We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/05/21
Hotels.com
US$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/05/21
Agoda.com
US$239
US$160
View deal
SAVE US$79
Expedia.comUS$239
FindHotelUS$171
eDreamsUS$239
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveller rating
729
196
67
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
729
196
67
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiki suite the owner beach front tropical suite costa rica golf course swim up bar private beach sound of the waves san jose horse riding main restaurant view of the ocean nearest town boat ride pura vida wet bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2021 via mobile

This was a great fit for the search of a non crowed place due covid,

It was mandatory the use of mask on common areas for tourists or nationals. That help us to don't worry about safety risks.

We stayed on a tiki suite, which was very nice as it just a couple steps from the beach, own parking, and separated from other rooms.
The overall resort is very nice.

The beach is great for walking and sunsets/dawn, however not for swimming as the current is very strong, not recommend for kids.

Breakdown was normal, but not over the top.

There are also some trails for hiking

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank miguela823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilde Cloet, General Manager at Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2021

Dear Miguela823,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tango Mar beach front resort. We are glad to read you had a very nice stay and that you enjoyed our wonderful location. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the future.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021 via mobile

After coming from Santa Teresa which felt a strange place to be in we stopped by at Tambor. We booked a regular Room but since the low occupancy due to covid we were given the tiki cabin. Nice place, the food wasnt the best and a bit expensive too. The beach is top!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JaimeO809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilde Cloet, General Manager at Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Dear Jaime,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I sincerely appreciate and thank you for sparing your valuable time and writing a review.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

THE POSSITIVE.
We were greeted with a delicious welcoming drink. The location is amazing. The beach was absolutely a paradise!!!! Absolutely breathtaking! The room, although a bit outdated, was very comfortable. The shower had a low faucet to rinse our feet, very convenient, and there was also a retractable line to hang wet clothes. Our room had a huge oceanfront terrace with glass railing. It felt like our own little private roof top. At the entrance to our building, there was an outdoor shower and a low faucet to rinse the sand off our feet. The staff is very polite and friendly.

THE NEGATIVE.I am taking two stars off, just because of the extremely frustrating Wi-Fi set up they have there. You must log in to a website, enter your room number + a 3 letter code and a passcode EACH TIME you move about the hotel, and gets interrupted frequently. It was like the dial-up days all over again. If Wi-Fi is not as important to you, then ignore this note. If you work remotely, don't go to this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roamifiwant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilde Cloet, General Manager at Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Dear Roamifiwant2,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and bringing the wifi deficiency to our attention. Summer volume brought an unprecedented usage and slowed down internet connectivity. We are working (as we speak) on boosting the bandwidth and performance of our wifi by adding nodes and changing their placement, and should see improved quality very soon. I can certainly appreciate how frustrating it can be to not be able to connect quickly and consistently.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed Tango Mar and look forward to offering an improved internet experience should you stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly when booking your next visit and I will look after your booking personally.

Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2020

My husband and I visited Tango Mar in July of 2019 and we have not stopped talking about it since! I will admit, the tiny plane we had to take from San Jose to get there was a little scary at first, but well worth it once we arrived at Tango Mar.

We were treated phenomenally from the moment we arrived at the small airport to the moment we left. We were greeted upon our arrival at Tango Mar with a refreshing tropical drink and Hilda, the owner. We cannot say enough kind words and praise for Hilda and her entire staff at Tango Mar. My husband and I have never felt so welcome and like we were family on any other trip we have taken. Hilda and her staff truly take pride in what they do and making sure every guest feels welcome.

We loved our room which was in the Deluxe Beach Front as we could hear the waves crashing from the comfort of our bed. The room was clean with a big bathroom making it easy for my blind husband to navigate. I also enjoyed the balcony and looking out at the ocean and watching nature.

I had thought I would be upset not being able to go in the ocean due to the strong currents, but we truly loved walking the beach each day, dipping our toes in the water and just exploring the big stretch of private beach. And having the swimming pools and swim up bar right there next to the beach was perfect! And the drinks were absolutely amazing as were the bartenders.

My husband and I thought the food was delicious and didn't mind one bit that we ate every meal either at the poolside restaurant or the main restaurant. I have read some reviews complaining about the price of food here, but honestly, we were thrilled with the pricing and the quality.

I cannot say enough great things about our overall experience at Tango Mar. From the staff, the food, the tropical atmosphere, to the tours we took right from the hotel...everything was just amazing and we left this vacation feeling completely relaxed and rejuvenated! We cannot wait for life to get back to normal so we can visit Tango Mar and our friends there again!

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lwig1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilde Cloet, General Manager at Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2020

Dear lwig1099,

We are delighted to hear that you received such wonderful service while with us and found that all details were tended to during your stay.

We thrive off of reviews such as yours and it is our guests that keep our brand what it is today. We will make sure to share it with the entire hotel team.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020

The hotel is nice, in great condition, the decor and rooms are a little dated but nice enough so it's not an issue, the gardens and the property are super nice and it feels like a paradise, The ocean is not suitable for swimming, it has strong currents but the hotel is just in the ocean so that's wonderful.

We stayed at the Beach Front rooms, you can't be closer to the ocean than that!

The service was really friendly but really slow, and the food is overpriced (about $17 for a simple pasta dish up to $40 for a seafood plate), a really simple menu and a super average taste and presentation. Also, the property is a little secluded so if you want to go out you have to drive about 45 min each way.

The owner is a nice Belgian, she is really nice and was trying to make our stay great.

If they change the food quality (without changing the prices) and improve the service times it will be an amazing place to stay. Also, I would think about changing the soap in the rooms, it's really strong and has a not so good smell.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank iledav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilde Cloet, General Manager at Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2020

Dear Iledav,

Thanks for selecting Tango Mar Beach Hotel as your vacation destination in Costa Rica.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the accommodations, the property, our facilities and our servicies.

We greatly appreciate you spending the time to write this review and regret that your experience has not been entirely satisfactory.
We are always trying to keep the hotel in optimal conditions for our grateful customers. The issues in wich you have discussed will be promptly addresed.
We are glad you have enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to having you here with us again.

Sunny regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews