We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Loved, loved, loved our stay at Tambor Tropical. This is a small resort ( the best type ) that is very quiet, relaxed and offers beach and jungle views. We had the top floor of our villa and I would recommend it if you want views of the beach and waves. The room was quite spacious and did have a kitchenette, which we did not utilize. The restaurant at the resort is second to none and we ate most of our meals there. Try the shrimp nachos ! Yum. Juan Carlos, the manager of the property, has a fantastic staff working for him all make you feel welcome. We loved all the scarlet macaws that nest and fly over the property. The nature trail at the back of the property is very nice and we enjoyed it. I can't think of a thing we didn't find perfect about this resort other than one detail. They were supposed to pick us up from the airport and no one showed. This left us very confused and finally a taxi driver insisted he drive us so off we went. We did not complain about this and assumed it was a mix up, however, if they aren't there when you land just take the cab. No need to sit in the heat and wonder like we did....
Highly recommend this resort if you are in the area !

Room Tip: Tip floor is best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for your tip on the Tambor airport transfer which is complementary for all our guests. In that sense, please when a reservation is made whether directly or through any booking system, please make sure we have your arrival time and local airline information. We apologize for any confusion. Thanks and look forward to your return visit!! Gracias!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Tambor Tropical for 6 days and it was amazing! We were on a birding trip run by Nick Hawkins, our young guide who was so knowledgeable about the birds and the local ecosystem. The birding trip is highly recommended and includes some wonderful half-day trips or day trips to Raptor Ridge at Larry and Ruth’s place ( the highlight of our trip), the river trail and local nature preserves. The biodiversity of Costa Rica is truly amazing!

We loved the view from the hotel which is right on the beach, the rooms are beautiful and all buildings are constructed of local wood. Other highlights were the great food at the outdoor restaurant, the pool…and the friendly staff. Juan Carlos, the hotel manager was always making sure we were well taken care of…and he is also an avid bird-watcher and came out with us on some days.

Tambor is a quiet place, off the beaten track, so not many tourists and the beach is not busy.

We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, Director General at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Muchas gracias! Definitely our birding trips are awesome and we enjoy it as much as our guests do. We look forward to your return visit so we can go on other birding adventures and amazing undiscovered locations. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

An amazing and too brief stay at this beautiful resort. Everyone is attentive, courteous and friendly. The architecture is simply beautiful, rooms tastefully appointed and comfortable. Don't miss the sunrise from your bed!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Easygoingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, Director General at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your nice review. It encourages our staff to continue the highest level of care to our guest, whom usually go away as friends! See you again soon I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We spent just a couple of days in Tambor, traveling as second honeymoon in all the country. The place is lovely, the beach is a Paradise.
I had best massage ever with Sabrina, yoga teacher and really intense vibrations.
I had day carrying my stuffs and after the massage I felt flying! Super Recommended!
The Resort offers massage on the floor or on the table. I had the table, you have to ask for at the reception. All the stuff is amazing, lovely Fatima was really sweet!
Thank you so much! Hope to come back soon!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank fionafuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us!! And thank you for your kind review. You're right, this place can be healing :) Both of our masseuses are amazing!! Hope to have you back in the future!!! Gracias!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

My wife and I love this little boutique hotel in Tambor. We stayed here for eight nights, having come here to participate in a 6 day birding tour organized by the hotel. The tour consisted of day trips to various locations on the southern Nicoya Peninsula, including to two nature reserves, the Curu Wildlife Refuge and Cabo Blanco. Two mornings were spent birding on the Panica River Trails which are accessed directly from the hotel property. Nick Hawkins who conducts the hotel’s birding tours is an excellent guide and naturalist. With the rich bird life in the area, our group identified about 160 species of birds. It was a great tour.

The hotel is expertly managed by Juan Carlos Cruz. The staff are capable and friendly. The food is great. And the spacious rooms are really nice.

When we booked the tour and our stay at the hotel we asked Juan Carlos whether he could organize an extension of the tour to enable us to bird in some of the other eco-zones of Costa Rica. He agreed and organized six additional nights to include the cloud forests of Monteverde and tropical rainforests of Sarapiqui. The extension included all transportation, hotel rooms, all meals, and guiding. The itinerary was perfectly planned and we had a wonderful experience. We identified many additional birds, including the resplendent quetzal.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alvin154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Hola!! Great to hear from you. Thanks for your nice review. It's good to hear that you have enjoyed your entire itinerary. We look forward to a return visit. Staff sends you greetings and a Pura vida!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
3.6 km away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.9 km away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
40 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
598 reviews
17.4 km away
Vista Las Islas Hotel
Vista Las Islas Hotel
#1 of 2 in Paquera
233 reviews
12.3 km away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambor Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambor Tropical Beach Resort

Address: | 100m East and 75m North from local public school, on beachfront, Tambor 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range: €182 - €202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tambor Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambor Tropical is an intimate boutique beach resort on Costa Rica's beautiful Nicoya Peninsula. Nestled on the on the bay, our resort offers guests a private and luxurious vacation in the less traveled Playa Tambor. Relax in the comfort of one of our 12 spacious beachfront suites, swim in our gorgeous mosaic-tiled pool, indulge in massage treatments, enjoy the cuisine of our full-service restaurant or explore the nearby jungle via many guided adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tambor Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambor Tropical Beach Hotel Playa Tambor
Tambor Tropical Playa
Tambor Tropical Hotel Playa
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing