floor or on the table. I had the table, you have to ask for at the reception. All the stuff is amazing, lovely Fatima was really sweet!
Thank you so much! Hope to come back soon!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank fionafuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us!! And thank you for your kind review. You're right, this place can be healing :) Both of our masseuses are amazing!! Hope to have you back in the future!!! Gracias!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

My wife and I love this little boutique hotel in Tambor. We stayed here for eight nights, having come here to participate in a 6 day birding tour organized by the hotel. The tour consisted of day trips to various locations on the southern Nicoya Peninsula, including to two nature reserves, the Curu Wildlife Refuge and Cabo Blanco. Two mornings were spent birding on the Panica River Trails which are accessed directly from the hotel property. Nick Hawkins who conducts the hotel’s birding tours is an excellent guide and naturalist. With the rich bird life in the area, our group identified about 160 species of birds. It was a great tour.

The hotel is expertly managed by Juan Carlos Cruz. The staff are capable and friendly. The food is great. And the spacious rooms are really nice.

When we booked the tour and our stay at the hotel we asked Juan Carlos whether he could organize an extension of the tour to enable us to bird in some of the other eco-zones of Costa Rica. He agreed and organized six additional nights to include the cloud forests of Monteverde and tropical rainforests of Sarapiqui. The extension included all transportation, hotel rooms, all meals, and guiding. The itinerary was perfectly planned and we had a wonderful experience. We identified many additional birds, including the resplendent quetzal.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alvin154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Hola!! Great to hear from you. Thanks for your nice review. It's good to hear that you have enjoyed your entire itinerary. We look forward to a return visit. Staff sends you greetings and a Pura vida!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We were two people of 8 on a birding vacation to this beautiful part of the world. The trip is easy. After a flight to San José (SJO), a short flight to Tambor (TMU) on either Sansa (much easier to connect with at San José airport) or Nature Air, puts you very close to the resort, about a 10 minute drive. The manager, Juan Carlos, or one of his staff will pick you up. Pack lightly. You may well have to pay for extra baggage. We did. US$40. No big deal. You will also have to pay an arrival fee at the Tambor airport. I think it was about $2pp. The resort is beautiful. The rooms are very spacious and air-conditioning is available if you feel you need it. WiFi is available throughout. There is no TV, a blessing, especially after the US election and its aftermath. We enjoyed every meal. The servings are large so we split most meals and found that was plenty for us. The prices are very reasonable. The least expensive white wine was $22, well within our budget. There is a convenience store nearby for snacks, beer, liquor and wine if desired. Tap water is all you need. Nobody had a problem drinking it. That is the general experience of most travellers. All of the staff were superb. Juan Carlos will do whatever he can to improve your stay.
The birds were the focal point of our trip. We went on several walks around the property as well as a three half hour road trips to other locations. The group saw 168 species. I admit to seeing 131. You really don't have to go very far to see a wide variety of species, all within 15 minutes of the resort.
Our easy going tour guide was Nick Hawkins whose knowledge of the area, Costa Rica and beyond made the trip very informative.
In summary, this was a great trip. It is very easy to travel to. The resort is beautiful. The pool was very refreshing after a warm day walking! The staff are great and the birds were abundant. Go!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you very much for your kind and very detailed review. I'm sure we'll see you back in Tambor next year!!! Pura vida!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews